We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprising”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Angel Vaults - CLOSED

The Angel Vaults
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Cafe Bar & Restaurant
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprising”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Visited for the first time in 18 months and found it much improved. Finally a restaurant in Carmarthen that gives you well thought out and interesting dishes, beautifully cooked and presented. Don't visit expecting to waddle out overfull, but do expect to get some top quality food. Decent bottle of wine too. We'll definitely be back soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank MWSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    16
    7
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Mothers Day Thanks to the Angel Vaults.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I've been here a few times before, and all I can say is that it gets better and better. For mothers day I couldn't think of a better place to take her.

We started with the Goats cheese and parsley veloutte which was perfectly seasoned and beautifully presented. I then had the welsh beef & vegetables it was served promptly and tasted amazing. My mother had the fish and she too was very impressed with the standard of the Angel Vaults.

For desert I had the set chocolate custard with the passion fruit sorbet, and she had the cheese board with pickle chutney, both fantastic!

As well as lovely service we were treated to complementary dishes in between courses!

This has to be one of my favourite places to eat, and I will recommend it to all of my friends!

Thank you for such a brilliant Mothers day.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Athina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmarthen
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The service is wasted here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Eaten here a few times in the last few years, first time was great and ever since it's been snowballing downhill, only good thing about it is the service and the decor. Afternoon tea in Carmarthen? No other finer restaurants in Carmarthen so if they did what they're trying to do better I'm sure it would be a real success, the food was a let down and the pricing was terrible for the amount of food. Dessert was ok but star anise ice cream won't work in a working town like Carmarthen, hope they do well in the future as its a beautiful building

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CarmarthenDavid_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

What a fantastic night we had last night at the Angel Vaults Restaurant. The food was outstanding, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. The restaurant has a very intimate atmosphere. The service was excellent. Who'd have thought Star Anise Ice Cream but wow was it stunning. All the little extras that came in between our courses were a lovely and tasty surprise. There is absolutely nothing to find fault with. We will definitely be going there again in the near future. Thank you all for a wonderful evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank manwithnohands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent presentation and tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had a fab evening meal. Can't believe we have such wonderful restaurant in Carmarthen. it really does deserve every success. Every mouthful was full of flavor. Everyone should support this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sian2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Angel Vaults also viewed

Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing