We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This cafe is one of my favourites.”
Review of Take Thyme

Take Thyme
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Coffee shop and delicatessen
Carrickfergus
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“This cafe is one of my favourites.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Love the atmosphere in this little cafe. Salads, toasties, paninis, soup and pâté. Perfect lunch time menu. I would recommend this place without a doubt. They even do a half toastie that comes with a little salad and coleslaw..... Take thyme also has gluten free on the menu. They also sell gluten free items, preserves, chutney and other odds and ends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KazzaCarrickfergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    12
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly staff with nice food.”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The girl I was talking to blonde hair young had very good knowledge about all the food they stocked. I would highly recommend their sun blush tomato pesto, their various soup range and caesar salad. I will definitely be back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Do go and enjoy the deli experience!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The loveliest of spots hidden in an enchanted courtyard for coffee and food and friendly folk :-) You are bound to bring home some speciality cheese or ham or treat from the shelves.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank notrouble55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus
Level Contributor
131 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Pricie for Coffee and Scone”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Although most food here is reasonably priced I think the Coffee and scones are over priced to catch the larger market for these items.Quality wise food is good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TubalCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great wee spot”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Had lovely tea and coffee along with tasty buns, we ate outside in the lovely court yard, staff very friendly defiantly worth a visit!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Longg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Take Thyme also viewed

Carrickfergus, County Antrim
Carrickfergus, County Antrim
 
Carrickfergus, County Antrim
Carrickfergus, County Antrim
 

Been to Take Thyme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing