We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“SSSHHH! Hidden Gem”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Essex court

View from window
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from window
Balcony at front entrance View from window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
View from window
Balcony at front entrance
View from window
Kitchen showing cooker microwave and fridge (freezer in larder)
Kitchen showing washer and dryer
Stairs from hallway to upstairs
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom showing electric shower
Bathroom
Landing to downstairs
Front bedroom
Back bedroom
Back bedroom
Front bedroom
Lounge And dining area view 1
Lounge And dining area view 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carrickfergus, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hyacyth
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SSSHHH! Hidden Gem”
Reviewed October 25, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I do not normally engage in reviews as I like to keep the best to myself, however I do so disagree with Moirab's review posted on 4th Oct I wanted to let you all know what we think . Our visit and stay at Essex Court this year was our 5th occasion, the latest being just as fantastic as the first. As ever my wife and I are looking forward to our 2016 stay at Essex Court. It is not advertised as 5* but in our view it is,because it's welcoming, homely, spacious, exceptionally clean and clean linen is provided where some holiday lets in the area do not. Just checkout all the other reviews they speak for themselves. Just to add the address details have always been provided at the time the booking was confirmed !!
Hope you all enjoy your stay in Carrickferfus and exploration of the coastal route as much as we have over the many years.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2015
Thank you for defending U.S., we appreciate your kindness. We were as surprised as anyone at Moiras review, but we know are guests are happy, it's seems by Moiras reviews of other properties we aren't the only ones who don't reach her standards. Looking forward to your return in 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara C
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed October 23, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and my two small children were over for a wedding and stayed a week in the apartment. We were warmly welcomed by Angie who left us a lovely welcome pack, including items for the baby and little one. We were provided with a cot and a child's bed.
We found the apartment spotless and all mod cons. Everything was close at hand, you didn't really need a car. There were plenty of lovely coffee shops to visit close by.We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely warm welcome made you feel right at home
Liked least: Nothing - having to go home!!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2015
Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you on your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moirab562
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dissapointed !”
Reviewed October 4, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed in the Marina apartments several times so admit we may have been a bit spoiled.This being our first and last time at Essex Court ! Very poor communication ,I had to ask 3 time for the address of the apartment.I also asked if we could check in an hour later and was told in no uncertain terms that she should be there at 2pm as she had another appointment at 2.45 pm.We rushed from Belfast and arrived at 2.12 pm to find the apartment door opened.Eventually I heard Angie call from upstairs that she would be down in a minute., 5 minutes later she appeared very flustered and unwelcoming.When she did appear we were asked to take the towels out of the tumble dryer from the previous guests and told "remember and empty the water " We found the facilities to be basic.Poorly maintained communal stairway gave a bad first impression No facility to make coffee.Very damp stale smell in the apartment, had to leave all windows open when we were in the apartment as smell overpowering The traffic noise was pretty bad despite double glazing.We moved to the other room and was awakened every hour with the clock chiming.No chance of opening any windows at night due to outside noise. Yes the neighbors were friendly but we did not come to see the neighbors.Think twice before you book, however there appears to have been some satisfied customers.I suggest that the ones who were not satisfied would not have bothered to comment and will vote with their feet

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: love carickfergus
Liked least: The smell in the apartment and the traffic noise
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2015
I'm sorry that you were disappointed. If you had told me at the time I could of tried to address your issues.
As I've never had any bad feedback I was not aware that there were any issues to deal with. The guests in just before you arrived enjoyed the apartment and had no complaints and left a lovely review. I can only apologise that we did not reach your exacting standards, and I see that we are not the first property that you have taken issue with.
I would try to address your issues but I don't wish to appear dismissive, these are your thoughts and you are entitled to them and I'm sure nothing that I can say would refute your complaint. I can only defend our wee apartment with all the happy contented customers that love to stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick...
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

A very well presented apartment, spacious,a home from home.All the neighbours very friendly and only too pleased to help.Plenty of coffee shops and restaurants all within walking distance and a must see is the museum in the tourist information office. Carrickfergus is just the place to start your touring with easy access to all main routes. You can book your stay here and know you will have a fantastic stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: stress free and relaxing
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2015
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaze2005
South Ayrshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful well presented apartment absolutely spotless”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a brilliant holiday in Carrickfergus and travelling to surrounding areas the neighbours at the apartment were all lovely very friendly would recommend Essex court to everyone thank you Angie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind comments - hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb456
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 22, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were traveling with our daughter and granddaughter so Angies' place was a perfect place to be based out of. It was a great location that let us putter around the town and wasn't to far for us to pop into Belfast to visit family. Angie made everything welcoming, the neighbours were great! We have already started talking about our return trip.

Tanks Angie,
Barb, Joe, Cheryl and of course Avery

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, close to everything, Space- able to be comfortable at all times
Liked least: Nothing we did not like
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2015
Hi Guys

Thank you so much for your glowing review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Angie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne C
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a Splendid Hidden Gem”
Reviewed October 16, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A spacious, comfortable apartment overlooking Carrickfergus Castle. Just thirty minutes away from Belfast it is the perfect base for exploring the Capital Of Northern Ireland, The Giants Causeway and more surprisingly, the joys of Whitehead and Larne.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosiness of the apartment.
Liked least: When we came in late one night the alarm was going off to indicate the electricity this meant an urgent trip to Sainsburys & Clipperstown garage to ensure the alarm do not go on all night. Not ideal.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate your comments and you will be pleased to know I acted on the suggestion you left for us.
Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing