We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WW2 weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gwili Railway

Gwili Railway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Take a step back in time at the Gwili Steam Railway, a delightful preserved railway just outside Carmarthen in West Wales. Running steam train services every day of local school holidays and selected days throughout the remainder of the year, this is the perfect trip for all ages to enjoy. Experience a typical country branch line from the 1950s with a stop off at Llwyfan Cerrig Station in a beautiful spot alongside the River Gwili.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Scunthorpe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“WW2 weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

We visited the Gwili Hertiage railway for the second time on the 1st of June 2014 a lot of work has been carried out since our first visit in 2012 it only gets better cannot wait for the next extension of the Railway into Carmarthen. It was the World War two weekend and we enjoyed ourselves wish we had known in advance and we could have been in our Mr & Mrs Mainwaring Costumes

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis Arthur J... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona E, Front Office Manager at Gwili Railway, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor and for giving us such a great score. As a volunteer run attraction, its by people leaving us reviews that we know what is working well and its great to see that you had a grand time.

We have been really busy this year working on the extension to Abergwili Junction. Work was delayed as we had to take the newly laid track up for work to be carried out on one of the bridges but the track bed has been relaid and has been tampered down so its full steam ahead to re lay the rails and carry out all the other work that needs to be done as its not just about laying a track. We hope to have the formal opening early 2015.

We have been very busy with the Strawberry Cream Teas which have been very popular this year. So popular that we are extending the Thursday cream tea trains right up until the end of October.

We are also well on the way getting ready for the Santa's Magical Steamings which are running every weekend in December and everyday in the week leading up to Christmas Eve. We have already taken bookings for the December trains so book early to avoid disappointment.

We hope to see you again very soon and thanks again.

Fiona
(Volunteer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    106
    22
    10
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely low key day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Took my grandson here (aged 3). First pleasant surprise was a lovely wooden railway for him to play with in the tea rooms. He enjoyed the steam trains - the staff were really pleasant and helpful. There was a miniature railway at the turnabout point, which was free and a lovely picnic area. Everyone went out of their way to be as helpful as possible. My grandson had a great day - I could really recommend this to anyone.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank marion_bevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona E, Front Office Manager at Gwili Railway, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review after your visit and for giving us such a great review score.

It is rewarding for the volunteers to receive praise for all their efforts. We all work very hard to make our visitors feel welcome and positive feedback is such a morale boost.

We are extending the Strawberry Cream Teas which run on a Thursday until the end of October so we are still busy and are now getting ready for the Santa's Magical Steamings which run at the weekends throughout December except for the week leading up to Christmas when we run every day. Bookings have already started coming in so we recommend that you book early.

Thanks again for the review and hope to see you again soon.

Fiona
(Volunteer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nailsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gwili Heritage Railway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

What a treasure this is! Set in verdant Carmarthenshire.
Wonderful Steam train rides ,on trains/ carriages that have been lovingly restored by volunteers.
Amazing welcome for every one, great atmosphere. Spotless facilities. Nothing to dislike.
Thank you one and all!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nailseaoldgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona E, Front Office Manager at Gwili Railway, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor and we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

We have had a busy summer season and the Strawberry Cream Teas have now been extended until the end of October.
We are now starting to get ready for the Santa Magical Steamings so we are still very busy.

Thanks again for leaving us such a great review rating and hope to see you again soon.

Fiona
(Volunteer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“40s day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We too went on the 40s day- lots to do, good length train ride, inexpensive on board refreshments. Friendly volunteers. Stopover half way back had lots to see, including miniature railway, fascinating for a 2 year old.
Adults liked it too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ethelman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona E, Front Office Manager at Gwili Railway, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Trip Advisor and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit.

We try very hard to make your visit good value for money and we are always working to improve the visitor experience, which is why reviews are so important to us.

We are coming to the end of a busy summer season although we are still running on selected days throughout the week and run our very popular Strawberry Cream Teas on a Thursday until the end of October, we are busy getting ready for Santa's Magical Steamings. Although this is an extremely busy time of the year, I think it is one of the most popular with the volunteers. It is lovely to play a positive part of the holiday season. We have already started taking bookings so if you plan on visiting us in December, please book early.

Thanks again for the review.

Fiona
(Volunteer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Good, Enjoyable Day Out!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We visited the Gwili steam railway during a 1940s themed weekend. I wasn’t expecting much from the day out, but was pleasantly surprised!

Many volunteers attended the day in period costume and even some of the passenger had turned up in period dress, which really added to the feel of the day.

The train journey, whilst not long, was enjoyable. It was nice to sit in the old style compartmental cartridges. On the return stop a refreshment stand and some 1940s themed stalls had been setup along with a couple of exhibitions depicting life during the war.

For those with the Engineering Bug, there was plenty of fire boxes and boiler internals to stick your head in and cure your cravings.

I was very impressed with what the Gwili steam rail way had achieved bearing in mind that most of the people working there are volunteers. All of the volunteers I spoke to were very enthusiastic, courteous, professional and passionate about what they were doing.

I was pleased to hear the railway is extending shortly to incorporate a stop in Carmarthen.

Well done to all, keep up the good work!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BucketChemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona E, Front Office Manager at Gwili Railway, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for providing a review of the Gwili on Trip Advisor. We really do appreciate you taking the time out to let us know that you enjoyed yourself.

The 1940's weekend is an annual event here at the Gwili but this year, with it being a special anniversary of the First World War, the event took on new meaning. I know that the whole weekend was enjoyed by everyone including the volunteers. It is due to run again next year, so we hope it will continue to be a special event.

The extension has been delayed somewhat and as yet an opening date has not been agreed. We do hope that the whole extension will be formally opened early next year.

We have enjoyed a busy summer season and have been able to extend our Strawberry Cream Teas until the end of October. We are then in the run up to Santa's Magical Steamings, another very busy but enjoyable time of the year.

Please keep an eye on the website for other special events as we are hoping to run a few new events throughout the year.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review and we all hope to see you and your family again soon.

Fiona
(Volunteer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gwili Railway also viewed

Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to Gwili Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing