We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but service could be better.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Season Coffee Shop

Season Coffee Shop
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good food but service could be better.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife loves this place so four of us went for lunch last Saturday. Two had soup which was really home made and tasted excellent. I has a club sandwich which was very good but we had to wait about 20 minutes while our tea and coffee went cold. There were two girls waitressing and they weren't run off their feet. Who was in the kitchen?
This is a place where you will confidently get good food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank curlykale3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    28
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carrickfergus
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“You should try!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

I would go back to this cafe but not too often as it is expensive. Food is quite good as is the service. The atmosphere is great with different seats and seating arrangements to suit all. I had the cesar salad the other day with a pot of tea. Salad quite nice (although not romain lettuce) but the tea was luke warm and a terrible grey colour.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KazzaCarrickfergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place for every Season”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Recommended by friends we decided to visit Season Coffee Shop and see what all the fuss was about. We were not expecting to become Season addicts! This place gets a hold of you and won't let you go. Your days become filled with thoughts of what you're going to have to eat on your next visit. Cinnamon swirls and frothy cappuccinos will invade your dreams... A coffee shop where 'everyone knows your name' with genuine, friendly, happy staff. Great quality food with great quality ingredients. Home baked through and through, no gimmicks, no problems! Proper coffee... how coffee should be. Bailies Coffee, Fairtrade, roasted locally (the same week you drink it) and it shows. A coffee of distinction, smooth, balanced and satisfying. Season is a place you must go and it's part of a great Garden centre called Grow. I'm no expert on plants but theirs are just beautiful! The way they're displayed and the fact they look cared for is a joy to see. All in all I can't fault this place. Give it a try.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Coffeeconnoisseur1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful, atmospheric, fabulous food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We've been coming to Season regularily for a year now, since it opened, and have yet to be disappointed by the great selection of tasty meals, the scones are to die for, and the coffee... mmmm... It's just the loveliest place to come to for a lunch which pleases the eye first, then the mouth! We feel relaxed, they never rush you, papers are available to read, just sit and take your time, usually the friendly owner/chef will come and have a chat, checking everything is just to your liking, it's so obvious this creation of food is a passion for him, and that every detail matters. Just a lovely place to go and have a bite to eat. Couldn't rate it more highly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
162 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Far from excellent. Not good value for money. Limited, costly menu.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

A pleasant clean cafe with helpful willing staff. Apart from that there is little positive to say. The range of what is available at lunchtime is limited. Mainly sandwiches, paninis etc. Sandwiches expensive at £4-95 for eg a ham salad sandwich. Plate filled up with unwanted tacos, cucumber, and strangely a slice of watermelon and a clump of chopped hard tomato, and lettuce. Sliced egg had been requested and promised but it did not appear. The slice of cooked ham was not very good quality. My wife asked for a tuna and red onion sandwich. The tuna was OK but she got very little red onion. We both left hungry and we are not big eaters.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BelfastJames007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Season Coffee Shop also viewed

Carrickfergus, County Antrim
Carrickfergus, County Antrim
 
Carrickfergus, County Antrim
Carrickfergus, County Antrim
 
Carrickfergus, County Antrim
Carrickfergus, County Antrim
 

Been to Season Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing