We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive ruins of a grand castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kidwelly Castle

Kidwelly Castle
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Carmarthen
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Impressive ruins of a grand castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Visited today, very quiet so no crowds to get in your way!. Was very impressed by the size and what remains of a once imposing fortress, plenty of rooms to explore and you could climb up to the top of one of the towers where there are great views to see. There were notice boards around the castle explaining what each part was and when it was built so you get a real sense of history and can imagine how the rooms used to look. Cheap admission price too - well worth a visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlacksheepWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    130
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The only reason to visit this part of Wales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

A fantastically preserved Norman Castle, this really is the only reason anyone from anywhere should visit Kidwelly because there is nothing else to see. Just as well the Castle is brilliant.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fascinating and Evocative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited on a rather wet and cold day, but loved this charming castle. It is so easy to get a sense of its history and we loved exploring the rooms and walls. The on site shop was sweet and we treated ourselves to a couple of souvenirs. It only takes an hour or so to visit, but well worth popping by if you are interested in such places, charming.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank scoutstig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumble, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“afternoon out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

lovely views from all round this lovely old castle.. ideal for a romantic walk or if yr a keen photgrapher. this setting is just lovely. also there are some lovely village pubs for you to have lunch or dinner and a walk along the lovely coast.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maindstone
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A "Must See"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a delight! We visited Kidwelly Castle just last week and found it a fantastic place to visit. We have two children one teenager and one a bit younger and both found it thoroughly engaging.

You can go into the dungeons and up onto the battlements and the towers etc. It was very reasonably priced too, only about £15 for a family of four.

Only one word of caution. We visited in heavy rain and many of the steep steps and walkways were very slippery, but we were warned by the shop staff to watch out for this before we started out.

If you are in the area this is a “must see”!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MLoftMaindstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kidwelly Castle also viewed

Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 
Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to Kidwelly Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing