We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welcome Return”
Review of The Fir Trees

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Strabane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fir Trees
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strabane
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We enjoyed our visit so much in May that we returned in September with more members of the family and again received gracious and warm Irish hospitality. The Receptionist could not have been more accommodating, going out of her way to make our stay smooth and comfortable. We had three rooms: two on the ground floor and one on the first floor, with easy access for my elderly aunt via a lift. We again took advantage of the excellent value Weekend Special rates, including full cooked breakfast and a £10 evening meal voucher. We ate in the bar restaurant where meals were beautifully presented and delicious. A memorable stay in this clean, spacious and well appointed boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lulu1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 242 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

Perhaps I am not very observant – could not find front door! Nice hotel, good finishes, food was good and service very friendly

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed two nights in two twin rooms with my elderly aunt and two cousins on a recent family history tour of nearby Plumbridge. Excellent location with ample parking, conveniently located on main route. Wonderfully, warm welcome and we thoroughly enjoyed the food. A great, tasty selection for main meals and a hearty breakfast with attentive, friendly service from all the staff. Main meals include a wide selection of side orders, good for sharing. We stayed Saturday and Sunday and thought the weekend special was excellent value. Modern, well equipped hotel and ideal for evening relaxation and entertainment in the bar. An added bonus for us was hearing one of the original members of the Carlton Clippers sing with his family and we also enjoyed the local band. Derry is only fifteen miles away and it was a pleasant journey to Belfast International Airport through the Sperrins. A perfect stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lulu1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed her for one night and found this hotel satisfactory. Negative points first - there was no net curtain on our window, just curtains and our room looked directly into someones back garden in which they were sitting looking straight into our room. The room was cold when we arrived and the central heating was not put on the whole duration of our stay. They had provided a small portable heater in the room which made it slightly warmer when temperatures outside started to drop at night. Postive points - very clean and tidy, lovely bathroom with soft towels and modern sink etc. Bed was lovely and soft with lots of pillows. We asked for a quiet room and thats exactly what we got (room 111) - we hardly heard any noise the whole night even though there was a large function going on in the hotel. The receptionist was the friendly receptionist we have met in any hotel we have visited in Northern Ireland to date. She deserves a lot of credit as she is the face of the hotel and the first person you meet at reception. In a lot of hotels we have stayed in the receptionist hardly makes eye contact and speaks to their guests but this girl was fantastic and genuinely cared if you had a good stay. Would stay here again and would recommend.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room at the back if you want a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zippyzipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I took my partner and my 9 month old Son to the Fir Trees for Mother's Day. The girl led us to our table and asked if we would like a high chair, we said yes and then she said ohh well there isnt one available right now but once there is then i will bring it over. Our duration was 40 minutes and we never received it.

Starter-Soup of the day was Scotch Broth More like Scotch BROCK was absolutley minging and uneatable. Potato skins were also ordered and they were burnt to a cinder. it looked like they were frozen and reheated.

Main Course-Rump Steak and Escalope of Chicken..Steak looked like a 8 0z steak and for 14.50 you would be expecting a pretty good steak, there was a tiny bed of mash underneath and it was diabolical, The chicken dish was worse. the chicken was like half of a chicken fillet and the food on the plate just looked so tiny for the crazy price that they demanded.

Desert- The girl asked if we would like a desert menu, i accepted so the girl returned with two A4 pages with the deserts for the day. The page had dog ears and was crimpled. Desert was not had and we left

All round service- TERRIBLE!!! we had drinks brought to us and by the time our meal arrived we were finished and we left our glassses at the edge for the staff to remove. Our plates arrived and they looked at the glasses and walked off without taking them. Dire wouldnt be the word for this at all

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Stayed here on business a few eeks back, good sized rooms with all mod cons, flat screen tv, decent shower etc. Only minor niggles about the room is it feels a bit dark and the beds need fixed to teh floor, they tend to move around when sleeping.

We had dinner in the bar, which was very nice, some good 'menu del dia; type deals, with good sized portions. Guiness and wine were all decent. Breakfast was slightly 'light' with a choice cereals and yoghurt and a very skimpy cooked breakfast including one grudging slice of bacon.

Decently priced and nicely set out rooms, it does just fine for a nights stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Brill hotel excellent entertainment...... We stayed in the Bridle Suite as a Valentine 2012 treat and truly enjoyed it ... friendly staff. We go out there nearly every Saturday night and never seen any problems. Just a great atmosphere and a well run hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strabane
14.2 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
742 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
0 mi away
No photo provided
Fir Trees Hotel
#3 of 4 in Strabane
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fir Trees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fir Trees

Address: Dublin Road, Strabane BT82 9EA, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Strabane
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strabane
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fir Trees 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel located on the outskirts of Strabane situated conveniently close to the Sperrin Mountains, three major fishing rivers and two of the finest parkland golf courses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Fir Trees Hotel Strabane
Fir Trees Strabane
Fir Trees Hotel Strabane
The Fir Trees Strabane, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing