We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tullylagan Country House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cookstown
Certificate of Excellence
Derry
1 review
“Idyllic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I visited Tullylagan recently and the only way to describe it is 'Idyllic'. When you turn the corner and see the hotel and gardens you feel you want to stay forever and it's even better when you go inside. There is a lovely roaring log fire where you can sit and have a drink before going to dinner. The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout. The food was fantastic and reasonable. Was there for only one night but will have to return as the time was too short to enjoy fully. Highly recommend this to anyone as the perfect getaway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullylagan, Manager at Tullylagan Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Maria,

Thank You for taking the time to post this review.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Tullylagan Country House Hotel. The open log fires are indeed very welcoming, especially as we are heading into colder, chillier months. I am happy you made time to dine in the restaurant, and found it to be good value, as we do put a big emphesis on good quality, value for money & local produce.

We hope to see you back in Tullylagan in the near future, and hopefully you will get to enjoy a longer stay next time.

KInd Regards
Mary Breslin
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    45
    21
    18
    15
See reviews for
79
80
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

excellent lunch 20 pounds for 2 for single course plus choice of drink. Great choice beautifully cooked lovely surroundings attentive service. What more could you want. Go when you get a chance you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCfamily46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullylagan, Manager at Tullylagan Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to post this review.

I am delighted you enjoyed your recent visit to Tullylagan Country House Hotel, the £10 offer is available at lunch time in the Kitchen Restaurant & in Harrys Bar & Bistro in the evenings. It is certainly proving to be very popular and great value for money.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards
Andrew Mc Ivor
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Hi everyone,
We recently had our wedding reception at the Tullylagan Country House Hotel and we can't compliment Mary (the function manager) and the whole team at the Tullylagan for making our day so special! The grounds were amazing for photographs and the function room literally took our breath away when we arrived! Nothing is too much trouble and we were made to feel so special and were able to relax all day! All our guests absolutely loved the food, large portions and amazing quality. The rooms are beautiful and the venue is so intimate, it really is that little bit more of a special wedding venue. If you are even considering the Tullylagan, go and have a look, you will not be dissappointed!
Thanks Tullylagan!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullylagan, Manager at Tullylagan Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Vicky M

Thank you both, Vicky and Gary, for your lovely review of your special day here at Tullylagan Country House Hotel.

We are so glad that you have taken the time after your honeymoon to reflect on your wedding day and to post such a fabulous review. I have read your review at the wedding team’s latest team brief and to our Chefs, all of whom were so pleased to hear such a glowing report of their hard work and passion for creating a perfect day for every bride and groom. Again we are so pleased that you had such a relaxing wedding day with us and your review has boosted the whole team, as recognition of their hard work individually which does sometimes go unnoticed.

On behalf of all at Tullylagan, we again send you both all are very best wishes in your married life together and we look forward to welcoming you back to our special venue again and again in the future

Kind Regards
Mary Breslin
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I'll keep this short, if you're gonna have a wedding here, DON'T! Over-priced, bad staff, especially the woman looking after the wedding we attended and food tasted like it had been done in the microwave, probably had! AVOID!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Herbert474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullylagan, Owner at Tullylagan Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Herbert474

It is unfortunate that you have decided to review our hotel with such negativity and contempt. As expected on tripadvisor, sometimes dishonest, ingenuine opinions can slip through the tripadvisor net.

In this case, this person is fully aware that their behaviour towards our Banqueting Team was deemed unacceptable by the hotel's normal standards of behaviour and as a result has persued the tripadvisor route.

To all our other sincere and genuine tripadvisor reviewers, please ignore this review.

Adrian Martin
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Attended a wedding here last weekend. Lovely location and grounds and the weather held out which was great. All a very coordinated day and the main room looked great. Food was lovely and lots of it and the service sleek but I do have a moan to make. Why have such a great location for a wedding reception and have such misable looking staff? The bar men are fun and made ourevening out but the female staff who serve the food looked more like robots and the manageress looked like she was just doing it again for just another wedding

We had a lovely day as guests at our freinds wedding but maybe more time focusing on the guests and less time fussing around the bride and groom who are paying would help round off this venue.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullylagan, Owner at Tullylagan Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Johnnie H
Further to your recent review as a wedding guest, we would like to thank you for your endearing comments regarding Tullylagan as one of Northern Ireland’s premier, award-winning wedding venues. Indeed your comments relating to the unique setting of Tullylagan, the highest quality food and the dedicated personal management of each wedding, under our ‘One Wedding Per Day’ Policy ensures a co-ordinated and flawless operation on the day, as you have recognised, are very positively received and welcomed by the team at Tullylagan.

It is these factors which have given Tullylagan Country House its award-winning status and which have helped us excel as a very special wedding venue, as recognised by the many personal reviews we have received on tripadvisor by newly-married couples, their parents and wedding guests.

It is our unique commitment to each Bride and Groom to make their day memorable for both them and their guests, and we are glad on this occasion that such attention to our Bride and Groom on their special day through the quality of the venue and the food has been recognised.

I am also particularly glad our Bar Men enhanced your experience at Tullylagan and I shall pass on your kind comments to them directly.

Should you wish to discuss your review any further, please do not hesitate to contact myself personally and we hope you will return to Tullylagan again soon

Kind Regards

Adrian Martin
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I booked the restaurant for my mother's birthday today - there were 7 adults and 9 children in our party, so, we really appreciated the lovely private dining area we were given, it was fantastic.

The staff who greeted us, showed us to our table/room and who initially took our order were courteous and helpful.

The food was lovely but there were a few niggles, that should not have occured, which took the shine of the experience for me. Firstly - the menu stated 'Potato and Leek Soup' - it was Vegetable and no one had informed us of the change. At dinner there was only one bowl of potatoes to go around the 7 adults and 2 kids taking them ( the other children opted for chips), we had to ask for more - none were offered. Gravy and accompanients had to be asked for a couple of times. At dessert wrong dishes arrived and it took a considerable amount of time for everyone to get their order. The same again for tea/coffee. One of our servers was very friendly, the remainder did their job but there was no courteous questions/exchanges, such as 'Did you enjoy your meal'. These are all little things which are easy remedied but service could and should have been better.

Overall, we enjoyed our food, but service and lack of thought into the amount of sides/dishes required took the edge of the experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyrone-lassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullylagan, Manager at Tullylagan Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Tyrone-Lassie

Further to your review and comments regarding your recent dining experience at Tullylagan Country House Hotel, I am delighted that you and your guests enjoyed our 'lovely food. However I am also personally concerned regarding the detail of the customer experience you describe.

It was indeed myself who initially met your party, escorted them to our Games Room, and who took your initial food order – in which I accommodated numerous changes, additions and alterations to both our Signature Sunday Lunch Menu, Half Portions Menu for kids and our main Kid-Size Menu. We are also very pleased that you appreciated the opportunity to enjoy one of our private dining rooms for a birthday party without your needing to request such a room, and that you have recognised the warm and courteous welcome for which Tullylagan is renowned.

However, I am disappointed that you did not highlight the ‘niggles’ you describe on the day to myself who was available at all points during your visit up until your departure. At no point was a lack of accompaniments highlighted when I checked your room, nor was the error in the dessert order expressed to be of concern – the latter matter was rectified with urgency by the team, with no sign of your dissatisfaction expressed and this taken that the correction did solve the ‘niggle’ you experienced.

Again upon payment I was thanked personally by numerous members of your party for a lovely lunch and our being so accommodating with the initial order – one even stopping their car in the car park to thank us again upon departure.

At Tullylagan Country House Hotel, we take all customer feedback as a means to further refine and develop our customer service, and we appreciate our guests taking the time to pass on any feedback on their experience. Indeed, we look forward to you returning to dine with us in the future, when, should any disappointment occur at that time, I am sure you will appreciate that we would prefer to rectify this personally in the hotel at the time rather than in retrospect on a third party website.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally to make your next reservation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Tullylagan again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Andrew McIvor
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Thank you Mary and all the staff at Tullylagan for making our wedding day perfect! We couldn't have had a better day! We felt so special from the moment we arrived and were greeted with champagne to the next day when we were leaving and were given a cup of tea and latte when relaxing on the sofas. The food was delicious, the setting so romantic and everyone was extremely kind! Thank you also for all the support in the build up to the day - any questions I asked were always promtly answered and very helpful! Thanks, Neville and Lucille Ewing xox

Room Tip: Get married and have the PM suite! Its beautiful :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cille35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullylagan, Manager at Tullylagan Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Mr & Mrs Ewing,

Firstly may I congratulate you on your recent marriage. It was a pleasure to host your wedding on Monday 27th August 2012.

I am delighted Tullylagan Country House met all your expectations on the day, and that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful, as we do pride ourselves on customer service and care.

We would like to wish you every happiness as you begin married life together & hope to see you back at the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Mary Breslin
Manager

Neville and Lucille Ewing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cookstown
2.8 mi away
Glenavon House Hotel
Glenavon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Cookstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
3.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
2.9 mi away
Greenvale Hotel
Greenvale Hotel
#3 of 10 in Cookstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
21.4 mi away
Silverbirch Hotel
Silverbirch Hotel
#1 of 3 in Omagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
8.8 mi away
Grange Lodge
Grange Lodge
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tullylagan Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tullylagan Country House Hotel

Property: Tullylagan Country House Hotel
Address: 40B Tullylagan Road, Cookstown BT80 8UP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Cookstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cookstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tullylagan Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Cookstown's historic Main Street, and a short 15-20 minute drive from both the M1 & M2 Motorways, Tullylagan is one of Northern Irelands best kept secrets. Set within 30 acres of its own landscaped, private grounds, this serene Country Estate is the ideal location for a short break, business travel or the perfect backdrop to the perfect Wedding Day. The Hotel offers 15 en-suite, period style bedrooms all with the facilities one would expect from a fine country house and uninterrupted stunning country or garden views. We invite our guests to relax in the opulence of the Lobby Bar & dine in the quadruple award-wining Kitchen Restaurant where creative flavours and only the finest local ingredients are used. Alternatively stroll the grounds and retire to the 'locals favourite', Harry's Bar and Bistro, with a relaxed atmosphere and open log fire, served with fine craft ales and an extensive menu, it makes the perfect addition to your stay at Tullylagan. Whether you stay or dine at Tullylagan, you'll want to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Tullylagan Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tullylagan Country Hotel
Tullylagan Country House Hotel Cookstown, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing