We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glenavon House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hotel(Cookstown)
$123
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greenvale Hotel(Cookstown)
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsmills Self Catering Cottages(Cookstown)(Great Value!)
$201
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (418)
Filter reviews
418 results
Traveler rating
260
72
47
17
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
72
47
17
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure facilitiescellar restaurantswimming poolwedding receptionreception staffoverlooking the riversecond to nonelarge bathroomsteam roomwedding venuestaff were amazingfrom start to finishfirst classexcellent familycouldn tnext morninghen party
Filter
Updating list...
316 - 321 of 418 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for the first time 11 January 2013. Family of five - We booked at the end of Nov 2012 and were allocated an excellent family room with plenty of space. Enormous bath room with excellent shower facilities. The pool and other facilities ie steam room, sauna and hot tub were great and clean. The pool was great and the kids loved the floats provided. Food in the Galley grill bar was great and value for money. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillianmarycairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Gillianmarycairns,

Thank you for your very kind comments about the hotel and the it's staff in your recent review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including the food, the large family room and of course the lesiure facilities. I have to agree with you they are an excellent way to entertain the children! The staff work very hard to meet all our guests requirements and they will be delighted to learn of your comments.

Thank you for taking the time to write the review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Remember to keep an eye on our website www.glenavonhotel.co.uk for details of our special offers!

Best regards

Paula Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had our wedding reception at the hotel on 23rd April 2010 and it was fantastic! Right from the point of booking everything was first class. The staff were on hand for any queries and very accommodating with any changes/special requests and we knew we were in experienced safe hands.
On the day we were treated like royalty. The service and quality of the wedding meal & buffet was exceptional. We had a few guests with severe allergies who were very well catered for and this was done without any need for reminding from ourselves.
The honeymoon suite we stayed in was lovely too as was our breakfast delivered to the room the following morning.
I would have paid a great deal more for the service we got... the wedding package was very good value and I've been to much more expensive venues that simply were no match for the glenavon.
We loved it and so did our guests. Only one small niggle was that they forgot out complementary meal voucher for our anniversary but would still highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsG201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear MrsG201

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your wedding and for your very kind comments therein.

My apologies for the confusion regarding the voucher - we stopped issuing these at the time of the wedding as the happy couples were often heading off on honeymoon and were losing them!We wait until the Bride and Groom contact us as the anniversary approaches (as the addresses have often changed from the time of the wedding) and then issue the voucher.

If you contact reception we will be happy to issue the voucher albeit belatedly!

Thanks again for your lovely comments, I am glad you have such fond memories of your big day at the Glenavon!

Best Regards

Paula WIlson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for the first time 29th December. We booked at the end of October and were allocated excellent family rooms with plenty of space. The pool area was great and the kids loved the flippers and floats provided! Food was excellent and given it was such a busy night it arrived promptly and the service was first class. We were pleasantly surprised that there was a band playing after dinner "Bits and Pieces" they played a wide selection of music and the atmosphere was friendly and fun. Would recommend this hotel to all and especially those with kids. The receptionist Oonagh and the night porter Jim and Kieran could not have done enough for us. Thanks for a great stay hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmythFamily_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear SmythFamily_33,

Thank you for your very kind comments following your stay on December 29th. The staff work very hard to meet the needs of all our guests and it's a great morale boost when a guest takes the time to acknowledge that. I am sure Oonagh, Jim and Ciaran will be delighted that you mentioned them in particular.

Thank you for taking the time to write the review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenavon at some time in the future!

Best regards

Paula Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for the night before a wedding we were attending. From check in to check out we had a great stay. Hotel room was massive and lovely, bathroom also very big and great pressure in shower and bath. Four of us had dinner in the restaurant, we could not fault it in any way. Breakfast to following more was just as good. We found all the staff we came into contact with very friendly and helpful. Our room and all the other areas we saw were very clean. The only point I would make was fan in bathroom of our room need a good clean but that would be it. Would definitly return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sinduf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Sinduf,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel and for your very kind comments therein.

We work very hard to meet all our guests' expectations and it is great when our guests take the time to recognise that! The housekeepers are springcleaning bathroom fans as I write!

With best wishes for a very Happy New Year

Best Regards

Paula Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed on business, hotel and bar very efficient and comfortable.

Room well equipped, comfortable bed and decent power shower in bathroom

Breakfast was of a decent quality and well cooked

Staff all very friendly

No complaints !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomersetTraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear SomersetTraveller,

We were delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay in the Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time out to write this review - we always appreciate the feedback!

With best regards for 2013


Paula Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews