We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Apartment with Lovely View”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Carrickfergus, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely Apartment with Lovely View”
Reviewed April 20, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

This lovely appartment has beautiful views over Belfast lough. It is spacious with a bedroom and en suite shower and toilet and a living room/dining room/ kitchen. Between these is an enttrance hall and a spacious storage area.

The apartment is cleaned once a week and bedding and towels are changed.

It is close to the centre of Carrickfergus and also to the railway station, and maud's Icecream is next door.

What more could anyone want for a lovely holiday in Northern Ireland?

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2018
Thank you for your lovely review and delighted that you were comfortable during your stay. I hope to welcome you back :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“Our amazing "Home away from Home".”
Reviewed April 9, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The location: on the Larne Road with amazing views of the Belfast Lough and right beside the famous Maud's Ice-cream. Bus service goes by the door and train station within a 5 minute walk. Ahoy 2 is a lovely 10 minute waterfront walk from the famous medieval Carrickfergus Castle, the town centre and a good variety of restaurants. Historical Carrickfergus is the gateway to the stunningly beautiful Antrim Coast drive and is a convenient short train/bus ride or drive to Belfast.
The roomy apartment has everything that one could dream of - well-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, wonderful shower, comfortable beds and lots of storage space.
Maxine always goes the "extra mile" to make sure that we are well looked after and is prompt to attend to anything that we need. This is our third time here, several months each time, and we will definitely be back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review and I look forward to welcoming you both everytime to your 'home from home'. Perfect guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJA49
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Rooms with beautiful views”
Reviewed November 3, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Ahoy 2 overlooks Belfast Lough so there's always something to see. The apartment is very well equipped, very clean and comfortable and the owner was there to greet us, a lovely touch. Carrickfergus Castle is within walking distance and well worth a visit and Belfast and the Titanic Experience about a half hour drive away. Would highly recommend this accomodation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2018
Thank you for your review and I'm delighted you were comfortable. Maybe I will get an opportunity to welcome you again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wes991
Potter Brompton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An A+++ apartment.”
Reviewed April 1, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

A terrific apartment with everything you need. Fabulous views across Belfast Lough. An altogether top-notch base for either working or touring in Northern Ireland.
Maxine (the owner) was most helpful and supportive.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review and delighted that you both enjoyed your stay. I do hope to see you both back again and take care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John O
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful location to live for a while and meet up with old friends”
Reviewed March 15, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I/we have stayed in Maxines apartments a few times now (3?) and even though the most recent trip was more of a necessity than a holiday it was, as ever, a wonderful place to come back to and relax. Its well equipped if you want to look after yourself, near lots of restaurants if you don't, quiet (far enough back from the coast road) and the view is amazing.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“"Luxurious, well equipped apartment in a beautiful seaside location"”
Reviewed March 13, 2017 for a stay in September 2016

The apartment is situated in the historic town of Carrickfergus beside the famous Maud's Ice-cream Parlour. It is about a 20 minute drive from Belfast. The seaside walk is amazing all along the Belfast Lough downtown where the historic Carrickfergus Castle, Dobbin's Inn and St.Nicholas Church are located. It is very convenient to catch the bus or the train into Belfast or to go to many other interesting towns.
The apartment has everything one needs for self-catering - all kinds of dishes, pots, pans, stove, microwave, washer/dryer combo, wifi, TV, and very comfortable furniture, bed etc. It is very bright and cheery due to all the little touches that the owner has added to it. The owner, Maxine McMurtry, was so welcoming and helpful that my husband and I were sad to leave and are looking forward to our next stay there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2017
Thank you for your perfect review and I'm delighted that you are coming back to Ahoy2 for your 3rd time in one year!
See you both in April !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richard h
worcester
2 reviews
“Super stay in Ahoy 2”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a most enjoyable stay in Ahoy 2 which was exactly as advertised. It was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. The washing machine was particularly impressive! Maxine met us on arrival and showed us how everything worked. She is a lovely lady who takes great pride in her accommodation and does her very best to help guests to have a relaxed time during their stay. Ahoy 2 is conveniently situated next door to Maud's ice-cream parlour which was a bonus as was the mostly sunny weather. We would recommend Ahoy 2 to visitors to Carrickfergus most highly. Five stars to Ahoy 2 and to Maxine.,

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2016
I am so glad that you both enjoyed your stay in Ahoy2 and hope that you return in the future! Take care :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing