We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating site”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Giant's Causeway

Giant's Causeway
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.93*
and up
'Game of Thrones' Film Location Tour from Dublin Including Giant's Causeway
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Bushmills
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Northern Ireland's most popular tourist destination: this large stretch of staircase-shaped rocks is the result of cooled lava from volcanic eruptions that took place over 65 million years ago.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fascinating site”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Giant's Causeway is well worth a visit. There is an excellent Visitor Centre with a cafe and gift shop. You can walk from theVisitor Centre to the Causeway or you can choose to go by bus at £1.00 each way, National Trust members can travel for free.

The Causeway itself is absolutely amazing and it was also a lot larger than I had realised.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jandamic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,725
    1,492
    420
    122
    110
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Giant's Causeway”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Giant's Causeway is a photographers dream! Spent half a day there taking in the breathtaking scenery and photographing and wished I could have had more time :-) Best to have your sneakers or hiking boots on to really enjoy the walk.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heida-HB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must see while in the North”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great site to visit during the summer on nice days. Have never been on the bus, but it's a nice walk with great scenery. Was fairly busy this past July, but still fun. Make sure you get the low down on the story about the causeway!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jbcase01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“what a wonder”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Fascinating,somewhere I had always wanted to see and at last got here. Probably all the better for the 25C temperature we experienced on our couple of days in Ireland.It is a fair walk from the visitor centre to the rocks so be prepared if you have got young children or dodgy shoes! We saw several people trying to climb on the rocks in unsuitable flip flops. Wish we had allowed a longer visit to go on the many trails-if we ever return it will be for several hours.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Bóthar Buí, Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mythical Place”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Having read about Finn mac Cumhaill in my School books many many years ago I always wanted to visit this place of such a great myth. This was my second trip there and I brought other family friends along. The beautiful weather meant that all the visitors were in great spirits and the sea views and awe inspiring rock face added to the magic of the place.
What a pity it is to see so many humans including us, crawling and climbing all over a World Heritage site and eroding part of Natures creation.
It must be possible to create a better visitor experience that does not damage the attraction. What a pity Toilet facilities are restricted to those who can afford to pay for the entry fee.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sylmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giant's Causeway also viewed

 
Ballymoney, County Antrim
 

Been to Giant's Causeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing