We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Finn McCool's Giants Causeway Hostel
Nearby Hotels
Causeway Hotel(Bushmills)
$139
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Hotel(Portballintrae)
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$351
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GolfLinks Hotel(Portrush)
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Port Hotel(Portrush)
$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$140
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Portrush Atlantic Hotel(Portrush)(Great Value!)
$137
$121
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn on the Coast(Portrush)(Great Value!)
$81
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveler rating
90
37
20
8
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
37
20
8
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot breakfastbed dormfree breakfastgiants causewaydriver markconverted houseminute walkwould definitely stay here againgame of throneswalking distancerope bridgecommon areastea and coffeevisitor centercomfortable roomsthe pubnorthern ireland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 168 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Thanks for the welcome, perfect view, quiet, beautifull ... Giantly perfect !!!!
ps : Lost the phone of Caroline (from Donegal) and don't find your phone number ....
Thank you from
Annabelle & Lewis Paris

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annabelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed on night of Sat 18th August 2012. We had arrived at sister hostel Lagan Backpackers Hostel in Belfast, which because of an availability issue had redirected us here.
We arrived at the hostel about 5pm and Steve, the hostel caretaker guy, arranged everything in a very smooth and professional and welcoming way. He told us how to get to the Giant's Causeway without paying for the official bus that takes you there - the interpretative centre is a bit expensive to get into. Then when we got back Steve had cooked a barbecue which was really good value.
The place is quiet, the hostel is very clean, there's an interesting approach to self-sustainable energy and they are using a combination of solar and wind generation supplemented with a diesel generator.
The breakfast was top class and the level of service and quality was way above what you would expect to pay at a hostel.
Wifi at hostel, great view over bay, had great chats with inmates and Steve allowed us to stay up talking even tho he had to get to sleep and up early the following morning.
I have lived in 4 countries and visited more than 10, and I haven't had such attentive accommodation in a very long time.
I can't recommend this hostel highly enough and you are guaranteed both a good night's sleep and a top class cooked breakfast!
Thanks a lot Steve and hope to see you soon.

Room Tip: All fine - quiet area.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Group of 4 stayed in Finn McCool's recently for one night. Excellent location, few minutes walk up to the Causeway. Steve was very helpful. Facilities were excellent and breakfast included was very much appreciated. Would highly recommend it if touring the area. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenBCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had the best time at Finn Mcool's!!! The hostel has the BEST location ever! Just 8 mins walking from the Giant's Causeway as well as perfect access to hiking trails and other sites! Steve, the guy who looks after the hostel, is super! He is so friendly and makes your experience so enjoyable!!! Thank you for everything Steve!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fashionista_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Having traveled to various countries around Europe and having stayed in a variety of hostels, I have to say that staying at Finn McCool's was nothing I've experienced thus far. From the friendly and enthusiastic staff to the free English breakfast to the proximity to Giant's Causeway and surrounding areas, it definitely exceeded my expectations! There is even a nightly BBQ, which not only offered great food but gave me a chance to meet and hang out with other guests. What a pleasurable, worry-free stay! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shyminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews