We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEEDS THE HOTEL INSPECTOR”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cookstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2011

staff unfriendly apart from the young barman. Whats with the smell upstairs and in the bedroom, room disgusting had to put towels on floor as carpet was old and dirty.light shade the size of an album came crashing down when i had a shower,breakfast i did not have becauce all 20 boxes of cereal were out of date.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kanu15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 255 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2011

nice, clean hotel with friendly staff. special mention to the beautiful bar girl natasha who would do anything to help and is a credit to the hotel

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ourjimmy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Very impressed with the friendlyness and help of all the staff. Exellent food and the rooms very comfortable. Would visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Normandy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Was not really sure what to expect from this hotel after reading the reviews. It seemed that the customers either loved it or hated it! Well fortunately I loved it. The rooms were warm, cleaning and reasonably sized. Just what I would expect for the money i paid (very reasonable!). Breakfast (which is included in the price) was fantastic, freshly cooked and served nice and hot!! The food in general was excellent, well cooked and very generous portions. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming...nothing was too much hassle for them. The restaurant was well lit and comfortable and the lounge was cosier just the perfect setting for a few drinks and a laugh with my mates! Band in lounge on saturday night were really gr8 as well. Just jukebox on friday night but all the songs were current and up to date so it was perfect, better than listening to some wannabe who can't hold a note that u get in so many hotel bars nowadays!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smchugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. The staff were so friendly throughout my stay, anything was never too much hassle. The food was beautiful and plenty of it. The atmosphere in the bar was briliant everyone was so friendly and had a really good nites craic.. defo be back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smeanary01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

On arrival the service was offhand and it looked as though the hotel were doing us a favour by allowing us to stay. Staff generally were all unwelcoming.
The rooms are very dated and the whole hotel needs a substantial cosmetic upgrade. The main lounge/bar area is extremely dark and dingy and that makes it difficult to spend any time there.
There is a lot of noise from the road outside and delivery vehicles from around 6.00am and every sound can be heard.
However, great location only 100 metres from the main street of Cookstown.
We didn't eat here but the bar food looked reasonable priced but the restaurant was empty.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Small family run hotel and bar. Clean and friendly. Good plain food cooked well, lots of it. Not luxury but recommended.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cookstown
1.1 mi away
Glenavon House Hotel
Glenavon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Cookstown
397 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tullylagan Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Greenvale Hotel
Greenvale Hotel
#3 of 10 in Cookstown
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Silverbirch Hotel
Silverbirch Hotel
#1 of 3 in Omagh
475 reviews
14.1 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
32 reviews
10.1 mi away
Apparo
Apparo
#1 of 1 in Draperstown
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: 64-72 Coagh Street, Cookstown BT80 8NG, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Cookstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cookstown
Price Range: $100 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cookstown, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing