We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good lunch spot”
Review of The Nook

The Nook
Ranked #8 of 28 Restaurants in Bushmills
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, British, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Nook, situated at the gateway to the Giant’s Causeway UNESCO World Heritage Site, was the former original Causeway School serving the area up until 1913. Now painstakingly restored, this historic building is a pub and restaurant, which can cater for up to 100 people in one sitting. With something to suit every budget, from homemade scones and freshly prepared sandwiches to a full candlelit brasserie dining experience, the Nook at the Giant’s Causeway offers a choice for everyone. Our chefs endeavour to provide the freshest local seafood in the area with homemade daily specials posted on our blackboards.• Open from 10am • Fresh Homemade Scones and Tray Bakes• Full Coffee Menu & Afternoon Tea Offerings• Food Served From 12pm All Day• Beers-Wines-Spirits (Fully Licensed)• Welcoming Open Fires • All Major Sporting events shown Wide Screen Plasma• Dedicated Free Car Parking for Patrons.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good lunch spot”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Good stop for lunch after a morning of hiking Giants Causway. Irish stew with homemade bread was hearty tasty. The fish soup was more like a stew, lovely creamy soup with lots of fish and shellfish.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank suzys968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    219
    97
    77
    84
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Second visit, just as impressed”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Visited at Easter last year and enjoyed both the food and stunning views that we thought we'd give it another go on this years visit.

Again, very busy but the staff were attentive and seemed to cope very well with the constant stream of tourists. Dined as a party of three and chose a selection of meals from the specials, and the main menu... I had the steak sandwich and thoroughly enjoyed! Just what we needed to carry on with the rest of our day!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laadeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Over-rated, charges for tap water!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch. The menu is surprisingly limited - especially for vegetarian & gluten free options. Would love to see salmon on it too.
You order & pay at the bar - which makes service staff less attentive and as you've paid before your food arrives you are less inclined then to order desert or anything additional. Rather shockingly, they actually charge for tap water!!
The food itself is okay, nothing special. No plans to return.

Helpful?
Thank Sunnyandcloudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portstewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor food and slow service”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

This is hugely over-priced to catch the many unsuspecting tourists. We've eaten here before many times and it used to be OK, even good, but sadly no longer so. We paid £5.50 for a dreadful chicken mayo sandwich. It took 30 mins to arrive, even though we knew the food was sitting waiting to be brought to us, (there is one waitress for 20 tables inside and many outside, one taking orders+ clearing up and 2 bar staff - completely inadequate), it was sloppily put together with very poor filling, and 3 tiny crisps! Half way through my wife found what looked like a mouldy worm inside it and we were merely offered our money back. My wife was nearly sick not knowing what she had eaten. My prawn sandwich was flimsy and nearly tasteless. The waitress was embarrassed and apologised but obviously the manager/chef had no desire to make a proper recompense, and she had to go along with instructions. Even the cooked food is below average standard. We live here and advise visitors not to go near it, despite its great situation and nice olde worlde appearance as a converted schoolhouse . Drinks are also over-priced. The isolated location and lack of other outlets mean that visitors are really caught out. Try the Causeway hotel - quite expensive but good quality, or just down the road in the old railway station cafe there are brought in sandwiches and reasonably priced drinks. The Causeway Centre is vastly expensive to go in but you might like to do it once: its food is very pricey but reasonably presented. You can walk to the stunning Giant's Causeway without paying entrance for the Visitor's Centre - much the best option. Don't waste your money in the Nook until you hear local folk saying it has improved.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena N. ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“refreshing”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Having walked from Portballintrae via the coastal path on a most pleasant day, arrival at The Nook for a refreshing couple of pints of Magners was a delight. The weather was such that we sat outside and we were well looked after by attentive staff. I had the seafood chowder that was massive & delicious. Certainly set me up for the "trek" back down the hill.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrewref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nook also viewed

 
Bushmills, County Antrim
 

Been to The Nook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing