We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Ardtrabane House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bushmills
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ardtrabane House
Ranked #8 of 27 Bushmills B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The drive from Belfast up the coast would make this B&B worth the rating in and of itself. The house itself is located on the last highway before the ocean on the north coast, and is only a few hundred yards from a decent, if sometimes tourist filled, pub, in addition to the main giant's causeway visitor center. Who needs the visitor center though when you can have personal, private access on a tractor path right up to the top of the cliffs, no car necessary! Only at Ardtrabane! Going on the owner's suggestion, my wife and I walked up at about 9PM after wandering the trails and the coast below. The sunset was gorgeous, and not another person was to be found because the tour buses stopped well before this. Nothing like it!

The accommodations were wonderful, cozy, and modern. On suite is a definite plus, and breakfast options will not disappoint. You cannot see much causeway coast, as it slopes up from the house, but you have rolling green hills with some cows herded by dogs, sweeping skies, and a view of several beaches and coves. Proprietors were very nice, willing to work with us on activity suggestions and all they asked for was a bit of quiet time. This is not the kind of place you go to party, but if some solitude, beautiful surroundings, proximity to several tourist (and not so tourist) destinations sounds like your thing, definitely sign up for Ardtrabane.

Things to do- The causeway, paddleboarding 5 minutes down the road (surfsupNI), Bushmills and several other towns, carrick-a-rede rope bridge, ruins (loved dunluce). Golfing if thats your thing is close too. Coastal drives in all directions are nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nathan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 100 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

Betty & Walter were standing in for Maureen and Don who own/run the Ardtrabane. Betty was a sheer delight and makes a mean breakfast. The porridge was as smooth as silk. The addition of Bushmills and cream took it to another level. Walter is the perfect sidekick to Betty. It’s hard to believe the two of them do not do this on a full time basis. I have only one complaint and it is certainly not with Betty and Walter, the rooms or the location. We stayed in the front bedroom on the ground level. Guests that were there stayed out late and had to ring the bell to gain entry into the home. If they had not woken us up when they pulled into the drive when they returned we would have woken up when they rang the bell to get in. Other than that, our room was large, clean as a whistle and well appointed. I would not hesitate to stay here again but I would make sure I was not on the ground level.

Room Tip: I would avoid ground level front bedroom because of it's proximity to parking area and front doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laney98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here at end of Sep 2012 for our anniversary weekend and can say no wrong about it. The room was similar to Slieve Donnard Hotel and the shower room was even better. Lots of little extras in the room were lovely finishing touches. Betty (secretly nicknamed auntie betty) who was looking after the place for Maureen for a while was so welcoming and very helpful from the minute we arrived. The breakfasts were 1st class, the setting was perfect, The rooms were spotless, the bed was fit for a queen. I picked the B&B from reading the reviews and I could not have picked better. It was truly the most enjoyable weekend and great value for money. Amazing walks in the area and a home from home. Thank you to Betty and her husband for making our stay so lovely. We'd love to go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have stayed in a few B & B's around the UK and this was by far the nicest place we have ever stayed in.
So clean and beautifully appointed and the breakfasts were awesome.
Ardtrabane house really is a stones throw away from the Giants Causeway and FREE to get there. We walked down to the bottom and then caught the bus back to the top for a pound.
If you are going to the Causeway this is the B&B for you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

What can I say. Maureen and Don....one of the nicest couples I have ever met who do B & B to perfection! I wish every B & B was like this, Lovely room, great views and fab breakfast. My mum and I would love to stay again sometime..God willing. Thanks Don and Maureen for your kindness esp on Sunday morning.. Would def be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 7258nire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Located just a five minute walk from the cliffs overlooking the Causeway, this superb B&B is ideally situated for exploring the north eastern coastal area. Maureen & Don are warm, welcoming, kind and helpful hosts who gave us lots of ideas for places to visit, including some off the beaten track. They also recommended wonderful places to eat! Our room was spacious, modern and spotlessly clean and the comfy beds were welcome after our long day on the road. Breakfast was delicious with a huge variety to choose from and kept us going until afternoon tea! We were highly impressed with Ardtrabane House, it is excellent value for money and offers a very high standard of accommodation. Thanks again to Maureen & Don for a wonderful start to our adventure.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank t s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Accommodations at Ardtrabane House are impeccable - nicely decorated, spotlessly clean, with lots of thoughtful touches for guests. The breakfast was the best we had during our entire vacation and the owners were helpful and fun to talk to and learn from. But, the best part was the location! We simply walked out the front door of the house, up the street about 20 yards and then followed a path through a farmer's field to the top of the cliffs that overlook Giant's Causeway. From there, we followed the path along the cliff tops for about 100 yards until we came to stone stairs that led down to the ocean - it was an exhillerating walk and so much more fun than walking from the Giant's Causeway visitor's center. We took the walk at 8:30 at night -- at Maureen's suggestion. There were no crowds at the Causeway at that time. We even had the luck to see a seal come right up to the rocks. Visiting Giant's Causeway was the highlight of our tour of Ireland and staying at Ardtrabane House contributed to our exciting, yet relaxing, adventure.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PHinNOVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bushmills hotels
0.4 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
806 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,877 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Carnside Guest House
Carnside Guest House
#6 of 27 in Bushmills
132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Finn McCool's Giants Causeway Hostel
1.1 mi away
Smugglers Inn
Smugglers Inn
#10 of 27 in Bushmills
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardtrabane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardtrabane House

Address: 66 Causeway Road | Giants Causeway, Bushmills BT57 8SX, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bushmills
Price Range: $46 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern country family home can claim to be the closest habitation to the actual Giant's Causeway itself.Residents park in our free parking area and in a one minute walk you are on the footpath leading to the world-famous Giants Causeway.On your holiday you will want to experience the unsurpassed majestic scenery that the Giants Causeway and the North Antrim Coast has to offer, immerse yourself in the myths and legends that abound and surround this wonderful coastline.What better way is there to experience all that, than to stay at the very heart of it and Ardtrabane House sits at the very heart of it. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ardtrabane House Bushmills, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing