We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great welcome in the hillside!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cookstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avondale Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Cookstown B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A great welcome in the hillside!”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

A last minute booking on a rainy weekend, sadly for a funeral, but we were at once feeling at home in this special place. Tom and Ailsa look after you like family and the rooms and catering are great. We will be back in happier and sunnier times, to take better advantage of their great welcome. A comfortable improvement on the larger and more corporate local venues and close enough to the town to suit most requirements.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crumpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
23
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I spent 3 nights staying with Tom and Ailsa at the Avondale B&B, having booked for the location plus the strength of the reviews on Trip Advisor, and I wasn't disappointed. Talk about hospitality - what warm and lovely people they were. I went to Northern Ireland to seek out the townland my Irish ancestors came from, and Tom's knowledge of the local area was a great asset. I didn't have a car so he chauffered me around the spots I wanted to visit, and knew exactly where the townland was. B&B's can be cramped and poky but not this one - plenty of space to spread out your belongings and move around. It is set in the heart of beautiful peaceful countryside - I took a photograph of a rabbit from my bedroom window. The breakfasts were wonderful and both Tom and Ailsa were hospitable and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My family recently stayed here for 2 nights on our recent trip to Ireland. The B&B is clean, charming, and situated in the midst of some truly beautiful countryside scenery. Tom and Ailsa, the proprietors, could not have been friendlier. They were lovely people and very graciously helped my mother-in-law in her quest to find her family's history in Cookstown. They even gave us rides into town because we were without a car. And it was such a great deal! I would recommend staying here to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anana216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent a very pleasant, enjoyable night at the Avondale B&B in Sept. during our trip to Ireland. Tom and Ailsha were wonderful hosts, excellent cooks and the "best" in showing us how warm and friendly the Irish people truly are. A great experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaWeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a trip to Ireland visiting relatives. Tom and Ailsa made us feel very welcome when we stayed there, leaving us to come and go as we pleased. The breakfasts were amazing and set in very comfortable surroundings. As previous posters have commented, Tom will play you a tune on one of the fiddles he made himself and even let me have a go on one even though it's many years since I played. Will definitely stay there again when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just returned from a wedding where we used the Avondale B&B as base.

Tom and Ailsa were wonderful with my girlfriend and I - in particular Ailsa's advice on Taxi's, walks and other local knowledge. Both Tom and Ailsa were very helpful!

The B&B is literally 5minutes from the heart of Cookstown and yet is in the heart of some stunning Irish countryside. The B&B is very reasonably priced and very clean, with the air of almost a home more than a typical B&B.

Also Ailsa's cooked breakfast was a treat! If you like a fry-up this is the B&B for you! Don't take my word for it though, every other review says the same!

Thanks for being so good to Kirsty and I!

Graeme

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Tom & Ailsa made my wife & I very welcome. We could come & go as we pleased. We were priviledged to hear Tom play one of his treasured violins, one of many he has made. Comfortable, convenient & inexpensive. Excellent breakfast. We will return for some fly-fishing, when Tom's local knowledge & fly tying will come in handy
DickWatford

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DickWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cookstown
2.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
224 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tullylagan Country House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Glenavon House Hotel
Glenavon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Cookstown
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Greenvale Hotel
Greenvale Hotel
#3 of 10 in Cookstown
125 reviews
11.4 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
31 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Belfast House
The Belfast House
#1 of 8 in Cookstown
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondale Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondale Bed & Breakfast

Property: Avondale Bed & Breakfast
Address: 31 Killycolp Road, Cookstown BT80 8UL, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Cookstown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cookstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avondale is located 1.5 miles from Cookstown. The facilities include patio, water-featured garden, sun lounge and 2 family rooms available consisting of a double bed, single bed, en-suite, television and tea & coffee. Nearby activities: golfing, fishing, horseriding, shopping, leisure complex and hotels. Handmade crafts available including violins - from the solid wood to Irish jig. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avondale Bed And Breakfast
Avondale Hotel Cookstown
Avondale Bed & Breakfast Cookstown, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing