We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appearances can be deceptive !”
Review of Sozo

Sozo
Ranked #11 of 66 Restaurants in Carrickfergus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $13
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Award Winning Carrickfergus restaurant Sozo has recently been taken over by New Management who would like to take this opportunity to welcome customers old and new. After enjoying a complete refurbishment, the new, stunning, modern interior compliments the incredible food that people have come to expect and enjoy. From a quick bite to a lavish lunch, come and pay us a visit - your new favourite eatery is only a journey away!
Dublin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Appearances can be deceptive !”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We nearly didn't eat here because the decor looked a bit drab and there was a large television on the wall of this small place. However, on the advice of a patron leaving the bistro, we went in. Sure enough, the food was really good and beautifully presented. The staff very friendly and helpful. The food was reasonably priced. And the television ? it was silent but distracting. My suggestion to the owners would be to remove it and change the wall colouring to something a bit brighter ! Would I go back ? Yes definitely.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank landinglight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SozoCarrickfergus, Owner at Sozo, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hi Ian, thankyou for your great review! The restaurant was taken over in October 2013 and has recently been completely refurbished. We would love you to come back and try us again. Look forward to seeing you soon.

PS: Check out our new website - eatsozo.com

Find us on facebook - Sozo Carrickfergus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    45
    11
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Food”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Visited Sozo's recently all of the family ordered the steak and it was cooked to perfection! We only ordered two sides as we thought it would be enough for four of us but the portions of the sides were quite small, but I must say they were also extremley tasty! It was not badly priced for four of us , would go back again!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleLouise1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SozoCarrickfergus, Owner at Sozo, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hi, thankyou for your great review! The restaurant was taken over in October 2013 and has recently been completely refurbished. We would love you to come back and try us again. Look forward to seeing you soon.

PS: Check out our new website - eatsozo.com

Find us on facebook - Sozo Carrickfergus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Græsted, Frederiksborg, Denmark
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I'll be back!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

great place to eat. the food is good and the service is fantstic :) like'd the place and will def be back

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Benjamin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SozoCarrickfergus, Owner at Sozo, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hi, thankyou for your great review! The restaurant was taken over in October 2013 and has recently been completely refurbished. We would love you to come back and try us again. Look forward to seeing you soon.

PS: Check out our new website - eatsozo.com

Find us on facebook - Sozo Carrickfergus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas lunch”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We were at Sozo yesterday, having our Christmas lunch. We are from Barnardos, mostly volunteers. The 2 tables we were at, were joined together, was very cramped. When i was served my first course, a dirty napkin was on my tray.
They brought out the mash and roast potatoes, and veg, which said on the menu, gets served with them. But, when it came to paying the bill, we were charged for them. Also, it was 2 branches of Barnardos altogether at lunch. Only one was charged branch was charged with dessert for both branches ...
That is my first and also last time at that restaurant. Will never go back there.

You expect when it says potatoes and veg served with meal, that you are not going to be charged extra for them. One of our staff pointed out to them it says in menu, served with meal. Was told, no, you have to pay for it. So be careful when you go there.They also charged £9 for each meal, when it was only £8.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annecairns66209947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SozoCarrickfergus, Owner at Sozo, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hi Anne, thankyou for your review and for the late response, over a year later! Sorry for your bad experience! The restaurant was taken over in October 2013 and has recently been completely refurbished. We would love you to come back and try us again. Look forward to seeing you.

PS: Check out our new website - eatsozo.com

Find us on facebook - Sozo Carrickfergus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petropavlovsk Kamchatski, Kamchatka, Russia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Place I'll always go back to when i visit!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Visited my friend few months back and I got a chance to see this beautiful little place. Very pleasant service, nice and polite people. Since I'm from a tourist country (Croatia) and I work all my life in service and food industry and I've seen people treat their customers in many crazy ways, but these guys were just so friendly and warm. Food was nice, actually very nice, you could see it was fresh and made with love. Everything was neat and clean and they seem like a really organized team. You could see they enjoy doing what they do :) I could get used to eating there every day :)
Hope to be back soon, cheers!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Waxilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SozoCarrickfergus, Owner at Sozo, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hi, thankyou for your lovely review. The restaurant was taken over in October 2013 and has recently been completely refurbished. We would love you to come back and try us again. Look forward to seeing you.

PS: Check out our new website - eatsozo.com

Find us on facebook - Sozo Carrickfergus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sozo also viewed

Carrickfergus, County Antrim
Carrickfergus, County Antrim
 
Carrickfergus, County Antrim
Carrickfergus, County Antrim
 
Carrickfergus, County Antrim
Carrickfergus, County Antrim
 

Been to Sozo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing