We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caban Y Dderwen - CLOSED

Caban Y Dderwen
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

after having lunch here many times,we tried Sunday lunch.....was very tasty.Excellent meat & stunning stuffing.Will definetly go back.
need some music though,too quiet.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fbh19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude and ignorant!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Food was delicious no problem with that. The service is another story.....atrocious! We walked in having never been there before, the staff were totally ignorant to our presence but when approached seated us. Then came back and threw the menus on the table. The attitude wad as if they didn't want our custom!! God forbid we needed a highchair. After food our plates were cleared, at no time after this were we approached. After 25mins we asked to order dessert to which we were told to wait, another 10-15 mins later she came back and we asked for the bill.....by this time we had lost the will to live!!!! Nobody attempted to give Us a bill or take payment until my husband told them we were leaving and could we please settle our bill!! Absolutely awful!! We wont ever be returning :(

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ksb34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

The food was great, went with my son for a treat, he chose this place last year as well. service was good, will return next year I suspect!.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank almasion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I agree the lemon merangue pie is the best I've ever tasted. Very tasty, reasonable food. I also recommend the chicken and mushroom pancakes. It's a very popular cafe.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Olwen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best lunch in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

This place is a delight from the tasty and well presented food to the excellent service. Can't wait to go back and have Sunday lunch as we want to try the wonderful looking homemade puddings. What a shame it is not open in the evenings! Will just have to go out for lunch more often!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caban Y Dderwen also viewed

Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 
Nantgaredig, Carmarthen
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing