We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!”
Review of Sai Wu

Sai Wu
Ranked #22 of 142 Restaurants in Carmarthen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Never fails to please. Have always enjoyed our food from Sai Wu, the food is always extremely fresh. The delivery service is excellent and we enjoy both the take away and eating at the restaurant. I'm a bit of a foodie and will only give praise where praise is due. This restaurant comes highly recommended, you will not be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WelshieWalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saiwurestaurant, Manager at Sai Wu, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Many thanks for the very nice review you posted.

It is very gratifying that it is a positive review from a self-confessed 'foodie' and all the more so from one who insists on the truth too.

Hope to see you again some time

S.K. Ma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 170 of 194 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

My grand-daughter was visiting and loves Chinese food, so we decided to eat in Carmarthen. As we had only ever had indifferent Chinese food in this town before (from a chain restaurant), we decided to check out TripAdvisor for a better alternative. The reviews from Sai Wu are good and it is an easy walk from the shoppers car park, so we decided to give it a go. We were not disappointed! The restaurant was easy to find (although you would not normally stumble across it on a tourist visit), the greeting from Soong was warm and friendly and the restaurant space is clean, inviting and comfortable. The range of food is almost overwhelming but great advice from Soong helped us make good choices for our palate. The food arrived piping hot, freshly prepared and delicious. The portions are generous (Soong did warn us we were ordering a dish too many!) without a hint of artificial colouring or 'gloppy' msg sauce. It was a feast! My grand-daughter, an expert in such things, declared it was the best chicken chow mein she had ever eaten. It was 'Amaaaaaazing' - her spelling, not mine! Not expensive either (about the same as the dreaded chain) and really superior in quality. We will definitely be eating here again. Thanks to previous Trip Advisor reviewers, we would never have found such a gem without your guidance.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank judsandcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saiwurestaurant, Manager at Sai Wu, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thanks for your very kind comments.

It was serendipitous that, who would have been, the waitress, to take your order that evening was stuck in traffic so that you were stuck with me.

Had that not have happened, I wouldn't have had the pleasure of meeting you and read the very nice personal compliments - a description that anybody who knows me would not recognize.

It was great to meet you and hope to see you again.

Hope you and your granddaughter enjoyed the film you went to afterwards.

S. K. Ma

PS Also I'd like to send my thanks to tripadvisor and all our previous reviewers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We always have a fabulous meal from Sai Wu wether it be a take away or in the restaurant. The food is always lovely and piping hot with lots of flavour. The staff are very helpful and polite. We eat here most weekends as it is the best Chinese in Carmarthen by far!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Danielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saiwurestaurant, Manager at Sai Wu, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thanks for the very nice comments you posted.

I have passed them onto the other members of staff and they are equally pleased and would like to thank you too.

It was doubly gratifying to hear that you are equally pleased with both our take-away and sit-down service; we try not to concentrate on one at the expense of the other.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Once again, thanks,

S.K. Ma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

There's so much to choose from and it's all good. Prices are low yet the standard of service is high - friendly, uncomplicated and fast. I would recommend to anyone, many thanks to Soong and his staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LindaLondon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saiwurestaurant, Manager at Sai Wu, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thanks for your very kind comments.

Presuming you are from London it is a pleasant surprise to read a comment from someone so far away. I have passed your comments on to the rest of the staff and they are also very pleased to hear you feel they are doing their jobs right.

We look forward to seeing you the next time you are down this way.

S.K.Ma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is the most reliable of Chinese restaurants
The food in the restaurant and the take away food has always been of the highest calibre
It is authentically cooked and wells presented
The menu has a great amount of variation in addition to the usual Chinese classics

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carwyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saiwurestaurant, Manager at Sai Wu, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

It was very gratifying to read your very kind comments, especially as to the variety of dishes we offer.

Without trying to make what is essentially a thank you response into an advertisement, we do try to offer something for everyone and dishes not available anywhere else, so we are doubly pleased with your very generous compliments and the fact that you have noticed our range of dishes.

Hope to see you again,

S.K. Ma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sai Wu also viewed

Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to Sai Wu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing