We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing family break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glenavon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cookstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for the first time 11 January 2013. Family of five - We booked at the end of Nov 2012 and were allocated an excellent family room with plenty of space. Enormous bath room with excellent shower facilities. The pool and other facilities ie steam room, sauna and hot tub were great and clean. The pool was great and the kids loved the floats provided. Food in the Galley grill bar was great and value for money. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillianmarycairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Gillianmarycairns,

Thank you for your very kind comments about the hotel and the it's staff in your recent review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including the food, the large family room and of course the lesiure facilities. I have to agree with you they are an excellent way to entertain the children! The staff work very hard to meet all our guests requirements and they will be delighted to learn of your comments.

Thank you for taking the time to write the review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Remember to keep an eye on our website www.glenavonhotel.co.uk for details of our special offers!

Best regards

Paula Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
There are newer reviews for Glenavon House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 393 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had our wedding reception at the hotel on 23rd April 2010 and it was fantastic! Right from the point of booking everything was first class. The staff were on hand for any queries and very accommodating with any changes/special requests and we knew we were in experienced safe hands.
On the day we were treated like royalty. The service and quality of the wedding meal & buffet was exceptional. We had a few guests with severe allergies who were very well catered for and this was done without any need for reminding from ourselves.
The honeymoon suite we stayed in was lovely too as was our breakfast delivered to the room the following morning.
I would have paid a great deal more for the service we got... the wedding package was very good value and I've been to much more expensive venues that simply were no match for the glenavon.
We loved it and so did our guests. Only one small niggle was that they forgot out complementary meal voucher for our anniversary but would still highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsG201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear MrsG201

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your wedding and for your very kind comments therein.

My apologies for the confusion regarding the voucher - we stopped issuing these at the time of the wedding as the happy couples were often heading off on honeymoon and were losing them!We wait until the Bride and Groom contact us as the anniversary approaches (as the addresses have often changed from the time of the wedding) and then issue the voucher.

If you contact reception we will be happy to issue the voucher albeit belatedly!

Thanks again for your lovely comments, I am glad you have such fond memories of your big day at the Glenavon!

Best Regards

Paula WIlson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for the first time 29th December. We booked at the end of October and were allocated excellent family rooms with plenty of space. The pool area was great and the kids loved the flippers and floats provided! Food was excellent and given it was such a busy night it arrived promptly and the service was first class. We were pleasantly surprised that there was a band playing after dinner "Bits and Pieces" they played a wide selection of music and the atmosphere was friendly and fun. Would recommend this hotel to all and especially those with kids. The receptionist Oonagh and the night porter Jim and Kieran could not have done enough for us. Thanks for a great stay hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmythFamily_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear SmythFamily_33,

Thank you for your very kind comments following your stay on December 29th. The staff work very hard to meet the needs of all our guests and it's a great morale boost when a guest takes the time to acknowledge that. I am sure Oonagh, Jim and Ciaran will be delighted that you mentioned them in particular.

Thank you for taking the time to write the review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenavon at some time in the future!

Best regards

Paula Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for the night before a wedding we were attending. From check in to check out we had a great stay. Hotel room was massive and lovely, bathroom also very big and great pressure in shower and bath. Four of us had dinner in the restaurant, we could not fault it in any way. Breakfast to following more was just as good. We found all the staff we came into contact with very friendly and helpful. Our room and all the other areas we saw were very clean. The only point I would make was fan in bathroom of our room need a good clean but that would be it. Would definitly return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sinduf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Sinduf,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel and for your very kind comments therein.

We work very hard to meet all our guests' expectations and it is great when our guests take the time to recognise that! The housekeepers are springcleaning bathroom fans as I write!

With best wishes for a very Happy New Year

Best Regards

Paula Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed on business, hotel and bar very efficient and comfortable.

Room well equipped, comfortable bed and decent power shower in bathroom

Breakfast was of a decent quality and well cooked

Staff all very friendly

No complaints !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomersetTraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear SomersetTraveller,

We were delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay in the Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time out to write this review - we always appreciate the feedback!

With best regards for 2013


Paula Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Staying at the Glenavon for 2 nights in early November proved to be a fantastic choice of Hotel. A family group of 16 of us arrived for a 75th birthday weekend. The hotel provide us with a fantastic base to explore Northern Ireland's treats.

The hotel was very inviting and despite arriving a couple of hours before check in the lady on the front desk informed us that she could provide us with a couple of rooms to place our bags until all other rooms were ready. A very kind and helpful gesture.
The room had plenty of space and the bathroom again was very spacious.
The room was clean and very comfortable. The bed was fantastic and had a great nights sleep.

On the second night we dined in the hotel restaurant, the menu was typical of a traditional hotel which provided us with a range of dishes to choose from. The food was of a good standard and portion sizes plentiful. Sadly a slight tarnish on the meal with the fiasco with puddings. Menu's were provided to use and we waited some time as well as asking a waitress to take our order who said she would return but didnt. We eventually orered our puddings and puddings came out in dribs and drabs, 2 of the puddings arriving almost 10 minutes after the other 4 had been eaten. Although this did happen it did not affect our mood at all as we could appreciate it was a busy saturday night. Just a bit more communication from the waiting on staff would have been appreciated.

The breakfast was a excellent and throughly enjoyed both mornings with a great selection of hot items and then the pastries and cereals.

To sum up, the weekend was great and the staff at the hotel were polite, helpful and very friendly. I would recommend staying at this hotel and look forward to returning one day.

Room Tip: If on the building adjacent to the main building. The side with the river on provides a pleasent vie...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STE2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear STE2410,

Thank you for your very kind comments following your recent stay in the hotel.

My apologies for the delay with the puddings. I am happy to learn that the rest of your meal and breakfast were of a high standard and that reception staff were able to help you out with facilities prior to check in.

We try our best to meet all our customers needs and it is a great boost to staff to have their efforts acknowledged. Many thanks for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at some time in the future!

Best regards

Paula Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was just an over night stay with VIP access to the adjoining nightclub. A great sized room with large bathroom n corner bath. The breakfast next morning had a good selection. But overall the stay was slightly disappointing. We wer informed by a member of staff that we should not have brought our own alcohol into the room??? I thought what I did in the privacy of my room was just that private!! The VIP experience in the nightclub.......maybe they should explain what exactly the benefits are of paying extra for VIP? When I went to the bar to order a cocktail jug I was informed the VIP bar doesn't do them I would have to go out to the main bar, the area does not have its own bathroom facilities or waitress service?? The next morning the Irish dancing feis was in full swing so ther was no relaxing Sunday morning to finish off the stay, when listening to dancing shoes and garbled voices on a microphone. Disappointed would be my verdict of the stay but as with every hotel review each person has different expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouLouMagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear LouLouMagoo,

I was sorry to learn that you were disappointed after your stay in October.

I feel it is only fair to clarify that the package you booked was the Sense Special at £47.50 per person inclusive of bed, breakfast, admission to sense with q- jump. Whilst the Sense office did receive an email enquiry about VIP on 18th September which was replied to that day, there was never a booking for the VIP received. I understand that on the night the host on duty was unable to accommodate you in the VIP area as it was fully booked but did manage to accommodate you in the City Bar - this is another reserved area where access is restricted distinct from the VIP lounge. The City Bar unlike the V Lounge does not have waiter service but does has it owns private bar. My apologies if this did not live up to your expectations but there does appear to be some confusion as to what you actually booked.

With regards to bringing your own alcohol into the hotel – it is very clear from our confirmation letter emailed on 2nd October following receipt of your rooming list – that this is a practice which is not allowed. Only food and drink purchased on the premises may be consumed on the premises. There are also a number of signs in the hotel including reception reiterating this policy. I always explain this simply as you wouldn’t buy a Pizza / Chinese and expect to carry it into the restaurant and eat it there! Whilst I can fully understand your expectations of privacy within the hotel bedroom – it is not entirely sacrosanct in that activities within it must be legal - it cannot become a bar / lounge and the only person who can supply alcohol within this building is the licensee!

I am sorry if the Irish Dancing Festival on Sunday disturbed you – they can be noisy! We would have been happy to make arrangements for your party in the Cellar Lounge or indeed the Conference Foyer if this had have been drawn to our attention at the time.

I am glad that you were happy with your accommodation and breakfast.

Yours faithfully,


Paula Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cookstown
2.8 mi away
Tullylagan Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greenvale Hotel
Greenvale Hotel
#3 of 10 in Cookstown
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
31 reviews
22.0 mi away
Silverbirch Hotel
Silverbirch Hotel
#1 of 3 in Omagh
467 reviews
23.3 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenavon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenavon House Hotel

Address: 52 Drum Road, Cookstown BT80 8QS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Cookstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cookstown
Price Range: $153 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenavon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
62 bedroom hotel with Leisure facilities located on the banks of the Ballinderry River. Extensive conference, dining and banqueting facilities also available. Complimentary use of Club Riviera with swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room sauna and fitness suite during guest' stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Glenavon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenavon Hotel Cookstown
Glenavon House Hotel Cookstown, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing