We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hard to beat”

Murphy's on the Green
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Strabane
Cuisines: British, Irish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“hard to beat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

go with family to murphs many a sunday evening and have never had a bad meal. Kieran and the staff are so friendly and attentive. the side orders are much bigger than most places usually too much to finish. Lovely atmosphere in the bar area-- back area is a bit too big too be cosy--would be better made in to 2 smaller areas but apart from that all is good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geraldinecatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    28
    6
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent food !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Eat here at least once a week ,the food is gorgeous .Great for the kids too or a romantic meal for 2

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen_duck_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Kept us coming back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed 3 nights just outside of Strabane and on our first night Murphy's was recommended to us by a taxi driver, to which we are grateful. We returned every night after that! Great food, wonderful service, lots of things on the menu and nice setting.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great place to eat and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Popped in with kids when passing through and was not disappointed, drinks and food order taken promptly, we had 3 children and 3 adults dining, 2 kids portions was plenty between 3 (ages 6-3) food came out piping hot and promptly and great value for what you get will definatley be back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“BBQ PARTY AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

As part of our work we had a recent bbq party in Murphy's. Never knew that they done them. The food was delicious, best thing was we coul;d see them being cooked, as there were cooked through and the bbq'd. omg have never tasted ribs like them and as for the hot dog it was melt in your mouth great. Another great night had by all as they have a great rodeo bull, the staff are so friendly and really do care.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrishFoodielover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murphy's on the Green also viewed

Strabane, County Tyrone
Strabane, County Tyrone
 
Strabane, County Tyrone
 

Been to Murphy's on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing