We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home”
Review of Grange Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grange Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dungannon
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I was practically adopted by Ralph and Nora who couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful and hospitable. Nora's breakfasts were excellent - everything home-made, the breads, apple pancakes, real orange juice and more than I could ever hope to eat - much to Nora's disappointment! Fresh fruit every morning too, melon, strawberries, berries, pineapple. A beautiful house in a quiet rural setting and a really cosy room which was kept snug and warm during some very unseasonably cold weather. It was a real home from home. Ralph and Nora's local knowledge of the area also helped ensure I was never at a loose end for places to visit and explore. They are ideally situated, just 45 minutes or so by car from the airport, just over an hour to The Giant's Causeway and the amazing north coast, and there are some good places for an evening meal nearby to suit every budget. No hesitation in recommending Grange Lodge as an ideal place to stay. Thank you Ralph and Nora - hope to see you both again soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
19
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This very lovely B&B was our first stay in Ireland. We did a bit of driving around to find it but that was probably more our fault rather than the directions being unclear!
This beautiful lodge is set in lovely gardens, up a very private country lane and amidst a very Irish rural setting. Our bedroom was roomy and had all the necessities [tea and coffee making] and clearly, a lot of thought has gone into the way the rooms were decorated.
A very relaxing drink before dinner in the lounge room was a great start to our stay. Dining was an absolutely delicious experience [dinner and breakfast] - the meals were excellent, and Nora's skills in the kitchen confirmed her culinary reputation whilst Ralph handled the front of house duties with good nature and humour. I tried their speciality porridge [with Bushmills whiskey and cream] - an unusal taste but very nice all the same!
We, along with our travelling friends, agreed that our stay at Grange Lodge was the pick of the B&B's we stayed in whilst travelling in Ireland - there were others which were very good but Grange Lodge had that extra "something" about it and we now wish we could have stayed longer.
Again, Tripadviser was used to find this B&B and again Tripadviser was "spot on" with it's reviewer's comments. We very highly rate Grange Lodge and if we get back to Ireland, it will be the first booking made. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecksville,Oh
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We truly enjoyed our five days visit to Northern Ireland and Ralph and Nora enriched our time on holiday. The house, room, and grounds were excellent. The porridge and our special dinner cooked by Nora was superb. We highly recommend you visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KieranR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

One of the best guest house I have stayed in, everything about the Grange lodge is superb..Porridge with irish whiskey is divine washed down with fresh local apple juice.The house is set in beautiful grounds in lovely surrounding coutryside

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We spent four days with Ralph and Nora and what a fantastic time. Ralph and Nora were the most attentive hosts I have ever met. Nothing was too much trouble and they are so friendly. The room was full of beautiful items, well appointed, well decorated and with a marvellous bathroom. Clean, cared for and just like a high class home. Both Ralph and Nora went out of their way to help us in every way yet not intrusive. The breakfast, especially the special bushmill porridge, was a real set you up for the day affair with marvellous home made breads, compote, and a full irish if wanted. Ralph and Nora would make whatever you wanted from just toast to a three course spread. Set in beautiful grounds and so quiet and peaceful yet not far from town and Linen Green shopping. All in all very highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the individually decorated rooms are unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at Grange Lodge for two days to see a bit of Northern Ireland, particularly some of the rural countryside where a lot of the Quaker emigration to America in the 1600s originated. Ralph and Norah are the consummate hosts -- so welcoming, pleasant and lovely -- and Norah's cooking is to die for! Ralph's speciality is the whisky-infused porridge, which you also must try. By all means, book at least one dinner in advance as well as enjoying the breakfasts while you are there. The oldest parts of the house are 300 years old, but the room was welcoming, the bed was comfortable, and the room overlooked the lovely countryside as far as the eye could see from the Grange's hilltop location. The Grange is an easy drive to Armagh, a bit further to Belfast, and close to several old Quaker meeting houses (the Grange, Moyallon, and the original Lurgan meeting house, where the original 1696 cornerstone can still be found nearby). We loved Ralph and Norah's hospitality and our comfortable, restful stay at the Grange. We will be back!

Room Tip: We liked the Green Room, overlooking the front of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DixonsInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Wonderful property which is beautifully decorated. The hospitality is second to none; Ralph was standing at the door to meet me and was a real gent. The food - cooked by the amazing Nora was exceptional. All the ingredients were in season and locally sourced, and you can taste the difference! Please, please try the Bushmills porridge at breakfast - by God it will set you up for the day! I can't wait to return with my husband.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungannon
1.9 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
8.8 mi away
Tullylagan Country House Hotel
11.4 mi away
Glenavon House Hotel
Glenavon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Cookstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 1 in Armagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
24.9 mi away
The Valley Hotel
The Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fivemiletown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
12.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Lodge

Property: Grange Lodge
Address: 7 Grange Road, Dungannon BT71 7EJ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Dungannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dungannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grange Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Lodge Dungannon, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing