We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carnside Guest House
Ranked #10 of 27 Bushmills B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“We loved it here!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Carnside Guest House is a wonderful B&B just off the coast near the Giant's Causeway. My friend and I stayed here one night while hiking through along the coast. The house is a big farm house, and it's really beautiful with lots of windows and sunshine coming in. We stayed in a twin ensuite room on the second floor. Our room was quite spacious and very clean. The heat worked wonderfully (we've found B&Bs in Ireland to be a bit cold overall), and there were a bunch of extra wool blankets to keep us warm (just in case). The shower was wonderfully hot (super important after hiking all day in the cold), and the water pressure was amazing (best shower we've had since we got here). The toilet was a little tricky to flush, but if you pull the handle with a bit of gusto, it works fine. We also loved the location. The house is surrounded by farms, so it's very quiet out there, and within walking distance to two restaurants. Alice, the owner, even drove us to a restaurant when we arrived because we were tired from hiking all day. The breakfast buffet was really great too. Overall, this may have been our favorite B&B during the trip. If you want to stay by the Causeway, this place is a gem!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    30
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
42
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Fantastic host , beautiful location,ideal place to stay if you are wanting to walk along the Causeway coast way. Alice ( the owner ) was very helpful and a good host, my wife and i did some walking along the coastal route ( outstanding views ) Great views from our room lovely and clean, breakfast was good. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank durhamrambelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here last year on way to Sligo. We liked it so much we went back again this year and took two friends. We hope to return again next year. We found it very friendly and clean. Breakfast was good, plenty to choose from and home made bread to die for. Thank you so much for making our visit so enjoyable.

Room Tip: The front rooms have a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We booked in for one night on the way from the ferry to our weeks holiday in Donegal. After enjoying the hospitality, breakfast and wonderful views from our bedroom we booked to stay on our return and were not dissapointed. Had a different bedroom on our return trip and both were very comfortable. Thought the choice of a buffet breakfast or paying extra if you wanted a cooked breakfast was a good idea as we don't usually want a large breakfast which you have to pay for anyway so we considered it good value. The two lounges were both very comfortable and the views great. If we return to Northern Ireland we will certainly come back here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValandGerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stopped here for two nights in June. No complaints at all. The breakfast was more than sufficient. The room was very clean, ok a bit dated but does it matter? Lovely views over the sea. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

What a wonderful location and wonderful host. The location is perfect, amazing view, walking distance to the Giants Causeway & Bushmills Distillery. Great spread for breakfast and delicious hot breakfast as well if that is your liking. The only thing I wish was different was that there was white and black pudding with breakfast. The bed was so comfy. My girlfriend and I were outside when it started to rain and the host had no problem drying our pants for us. Wonderful people. There will also possibly be fly’s in your room, nothing a shoe won’t kill, but in case you travellers forgot this is Ireland and there are farms and livestock everywhere. Get over it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We were looking for somewhere in this area for a overnight stop and booked a double room here. On arrival we were offered some tea in the lounge. The accommodation appeared to be an extended farmhouse and we had a very pleasant room with good views over the sea. The room had an en-suite toilet and shower which were clean and functional.
An additional charge is made for having a hot cooked breakfast but we found the breakfast slightly disappointing.
This accommodation is within a short walk of the Giants Causeway which we visited.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay_and_Kay6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bushmills hotels
0.4 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Finn McCool's Giants Causeway Hostel
1.9 mi away
Rest A While
Rest A While
#5 of 27 in Bushmills
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.9 mi away
PortCaman House
PortCaman House
#13 of 27 in Bushmills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnside Guest House

Property: Carnside Guest House
Address: 23 Causeway Road | Giants Causeway, Bushmills BT57 8SU, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bushmills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carnside Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Carnside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnside Guest House Bushmills, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing