We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never go anywhere else!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carmarthen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caeiago Riding Centre
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We,, I have just come back from my 'must-be-10th-at-least' trip to Cae Iago and as usual there was no disappointment to be had! This beautiful, welcoming farmhouse is fully equipped with Wi-Fi, tv (sky) if required (though there is never a need!), comfortable beds with thick duvets (extra blankets available any time), large rooms with plenty of storage, clean and tidy en-suites, a large and very comfortable lounge - 'to be treated as you would your own' (I am often found lounging about on one of the comfy sofas!!). Last, but certainly not least, is the dining room with room for at least 14. This room is my favourite as it is where Lesley serves up her feasts for her guests delight! The food is A1 at Cae Iago, and requests can be made and are usually met! Les' roast potatoes are legendary, along with her roast lamb, beef pie, bread and butter pud (my personal favourite) and lemon meringue pie to name but a few! Delicious!
Then there are the horses! Whatever your riding ability (and you must be able to ride a little) there will be a well-matched horse found for you. Les and Roddy are very good at their job and always match appropriately. You will fall in love with your loyal steed for the day/week, and can change every day if you fancy it! The safety is 100% and you can groom and tack up your horse if you wish. The surrounding countryside is magnificent and there are some stunning views on wonderful rides! I love it so much I count Les and Roddy as friends and cannot wait to return! Try it and you will never go anywhere else :0)

Room Tip: Rooms are chosen for you but Les will change you if you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank natlane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 177 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

Had my second holiday for the year at Cae Iago in September having been going there regularly now for about 8 / 9 years and it is SIMPLY THE BEST. No need to go with anyone as you meet lovely like minded guests when you are there who turn into friends. I would highly recommend to everyone who likes good food, riding on wonderful horses and a welcome which is second to none to make this their No 1 riding holiday destination. Am already looking forward to returning in 2014. Barbara (Scotland)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Have recently returned from my second visit to Caeiago. It is a lovely experience: gorgeous horses to suit all abilities, a wonderful team who provide a really welcoming, friendly service, extremely comfortable accommodation and delicious food, all set in beautiful surroundings. Just nothing to complain of at all!!
Jan (Cheshire)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a truly magical place! Charlie is a charming gentleman who knows how to get the best out of a nervous rider who had not ridden for ten years. No pressure just gentle persuasion that I could actually do it. He is a delightful chap and a truly excellent horseman. I enjoyed his company no end. Lesley provides excellent meals. The food is plentiful and is all freshly cooked. The cakes, scones etc provided on the return were delicious and hit the spot! Roddy provides one with endless hoots of laughter and is also an excellent and knowledgeable horseman. The yard is always spotless. The tack is checked regularly and when the saddler discovers even a minor problem it is removed and repaired. All the horses have regular veterinary check-ups. Safety is paramount. They love their horses and really look after them. There are some 30 - 35 of them including young stock not yet broken. Each rider is matched to a suitable horse and on the rides no-one is over-faced. The rides are beautiful and the scenery is glorious even in the rain. There was some of that but no-one seems to mind getting wet as the other riders are always charming and cheerful. I could go on and on. It was my first time there but all the others seemed to have been going there for years. Needless to say I am hooked and have already booked my next stay in 2014. I must not forget the lovely Carol who took one or two of the rides as well as Charlotte who does the rooms. Spotless. The most brilliant of places in all respects.

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar. The location is quiet as it is at the end of a small, rural village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Serenade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The horses are fit and willing but are so well behaved and trustworthy. There are horses to suit every ability. On the rides, the escort checks everyone is OK all the time. The Team look after you from the minute you arrive until you reluctantly have to leave. It's such a wrench to leave, when you have had a blissful horsey week away from your usual life. If you go on your own you are bound to make new friends. This was my sixth visit, just wish I'd found Cae Iago many years before.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatureRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Having had our first ever visit to Cae Iago we are hooked! It's a place you'll never want to leave as the welcome is so warm, the horses are so lovely, the food is so tasty and the scenery is breath-taking, and that's from someone who lives only an hour away and is used to the green green grass of home.

We hoped to put our hours of lessons in the school at home into practise when we arrived. When we left we had experienced our first even canter, in the most amazing setting, with fantastic instruction, from the friendliest of guides. I have never laughed so much on horseback. Neither have I ridden for so long and never wanted it to end.

You just have to give it a go. If not for the riding, then for Leslie's loving cooking which will keep your batteries charged all day. We can't wait to go back. Thanks for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: You'll have to ask if you want a double, but then a good nights sleep is all you'll want aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Mum and I have been going to Cae Iago with a friend for around 10 years and absolutely love it. Everything is so wonderful there and we wouldn't consider going anywhere else. Lesley, Roddy, Charlie, Carol and Maria work so hard to ensure that all of their guests have a brilliant, stress-free holiday and they are all really lovely, friendly people. The horses are forward going but safe and sensible and each one has bags of character. The rides have spectacular views and go through forestry, by a lake, over hills and through pretty streams and fords. One of the rides (my favourite) includes a lunchtime pub visit where you can enjoy some chips and a drink before riding back in the afternoon. The food is all home-cooked and delicious and there is always loads more available than you can eat. For breakfast there are cereals, toast, juice, tea, coffee and a full English breakfast on offer. I highly recommend getting up to groom your horsey pal before breakfast to work up a bit of an appetite first. The bedrooms are pretty, cottage style rooms with comfy beds and en-suite shower rooms so there is no concern over getting a good night's sleep. If you are considering going on a horse riding holiday, this really is the place to go. It is worth every penny and I can guarantee that once you go, you'll be hooked!

Nicky Hunter

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmarthen hotels
15.4 mi away
Glangwili Mansion
Glangwili Mansion
#1 of 1 in Llanllawddog
176 reviews
19 mi away
Hollybrook Country Inn
Hollybrook Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Bronwydd
111 reviews
21.6 mi away
Baytree Cottage B&B
Baytree Cottage B&B
#1 of 2 in Cwmffrwd
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
The Old Dairy B&B
The Old Dairy B&B
#1 of 2 in Llandyfaelog
95 reviews
21.5 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
478 reviews
21.7 mi away
The Drovers Arms Hotel
The Drovers Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Carmarthen
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caeiago Riding Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caeiago Riding Centre

Address: Ffarmers, Carmarthen SA19 8LZ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Carmarthen
Hotel Class:4 star — Caeiago Riding Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guided adult horse riding holidays, horse riding weekends, mid-week breaks and week long holidays on the edge of the beautiful Cambrian Mountains in Wales, UK ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caeiago Riding Centre Wales/Carmarthen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing