We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SECOND TIME JUST AS BAD AS FIRST”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cohannon Inn and Autolodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dungannon
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“SECOND TIME JUST AS BAD AS FIRST”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have Now stayed hear Twice in One Month Once just Myself and my Wife and the Second time with our 2 Grown Up Sons, Wile there the Second time a Member of Staff Requested that we Remove the Unflattering but Truthfull Review that we had Written about our First Stay so we Did so now this Updated Review Cover Both Stays, On our First Stay a Member of Staff kept on Parking her own Car in a Guests Parking Space even to the Point of Moving Her car In To It once our Car was Moved, We had 4 Breakfasts at a Extra £5.95 each the First 2 wear Great However the second 2 Had to be Sent Back to the Kitchen and Replaced as most of the Items on Both Plates wear Overcooked Baddly Pluss 3 Items that wear on the First 2 Breakfasts wear also Missing as the Kitchen Staff seem to have Trouble giving the same amout of items out on a Plate more than Once as the Very same thing Happond with 1 of my Sons Breakfasts on the day we Left However the Price Remains the same £5.95 Regardless, From all of our Views on both Trips the Entire Cohannons Complex appears to Want to Make as Much Money as Possible as Quickly as Possible No doubt so the Owners can Holiday themselves somewhear in the US like Califorina for a Month or so No Doubt, The Rooms are very Basic Indeed there is Not Even any Drawspace just the odd Shelf and None of Either the Bathroom, Thay do seem to have Quite a Good Digital TV Signal in there Rooms However this is Spoilt by only Having 17inch and Under Televisions to watch it on, The Corowdoors and Open ariers stink of Stale Smoke as do some of the Rooms, There was and still Is Lots of Burn Makes and Cup and or Glass stains in our room That we had on both Stays this alons says a lot about the Cleaning Staff and Clenntheyness of the Rooms at Cohannons Auto Lodge or Inn Or whatever it wants to call itself, We wear told That this is a 2 Star Ratted Lodge that Would be a 3 Star Ratted but for No Room Service However It Would Needs Far More Than Room Service to make this Place either 2 or 3 Star Ratted The Rooms and Bathrooms need Re-Decorating from top to Bottom as Paint is Flaking Away and Wallpaper is Coming Lose, And the use of Large Keys to let you in no less than 3 doors is Outdated in this day and age as you even have to Lock your room Door with the Key every time you go in or out of it, Most Good Hotels these days use Swipe Cards Not keys. Cohannons has Resently Won a Award But I very Much doubt that whoever thay won it from has ever Stayed at Cohannons as if thay had I do not think thay would of Won as Good First Hand Experience of a Hotel Inn or Auto Lodge tells a very Different Story and you can-not always beleaive just Glowing Reviews Alone Read the Bad Once Aswell, I NO that we will Never Ever be back to Cohannons in this Lifetime to stay Or Eat as just like the Room Prices the Food is also Well Overpriced for what you get But atleast the Prices are Completing with Good Hotels its just a Shame that Evrythink ealse is NOT.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina C, Manager at Cohannon Inn and Autolodge, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear David H,
Thank-you for taking the time to review.

You and your wife stayed here at the beginning of July 13 and were so pleased with your stay that you booked before you left to return again for four nights with your two sons.
We were very surprised when, after your first visit, you posted a terrible review saying you would never stay again when you had actually booked to com back.
During your second visit you boasted to a member of staff that you had put a bad review on about another hotel and Trip Adviser had to remove it. Your review history reports on Trip Adviser show that you have written unpleasant reviews about 15 of the 17 places you stayed.

Your malicious comments have been hurtful to our staff, however, thankfully our other customers appreciate us otherwise we would not have received a certificate of excellence from Trip Adviser this year and had a successful business here for 34 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    45
    16
    13
    12
See reviews for
32
27
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed at the Cohannon Inn a few weeks ago and couldn't have been more impressed. The rooms were spotless. There was plenty of parking spaces with in close walking distance to your room. There was good amenities near by such as a shop, petrol station, beauty services and an off license. The room was spaceous and there was plenty of space to put your stuff away and make yourself at home. The food in the restaurant was delicious whether in the morning or afternoon. The staff in reception and the restaurant really couldn't have been nicer and really went out of their way to make sure you enjoyed your stay. I would highly recommend Cohannon!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Spent the night here recently after attending a function. The room was scrupulously clean, with lovely big fluffy towels which are always appreciated, rather than some of the tiny worn ones some hotels seem to think will do. Very comfortable accommodation at very reasonable cost, with all the in-room facilities you would expect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oakville1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
141 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a convenient overnight stay before proceeding to the Belfast Ferry to Scotland. We decided to stay here as it seemed to be very convenient to the M1 Motorway to Belfast which indeed it was. There were all necessary facilities at hand including a good restaurent, general store and petrol stationand everywhere was clean and tidy. The receptionist at the autolodge was very helpful and found out information for us and nothing was too much trouble. We followed her advice as to the time it would take to get to the ferry and if we hadn't taken her advice we would have missed it!! Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask questions about where your room would be situated and bear in mind where 'noise' can com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at the Cohannon twice during a trip to Ireland to visit family and friends. We found it very clean and comfortable with very helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are quite large and comfortable with adequate hanging space and shelves.They were also willing to store our large suitcases while we went to Scotland between our stays.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

This Motor lodge was just off the highway so it was convenient as "home Base" for our 2 weeks of travelling around Ireland.

It is super clean, comfortable and the staff were so warm and friendly and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.

Not overly fancy, But had all the wanted amenities. Hard to believe the hotel offers as much as it does considering room rates are such a bargain.

Attached restaurant, Bar, reception room, store, off-license, fast food chains and grocery made this a real one stop shop. Not to mention it is only a 5 minute drive into the city of Dungannon.

A must stay for any traveller of Ireland.... Especially if you appreciate the warm hospitality!

Room Tip: Bathrooms in the rooms offer either a shower or tub shower combo. I am 6' 6" and certainly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougTFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not going to be the greatest hotel you will ever stay in ,however it is very clean offers free wifi andis well priced. I had a double room for only £40. There is also a Chinese and chippy for takeaway food on its doorstep. Staff are friendly and helpfully aswell

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discodaverfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungannon
4.0 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#1 of 6 in Dungannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grange Lodge
Grange Lodge
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
7.7 mi away
Tullylagan Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
9.9 mi away
Glenavon House Hotel
Glenavon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Cookstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
10.8 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 1 in Armagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cohannon Inn and Autolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cohannon Inn and Autolodge

Property: Cohannon Inn and Autolodge
Address: 212 Ballynakilly Road, Dungannon BT71 6HJ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Dungannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dungannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cohannon Inn and Autolodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cohannon Inn and Autolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cohannon Inn And Autolodge Dungannon, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing