We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding reception.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glenavon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cookstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cookstown, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wedding reception.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Had our wedding here on 10th august 2013 and the day was perfect, great helpful staff, luxury surroundings and excellent food / drink. High quality facilities at this hotel yet affordable prices. The hotel is very relaxing, all the guests loved it.
highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalachyDevlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Malachy

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel after your recent wedding and for your very kind comments. We are all delighted that everyone had a great day and look forward to welcoming you and Emma back for your anniversary dinner next year if not before!

Kind regards

Paula Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    65
    43
    17
    21
See reviews for
99
79
6
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Spent 3 gorgeous days at the hotel in August with my girls aged 4 and 2. Excellent facilities such as swimming pool and surrounding external activities. Staff are exceptionally friendly. A real homely feel to it. Will definitely be back again. :0) Stayed in room 108 - perfect home from home.

Room Tip: Room 108 is huge! A double bed with 4 single beds. It has a bath, shower and also a fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Lucy E,

Thank you for your very kind comments following your recent stay.

We were delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your stay and that your daughters in particular loved the Leisure Centre. The staff make every effort to ensure all our customers have an enjoyable and comfortable stay - they really appreciate it when their efforts are recognised.

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel - we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards

Paula Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed here overnight on a business trip , great hotel , great room and great service , would highly recommend ...my room was huge with a giant bathroom with a big corner bath and big walk in shower......

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear JasonMc

Thank you for your very kind comments following your recent stay.

We were delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your stay and that all facilities were up to standard. We always like to see the word "great" in reviews!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel - we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards

Paula Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had at our wedding in the Glenavon on New Years Eve 2012. From start to finish the Glenavon was fantastic and we would highly recommend to anyone. Everything ran so smoothly we didn't have to worry about a thing. A special mention to Patrick, the head chef, who worked so closely with us to meet our needs, and to James the banquet manager who was superb. Excellent wedding venue and thanks for making our day so special and stress free!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia_Falls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Cecilia,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel after your wedding and for your very kind comments - James and Patrick are well pleased to get a special mention! We are all delighted that everyone had a great day and look forward to welcoming you and Ryan back for your anniversary dinner!

Kind regards

Paula Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just stayed for one night and would definitely come back and recommend to others.
Room - spacious, good temperature, tea, biscuits and water were welcome, bed fine for getting good sleep
Bathroom - plenty of towels and toiletries, decent bath, very powerful shower.
Breakfast - very good and helped nurse a post wedding dull head.
Parking - loads of space in secure carpark
Health club - used the pool only , it was a decent size and the water temperature was spot on. Other facilities like sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, gym looked good, changing rooms clean.
Bar - spacious, nice pint of Guinness, quite cheap
Staff - very friendly and helpful - thank you.
Unexpected surprises - 20% discount applied to my room bill because I booked via Internet - I had no idea that was coming. Another big thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMAK1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear JMakelly

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay - we were delighted to learn that all aspects of your stay including the facilities and the service met with your approval. The discount was actually given as you were a wedding guest of the hotel - a little perk for all our wedding guests!

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future - once again thanks for your very kind comments.

Kind regards

Paula Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

What an awful experience. Worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The room was very uncomfortably hot with no air con or fan available. The night club and wedding were in competition as to which could play the loudest music the longest. Finally when the music stopped at 0130 there then followed a ruckus in the car park until after 0230 to which the next day we heard on news of a serious assault had taken place. Will never stay here again!!!!! AWFUL

Room Tip: take a room at front of hotel high up or just don't take a room at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lillie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Lillie 1

I was very disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction following your stay last weekend.

At the time of booking on Saturday the receptionist enquired whether you were attending the night club – you said you were and were therefore allocated a room which was one of the rooms set aside for night club and wedding guests. You also availed of the cheaper nightclub rate.

The rooms allocated for wedding and nightclub guests are generally noisier rooms due to their proximity to the function rooms and also the fact that guests tend to go to bed later than say families / business people who are allocated rooms in a different part of the hotel.

I must apologise if your bedroom was too warm – the recent hot weather we have experienced has left it very uncomfortable for most people at night, in hotels and indeed in their own homes. Unfortunately we do not have nor indeed have we needed up until this summer air conditioning in our bedrooms.

There was indeed a serious, unprovoked assault on a young man in the grounds of the hotel which the PSNI and the Emergency services attended. Unfortunately this type of incident is entirely too common within Northern Ireland and one only has to open any of the newspapers to learn that it is indeed a daily occurrence. Thankfully it is a unusual event for us but nonetheless when someone is injured such as this young man was, all staff efforts as well as the Emergency services will be directed to ensuring he receives prompt medical attention and any inconvenience to others will be a secondary concern.

I do hope that at some time in the future you will return to the hotel and have a much more enjoyable experience – may I suggest that if you are not attending the nightclub you make this clear at the time of booking and the receptionist will allocate one of the rooms set aside for those requiring a quieter environment albeit at slightly more expense.

Yours faithfully,


Paula Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkeel, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just spent a few days at the Glenavon House Hotel with my family. The family room we stayed in was excellant. There was ample room in it and everything we needed. From the moment we arrived the staff couldn't do enough for us, Rosalyn at reception went out of her way to get us information of places to go to entertain the kids, this was very helpful. On the first night we had room service which was great value and lovely food. On our second night there we all tried the Cellar Restaurant, the food was beutiful and the staff were more than pleasant and helped entertain the kids while we waited for our food. The swimming pool was also a great hit, once again the staff at the pool were very pleasant and helpful and everything the kids needed was there. To sum it up we had a fantastic time and will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Keith C

Thank you for your very kind comments about the hotel following your recent stay.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and are particularly pleased with your very kind comments about the reception, restaurant and leisure centre staff. The staff make every effort to try and ensure all our guests, regardless of their age, enjoy their time with us and it's great when we succeed and their efforts are acknowledged!

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Kind regards


Paula Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cookstown
2.8 mi away
Tullylagan Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greenvale Hotel
Greenvale Hotel
#3 of 10 in Cookstown
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
2,988 reviews
22.0 mi away
Silverbirch Hotel
Silverbirch Hotel
#1 of 3 in Omagh
435 reviews
13.2 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenavon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenavon House Hotel

Property: Glenavon House Hotel
Address: 52 Drum Road, Cookstown BT80 8QS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Cookstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cookstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenavon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
62 bedroom hotel with Leisure facilities located on the banks of the Ballinderry River. Extensive conference, dining and banqueting facilities also available. Complimentary use of Club Riviera with swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room sauna and fitness suite during guest' stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Glenavon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenavon Hotel Cookstown
Glenavon House Hotel Cookstown, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing