We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from "Royal".”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cookstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed in room 6. Tired, in need of redecoration. Some lights did not work. Plenty of noise from the road outside. Shower needs replacing as thermostat does not work. Music played through hotel speaker in corridor until middle of night. Thought I was given this room as it might have been all that was left - only 3 places set for breakfast so I doubt it. Breakfast okay. Service not too friendly. Have eaten dinner here on numerous occasions as it is across the road from a relative's house. Will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mycatstinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 253 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

Hi stayed in the royal hotel recently with my husband and to adult children. we were attending a wedding in a neighbouring hotel and the royal was giving a better deal so having dined there on numerous occasions which i would recommend very highly on route to portrush decided that was the opition 2 go for. albeit our time in the room was not very long really just to sleep and breakfast room was lovely seemed as though it was recently refurbished staff all lovely and breakfast all you would want so yes i would recommend this hotel as a stop over

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georginacollum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

First stay at this hotel but would not hesitate to stay again if in the area.staff were very helpfully and the food was delicious and there was plenty of it.i had Ben at meetings here before but never stayed here,but it comes very well recomended by local busineses

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Modothemag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Went with my wife for lunch to the Windsor Restaurant in the hotel. Even though they were very busy, we were shown to a table right away and within five minutes had our order taken. I had the vegetable soup which was hearty and filling. The two main courses, fish and beef, were good. Plain, solid food nicely presented. Hot and tasty. What more could you ask for? Oh yes, great value and fast, efficient and friendly service. There you go: all in one. OK, the majority of the customers appeared to be just off a SAGA coach tour, but, so what? Everybody has to eat and they had the key to Cookstown's secret. While the young people clogged up the overpriced, trendy cafes in the town's main street, the older folk had discovered a fabulous place, all of their own, to eat. Go and enjoy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MartinJi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

As I live in Portugal now I go o my home town of cooks town about 4times a year to see my mother and friends. When I'm there we eat in the royal hotel every night unless someone organises somewhere else. In the bar it is cosy and warm with friendly staff. The food is great value for money and even if you prefer to sit in the restaurant the prices are there are special each night that are Good value.I have never had cause to stay in the hotel so I can't comment on that but for a meal and a drink in a nice relaxed atmosphere this is the place to go .....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shazza968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Had an unintentional stay here after our car broke down on the motorway and we needed somewhere last minute, it was not even a cheap stay. Royal is definitely not an appropriate name! The whole place is just old fashioned and dingy from the foyer to the rooms. I believe there are refurbished rooms in the hotel which may be much better but ours was ancient. It's not that the room wasn't clean, it's just that the furnishings and particularly the carpet were just grotty from old age and old tea/coffee stains. The overall appearance was tired and depressing, the chain to lock the door was hanging off, and did in fact fall off. The sink was tiny and the top of it flooded unless you turned the tap on full-blast, the toiletries were tiny. The good points were that it was close to the centre of Cookstown, there was a flatscreen tv with a good range of channels, free tea, coffee and biscuits, and the beds were actually very comfortable.
The cooked breakfast was very nice, but the cereal, fruit etc were just ok.
Overall I can imagine it must be very hard for hotels like this to survive in the current climate but the place most definitely needs a serious makeover.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingcat79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Room was clean with adequate towels coffee tea etc. Can't really comment on the beds as I don't sleep well in any hotel but they seemed to compare ok to others I have been in. Couple of minus points - the rooms do need an update, one twin socket plug is not enough for most business travellers today and please update your TV's to digital! Can't complain though as for cost this measures up well. Convenient for central Northern Ireland and the staff make up for the lack of sockets. It's not 5* but its what you pay for and I'm happy with that.

Room Tip: There is a nightclub in the building but I stayed midweek so no issues with that. If you are driving...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greengiant1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cookstown
1.1 mi away
Glenavon House Hotel
Glenavon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Cookstown
392 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tullylagan Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Greenvale Hotel
Greenvale Hotel
#3 of 10 in Cookstown
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
31 reviews
10.1 mi away
Apparo
Apparo
#1 of 1 in Draperstown
146 reviews
22.5 mi away
Silverbirch Hotel
Silverbirch Hotel
#1 of 3 in Omagh
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: 64-72 Coagh Street, Cookstown BT80 8NG, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Cookstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cookstown
Price Range: $98 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cookstown, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing