We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apology”
Review of Bentra Grill

Bentra Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Apology”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I am writing this on behalf of my husband with regard to his post "annoyed". As you may be aware TripAdvisor will only permit one post per month per location.

In this post he called the previous reviewer a cretin. On reflection this was a very poor choice of words and he wishes to apologise.

He has sent a private message to the reviewer via TripAdvisor, but feels that a more public apology is necessary. He regrets any upset he may have caused the reviewer.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tattycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    51
    17
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitehead
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I have now eaten in the Bentra on around 5 separate occasions and each time the food has been poor to average with the need to complain twice, the first time the complaint was resolved to my satisfaction, the second time it wasn't. I have persevered as others have given good reports, the location is good and the restaurant interior is nice but my husband and I and friends I have been with have all been disappointed so ive decided not to return. The food is pricey enough for a the type of restaurant and in my opinion hasnt been worth the money. The positive I can report is that the front of house waitress has always been helpful and professional.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank parker99_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Good menus , lovely decor and friendly pleasant staff. Be aware this restaurant is up a flight of stairs but there is a lift available.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank LarneVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“has a reputation to be hit or miss,yesterday was a big miss.!”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

The Bentra is a local restaurant to me,so its very handy,my friends and i have all tried it on different occasions and all had mixed reports, The last time we went together my chum found an elastic band in her ceasar salad,much apology from the staff...!.We decided to give it a go for lunch yesterday and as we had heard good reports about the steak being a safe option,we all opted for that. When the plates arrived,it was immediate disapointment,pale insipid looking piece of meat with slimy looking mushrooms.The tobacco onions were dry,floury looking and tasted like soap.Chips were good..!! Its hard to define my complaint,other than it was tasteless,poor quality and odd tasting.The waitress did not come near us during our meal and my friends as they were hungry just ate what they could.I raised the issue with the waitress at the end of the meal,she spoke to the chef who said there was nothing wrong with it and the onions were meant to be like that..I didnt eat mine and took it home to the dog.
We have agreed that it may be handy but the inconsistency and poor experience each of us has experienced concluded thats its just not worth the risk so ,we wont be back.

Pity as its a lovely restaurant interior and view,but the food is just not up to standard especially for the price.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shazza444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

The Bentra is really nice we go right and regular for Sunday lunch
The views are faboulous food and service good
Lovely relaxed atmosphere

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank a_fittis602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bentra Grill also viewed

Carrickfergus, County Antrim
Carrickfergus, County Antrim
 
Carrickfergus, County Antrim
Carrickfergus, County Antrim
 
Carrickfergus, County Antrim
Carrickfergus, County Antrim
 

Been to Bentra Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing