We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting bathroom”
Review of The Fir Trees

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Strabane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fir Trees
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strabane
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My partner and I went here recently and although our meal was lovely the bathroom facilities were awful. Two of the toilets were out of order for hours and the toilet paper was never re-stocked. The sinks had never been cleaned and were extremely dirty.
Would recommend for food and drink but the cleanliness left alot to be desired.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fir T, General Manager at The Fir Trees, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Having investigated this incident thoroughly we must offer our apologies to this reviewer and any other customer who used the facilities on the night in question. We did indeed experience a serious plumbing issue and given the time we were unable to locate a plumber until the following morning, when the issue was eventually resolved. We would like to assure all our clientele that measures have been put in place to prevent any similar occurrence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
There are newer reviews for The Fir Trees
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 239 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

I'm originally from Strabane so the Fir Trees was my first choice.... never again.

We found blood on the wall in our room. The restaurant messed up my food order 4 times! And then asked my husband "would sir like to finish his steak" ah NO.

It does get quite busy up there at the weekend so if your bedroom overlooks the car park then ask to be moved because you'll not get much sleep.

In the bathroom our toilet roll was covered in vomit (sorry if tmi), had to get staff to change it. Also had twin beds that one of the beds were broken.

All in all we won't be back!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fir T, General Manager at The Fir Trees, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

We have an extremely conscientious housekeeping team and the rooms are audited thoroughly on a weekly basis and we have yet to come across anything of this nature; furthermore we do not have a record of this guest and have never had a complaint of this type. When you combine this with the fact that the ''review'' has been posted in January 2014 for a visit that supposedly occurred in April 2013, then you can only conclude that these are spurious allegations that in the interests of fair play should be deleted from our record.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We got married at the fir trees on 14th September 2013 we arrived on the Thursday before and we had a coach load of family and friends arriving on the Friday the staff where fantastic Joseph was just amazing and mr Duffy helped with all our planning and all went so smoothly as we live in England the food was fabulous the fir trees hotel was just the most fantastic place for us to have our wedding we enjoyed every minute thanks to all the staff we are going back for our 1st wedding anniversary and the only place we stay when visiting family is alway THE FIR TREES HOTEL
It exceed all our expectations.
A big big thank you
From Mr & Mrs McCollum

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fir T, General Manager at The Fir Trees, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments which have been relayed to all our staff. We will certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the anniversary celebrations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I was at a family function on Saturday.Our meal & service was excellent & staff were very friendly.
Hotel has been modernized except for the bar which still has an old world charm.I recommend giving The Fir Trees a try.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fir T, General Manager at The Fir Trees, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

This is an extremely gratifying report particularly as it comes from a recognised senior reviewer, and it gives reassurance to management and staff that our efforts are worthwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Me and my mum have stayed twice at the Fir Trees, both times the rooms were spotless, so top marks to the ladies who work in Accommodation. The hotel staff especially Catherine at the reception desk was so helpful and friendly beyond her job description. We would recommend the hotel no problem. The rooms are modern and fully equipped and the hotel is ideally situated with adequate car parking. Breakfast was good and more than sufficient bar food was good too, so all in all no complaints. We are looking forward to staying at the hotel again and again. Top Marks all round.

Room Tip: Room 109 is located away from front area of hotel so there is no noise problem
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fir T, General Manager at The Fir Trees, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for these very kind comments which emphasise the ''home from home'' experience that guests enjoy when staying at the Fir Trees Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have stayed at the Fir Trees 3 times and am now welcomed with open arms...staff are friendly or as discrete as you need! They cannot do enough to ensure your comfort. Rooms are clean, beds comfy and with all the mod cons you need....the bar is cozy ....the function room exquisite, with fabulous seating.....I would highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.....

Room Tip: Ask for a room on top floor if you need more light, otherwise ground floor rooms are suitable for th...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fir T, Manager at The Fir Trees, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Tried calling tonight to see if I could book a room - I was told 'I'm the only one working here and I'm busy'....The girls sounded genuinely under pressure and I ended up feeling a little sorry for her...Not getting my business Fir Trees!!!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fir T, Manager at The Fir Trees, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

I must apologise to the reviewer if we were unable to assist in our usual friendly and helpful manner. There appears to have been a communications problem and I can assure you that this is very untypical of the service normally provided, as is evidenced by the numerous excellent reviews on Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strabane
12.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,263 reviews
13.5 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
17.7 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Silverbirch Hotel
Silverbirch Hotel
#1 of 3 in Omagh
467 reviews
12.5 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,150 reviews
12.0 mi away
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fir Trees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fir Trees

Address: Dublin Road, Strabane BT82 9EA, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Strabane
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strabane
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fir Trees 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel located on the outskirts of Strabane situated conveniently close to the Sperrin Mountains, three major fishing rivers and two of the finest parkland golf courses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Fir Trees Hotel Strabane
Fir Trees Strabane
Fir Trees Hotel Strabane
The Fir Trees Strabane, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing