We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Loughshore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loughshore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Harrogate
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Value Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

Although staying at the Clarion with a group, it was evident that the Clarion is extremely popular and is very good value. All members of staff were superb. Bedrooms are excellent, food good (undoubtedly the dining experience will be much enhanced when the new Dining Roon has opened).
Although it would appear that there is likely to be a wedding party at the hotel on most evenings we didn't find this to be intrusive.
Over all an excellent base to experience the many pleasure of Northern Ireland

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lodger3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBelfast, Manager at Loughshore Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Thank you for your review- offering great value (not just a good price, but great service, food and surroundings) is our main aim at the Clarion and we are delighted that you appreciated it. The Hotel is ideally located for exploring Northern Ireland and we hope you will come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    169
    93
    47
    42
See reviews for
170
202
21
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

Stayed at the Clarion Carrickfergus for two nights to attend a family wedding in Belfast
The Hotel is clean and well placed for exploring the Town
Very good staff always polite and helpful
The room we stayed in was clean and tidy and got a good nights sleep
Breakfast very good and in a relaxed surroundings
we would stay again and hope to do so soon

Mr & Mrs Brumby. Lincolnshire England

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordonbrumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBelfast, Manager at Loughshore Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for your review of the Clarion Hotel, your feedback is very important to us and we would hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehead
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

Used the Clarion for daughter's wedding reception on 26/05/2011, first class service, food, and surroundings, particularly helpful were Lily and David. A great day enjoyed by all the guests. A large number of guests stayed in the hotel, rooms spotlessly clean, comfortable, bright and airy, breakfast in the morning was very good.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank PeoplesWhitehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBelfast, Manager at Loughshore Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
We are delighted that you enjoyed your Big Day here at the Clarion, and your kind words will be passed on to the staff concerned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

We stayed at the Clarion on points. I feared that because we didn't pay cash that we might be treated differently. WRONG! It was perfect. Once I made my reservation I received a confirmation from the GM. I emailed back asking for an early check-in as we'd be flying into Dublin and driving to the hotel arriving very tired around noon. I felt that a 2 hour nap would allow us to salvage the day, see local sights and go to bed on local time. No Problem. I got an email from Stephen Perry assuring me that they would do their best to accomodate us. Stephen also gave me advice on the itinerary I had shared with him. Once we arrived we were allowed to check in early to an excellent room with a hair dryer for my wife and a tea-coffee maker for me. We got a 3:00 wake-up call and when we passed through the lobby we were given brochures on local attractions by the desk clerk Jillian who was very gracious and helpful. We also met Stephen who suggested that we not miss the Carrickfergus Castle. Excellent advice, stay at the Clarion, see the Castle and take the Coastal Causeway Route. You'll not regret any of it.

Next time we'll stay at the Clarion when we daytrip Belfast and Larne as well.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKIZIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBelfast, Manager at Loughshore Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Many thanks for your kind words- we do try and offer a level of personal service to our guests which exceeds their expectations, and we are very glad that you appreciated it. We would be delighted to welcome you back here to explore Northern Ireland further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

Stopped here for a night on the way back from Donegal. Rooms very comfortable and clean with a good bathroom. Beds very comfortable and we all slept well.
Food in the dining room was very enjoyable and they have a great dinner, bed and breakfast rate. We will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bugling_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBelfast, Manager at Loughshore Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for your review of the Clarion Hotel - we do pride ourselves on our very comfortable beds! We appreciate your feedback and hope that you do visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed here in march under a special groupon deal which allowed us an overnight stay with evening meal for £60. Hoping for a nice romantic night away we were warmly welcomed in a clean and tidy reception. Unfortunately our room was not so plush with 80s paintings on the wall, missing knobs on furniture, chips out of the wall and marks on the Walls. Credit though as bed was comfy and bathroom bright and clean. When we went down for dinner we had a great table with a glass of champagne. The combo platter was very roadside dinner like, my main of mushroom tagliatelle came with a skin on it and the baileys cheesecake was delicious. During dinner evening entertainment started which was very loud resulting in us taking our drinks upstairs. During the night I was up and down to the bathroom. My fiancé was fine having eaten a different main. We couldn't wait to get out the next morning and didn't even linger for breakfast. Not memorable for any of the right reasons.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyGarrett1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

Thank you to all the staff, to David Archer in particular - very professional in looking after and catering for us. First class in every way - accomodation, food and service. Had a FABULOUS party and would not hesitate in recommending it 101% Another big thank you from May and Rodney Spence and Family

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayls-x0x0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBelfast, Manager at Loughshore Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Thank you for your review- we are delighted that you enjoyed your evening and look forward to welcoming you back to the Clarion soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrickfergus
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
#1 of 6 in Carrickfergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dobbins Inn Hotel
Dobbins Inn Hotel
#3 of 6 in Carrickfergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
11.2 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club
13.1 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loughshore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loughshore Hotel

Property: Loughshore Hotel
Address: 75 Belfast Road, Carrickfergus BT38 8BX, Northern Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carrickfergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Loughshore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belfast Loughshore Hotel is a modern comfortable 3 star plus hotel located 10 minutes from Belfast city centre and within 30 minutes of all airports & ferry terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loughshore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrickfergus Clarion
Loughshore Hotel Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing