We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location in the heart of town.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of PortCaman House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
PortCaman House
Ranked #14 of 29 Bushmills B&B and Inns
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location in the heart of town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

A friend and I stayed one night in February and wished we could stay longer. Bushmills is a lovely town full of lovely folks, and Dawn was right at the top of the list! She was very relaxed and gracious, and gave us plenty of suggestions on where to go both in the town and in the surrounding areas.

Overall a very pleasant stay and a great value. Not even a five minute walk to the distillery and two minutes from the main street, shops, pubs, and restaurants. Giant's Causeway is only about a ten to fifteen minute drive East, and about the same to the West along the Causeway Coastal Route is Dunluce Castle. Visit Bushmills and stay at Portcaman- you will not be disappointed with either.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DellaVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    31
    11
    8
    3
See reviews for
16
46
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sumpan
Level Contributor
200 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Very nice Bed & Breakfast close to main street and destilleri.Nice beds and breakfast but the room was cold. A extra heater fixed that as well. The small village is not much to see but a couple of nice restaurants we tried Tartine and it was great

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SumpanChrille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night and we had such a nice stay. The value of our room, private bathroom, and awesome breakfast was amazing! The location is great as well for the Causeway Coastal Route and Bushmills Distillery. Dawn recommended a delicious restaurant for dinner within walking distance that we thoroughly enjoyed. Don't listen to the one review that says it's closed---definitely open and worth a stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valerie0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Contrary to any previous reviews - this place is defiantely open and doing a brilliant business of looking after guests. We were well looked after and had everything we needed. Great location, close to all the sights and a solid breakfast! Beds were very comfortable and I'd recommend Portcamon House to anyone. Excellent all round.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattbowling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Good location for easy access to many of the attractions on and near Causeway Coast. Close to centre of village. B & B is clean and comfortable. Provides a good value stay. Very helpful proprietor. Good breakfast to start the day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cymru2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

My daughter and I had chosen this B & B and were very pleased we had done so! On Sept 12, 2012 we were greeted immediately by Dawn at the kitchen door - and asked us to enter using that entrance - this was suggested due to rain and parking is off street at the back of the house. Our room was quite nice - with nice bath - large window overlooking neighbors garden across the street. Welcoming tray in our room with tea and coffee with cookies. Excellent Irish breakfast with choices. Dawn is a real treasure to this B&B very friendly and helpful. We walked after breakfast to the village. Then a short drive to the Causeway. This is an wise choice for the Giant's Causeway with the benefit of an excellent nights sleep. The photo shown within their ad is just as it appears. The photo I am adding is a seeing a small portion of PortCamon House from across the street by the neighbors garden. Thank you, Dawn!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the front bedroom upstairs. Very quiet and pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lin71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed for two nights to attend a family wedding and explore the local area. The room was clean, included an en-suite shower/toilet, TV etc. Breakfast was delicious with a choice of usual continental and "full-English". The host was very friendly and offered much advice for the local area. Top marks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bushmills hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
2.1 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Finn MacCool's Public House and Guest Inn
0.5 mi away
Cottesmore Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Rest A While
Rest A While
#5 of 29 in Bushmills
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortCaman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortCaman House

Property: PortCaman House
Address: 11 Priestland Road, Bushmills BT571QP, Northern Ireland (Formerly Granny McCool's B&B Hostel)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Bushmills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — PortCaman House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to "Portcaman House" the Giant's Causeway Hostel. The perfect location to the Giant's Causeway and The Old Bushmills Distillery and only a 2 minute walk to the village shops and restaurants... the perfect place to start your adventure!This new hostel has been recently refurbished. Most rooms have en suite facilities,and free WI FI internet access.Convenient to the village of Bushmills you can leave your car in our off road car park and walk into the village, or if you are travelling by bus the stop is just outside the front door.please check in befor 21:00. if later than that please organise in advance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your PortCaman House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
PortCaman House Bushmills, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing