We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, shame about the little things”
Review of Loughshore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loughshore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Certificate of Excellence
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, shame about the little things”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Booked an overnight stay here, arrived in late and the staff were most welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful. We got up to our room and we were very impressed, the room is well furnished, huge bed and lovely bathroom. Shame we could not sleep due to high levels of noise both inside and outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was fantastic, and such great value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    180
    96
    49
    42
See reviews for
179
210
22
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel is a lovely place to stay, but the noise from the room next doors tv kept us awake till after 3 am, when we decided to report it only to find out that the room was not in use. Do they not check these rooms and clean them when guests leave. I am just sorry I was so slow to report it, we were only there for 1 night and it was ruined by this. I am sorry that I have to write this report as I really like this hotel.

Room Tip: If there is noise report it straightaway
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We went to the Antrim Coast for a few days after our wedding last month before our honeymoon and stayed in this hotel. On arrival the hotel receptionist upgraded us to a beautiful room as they knew that we got married a few days previously. The hotel is a short walk into the centre of Carrickfergus. The breakfast was very good the next morning. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Where do I start? Payment up front was requested on checking in, should have known that was a bad sign.
Bedroom carpet was purple and synthetic, ugh!
Grouting in the bathroom was a disgrace and floor did not seem to be too clean.
But the most unforgivable thing was NO HOT WATER on 2 of the days we were there! Complained to the manager, but got no response.
Hot breakfast looked as though it was there for hours and only canned fruit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jjjnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Myself and my Sister stayed here for a friends wedding on the 4th November 2013 paying a very responsible £75 B&B. I initially was very sceptical about this hotel as I had heard quite negative reports mainly those relating to the decor of the hotel- BUT- I was pleasantly surprised :).

The entrance into the Hotel is actually very nice and my first impressions where good. Looking around the hotel-both the bar and restuarant where nicely decorated and laid out, and all staff I dealt with where pleasant and helpful. On checking in at reception-the receptionist was very welcoming-and explained all the necessary. When we got to our room we were so surpirsed by how spacious it was and the size of the bed!! The room was spotless and relatively modern. My ONLY critism would be to perhaps upgrade the shower unit-it was a bit dated but all the same it did the job!

My friends wedding itself was lovely and the hotel function room was big and nicely decorated for the day! The wedding meal was what you normally get at any wedding but still very tasty and again staff always on hand to help with anything.

Our nights sleep was undisturbed and the bed was so comfortable! Breakfast the following morning was delicious-enough of a selection to choose from and staff always on hand to get you your tea and coffee.

Checking out-was again a pleasant experience-the receptionist was extremly nice and just topped off our fanastic stay!!

Reasonably priced, good food and good staff-will definitely be staying here again and who knows possibly just get married here too! :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMC8811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Listowel, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed on the Saturday night, Very pleasantly surprised with the large room we got and the huge bed. A very cosy bed. Grouting around the bathroom could do with replacing but lovely fluffy towels, pity no hot water in the morning!!. But that was the only down side. We had a nice meal and great entertainment afterwards with Jimmy Cricket and a great singer John. Nice bonus for the trip. Could have stayed up all night to listen to him. Nice peaceful night sleep and loads to eat in the morning for the buffet breakfast. Great and enjoyable stay....lovely area and had a stroll around Whitehead in the morning in the November sun.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lor2ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights last week, nice modern look to the hotel with comfortable clean rooms, spacious parking and very friendly staff(very helpful receptionist on check-in ) would happily use the hotel in the future. Nice big bar and food was good too!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JediTrek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrickfergus
0.9 mi away
Dobbins Inn Hotel
Dobbins Inn Hotel
#3 of 6 in Carrickfergus
292 reviews
4.1 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,719 reviews
11.2 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
992 reviews
12.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Belfast
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
1,536 reviews
13.1 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loughshore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loughshore Hotel

Property: Loughshore Hotel
Address: 75 Belfast Road, Carrickfergus BT38 8BX, Northern Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carrickfergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Loughshore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belfast Loughshore Hotel is a modern comfortable 3 star plus hotel located 10 minutes from Belfast city centre and within 30 minutes of all airports & ferry terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loughshore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrickfergus Clarion
Loughshore Hotel Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing