We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food, service and cant wait to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Causeway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Causeway Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bushmills
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, service and cant wait to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

We have been serveral times over the years and would always recommend the Causeway Hotel 110% It is certainly a lot busier because of the extra tourists from the Coach trips etc using the hotel - but to honest I felt it gave the Hotel an extra buzz and it certainly didnt take away from the usual excellent service etc
We tend to try and fit in a trip once a year for a birthday etc and last weekend didnt disappoint again and cant wait to go back

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_mcgaughey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    194
    75
    47
    49
See reviews for
174
313
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dungannon, N Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights. Hotel very busy during the day due to the new visitors centre being constructed and the hotel car park being used by all the visitors to the Giants Causeway. Restaurant was excellent - good food - great breakfast. Hotel will probably need to be refurbished after visitors centre is completed, as it is getting a little tired looking, and a little frayed round the edges, probably due to the numbers of visitors during the day. Rooms were clean, warm and beds comfortable. Staff helpful and friendly. Altogether a very enjoyable experience. . Hope to repeat it in the future.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorothy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

I had stayed in the Hotel several years ago with my Family and had a good few days.
The Hotel served its purpose food was good room adequet location excellent .
On this occaision my wife and I called in for lunch as we had stayed locally for the weekend.
New carpark , construction work adjacent to Hotel for New Causeway Visitors centre.
Outside of Hotel in need of TLC ,
Ask about getting lunch in Restaurant informed it was fully booked, but could sit in Bar and avail of same menu.
Bar tired in need TLC, Also in need of new furniture as my wife and other customers had to move two or three times as wall seats had no cusioning or became detached.
Bar seems to be doubling as a Cafe for Causeway visitors and groups.
Food is very good service is excellent as the Hotel seems to have a small army of waiters and waitresses.
National Trust Please do not neglect the Hotel when you get the new visitors centre, Put some money into the Hotel aswell. It needs it and if not done soon you may loose its appeal.
Restaurant didnt seem to get used even though it was booked up?
.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicholasBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed at the Causeway Hotel, near Bushmills, Northern Ireland, from the 25th to the 27th February 2011. My party consisted of two adults staying on a dinner, bed & breakfast package.

The area around the Causeway Hotel is currently being redeveloped to accommodate a new National Trust Visitors Centre for the Giant’s Causeway. This will not be finished until summer 2012. Therefore the area has the feel of a building site. That said the National Trust guides do their best to keep traffic flowing and the visitors happy. There is a temporary visitors centre at the side of the hotel and shuttle buses run to Bushmills (park & ride) and the Giant’s Causeway. The buses are free to National Trust members.

The hotel itself, which I believe is now owned by the National Trust, is quite old fashioned and in need of refurbishment, but it does have a certain charm. I have been coming here on an infrequent basis for the last 19 years. The eating experience is most memorable. You collect a menu at reception and a member of staff takes your order in the adjacent hallways or the bar. When your meal is ready you are shown to a table. The dining room reminds me of a railway hotel in the 1970’s; white table cloths, efficient staff in a busy environment. On a Saturday night the dining room is always packed and you have to wait for a table unless you are a resident (or have a reservation). The food is outstanding and has hardly changed over the years. They serve plain, solid food, in large portions, and at a reasonable cost. The Mixed Grill is a meat eater’s delight, with steak, lamb chop, pork chop, sausage, bacon, chicken, egg, mushrooms, onions, peas, tomato, pepper sauce and a vegetable accompaniment (chips etc).

The accommodation is ok, if a little tired. We were in the new wing which had a small patio area outside each room. Rooms are large and have en-suite facilities. We found the TV reception to be poor. We paid £170 in total, for 2 adults, dinner (3 courses + tea/coffee), bed & breakfast, for 2 nights, which is exceptional value. I will be returning and have no hesitation in recommending this place. Just don’t expect 5 Star facilities.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portstewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

Fantastic hotel, my husband and i stayed for our wedding anniversary, we had excellent meals <fantastic local food>, we had a problem in our room with the shower and they were willing to move us to another room straight away no issues, friendly, efficient local long term staff, there is now a huge carpark for the national trust so your super sea view is slightly obscured with ppl walking to the giants causeway, might get a bit annoying in high season however would recommend this hotel as a value for money, friendly and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreamurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

had a brilliant short stay here. views and evening food very good, hotel needs to be freshened up. breakfast is decent. would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cavangarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

We didnʼt stay here but dined in the restaurant after walking for miles along the coast. All I can say is order the mixed grill. It is truly enormous and we (all good eaters) struggled to finish it. Steak, lamb chops, sausages, bacon, chicken breast, pork chops, mushrooms, peas, eggs, chips, bread and tea. It was a MONSTER of a meal. And I highly recommend ordering a side dish of ʻtobacco mushroomsʼ which I had never heard of before, but which were extremely tasty. This is not the place for fancy fine dining. It is good, unpretentious Irish fayre and pretends to be nothing else. The hotelʼs location is brilliant for the Giantʼs Causeway and, unlike some previous reviewers, we found the waiting staff to be absolutely fine.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank readysetgocrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushmills
1.8 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
4.1 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
5.7 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway Hotel

Property: Causeway Hotel
Address: 40 Causeway Road | Giants Causeway, Bushmills BT57 8SU, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bushmills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Causeway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Causeway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Hotel Bushmills, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing