We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retreat.”

Rainbow Cottage Holidays
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carmarthen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainbow Cottage Holidays
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Was lovely to get away from it all and this was a bit like stepping back in time, though all the mod cons were there.
Cottage was fine though you have to watch your head in places. Warm and cosy with great log burner.
Lovely but quirky surroundings. Set on Welsh hillside; in isolation but easy access to the many benefits that West Wales can offer. (Beaches, Horse racing, Golf, Walking, Great places to eat and drink. even theme parks for those that like that sort of thing.)
Take note of how to get there and concentrate when driving the last half mile down the lane through the field. (Rabbits/ Sheep and rough road) Felt very welcome and enjoyed the hands off approach of the hosts, who let you get on with it but there if you need them.
Only one who intruded was Casper the cat who must get fed by various guests, far more than is good for him.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank trapper100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
There are newer reviews for Rainbow Cottage Holidays
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2011

After a 7 hour motorbike ride it was great to get in the hot tub. Cottage grounds looked like a tip!(from the back of the cottage)
The front of the cottage views were fab.
The cottage was ok but in need of a make over I.e kitchin worktop was cracked around the hob,sink seal had shrunk back,toliet bowl was also cracked.
Apart from that we had a nice stay and relax which is what we wanted.
Had great neighbours next door to us.
Would we go back? No

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickyandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

The good - Lovely location, handy for Carmarthen/Tenby etc, nice views over rolling hills, peace and quiet, Hot tub
The Bad - Accomodation was filthy. The living room, kitchen and sleeping area were thick with dust/dirt/grime, my first job upon arrival (prior to unpacking) was to hoover the living
room rug - not the best way to unwind after a 4 hr drive. Both the cot and cot matress provided were heavilly stained/soiled, I just thank God we took our own cot linen. But by far and away the 'piece de resistance' was the bedding on the double bed. It reeked of body odour, and if that wasn't enough, the smell was supplemented by an assortment of hair/fluff/dirt on the 'clean' sheets. Despite all this, I guess a hearty appology on the part of the host along with some swift correcting action would have gone a long way to alleviate extremely poor first impressions. Sadly, Linda did not share our view on the bedding, informing us that 'no-body else had complained'. After some dialogue Linda offered to wash the bedding and return it that evening, which she duly did.
--Electrical installation was dangerous, loose mains sockets in walls, exposed mains wiring joints covered with insulation tape.
--Large nails sticking up out of the wooden mezzanine floor
--Our neighbours had to cut back the thicket outside in order to safely access the hot tub

Summary

A shoddy renovation of a lovey old building, made worse by a general lack of maintenance / cleaning of the cottages and surrounding area. We were looking for a stress free break, sadly the first day was anything but. Deffinately not child friendly. Would not recommend to a friend

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davey_boy1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Beautiful, there's everything you need there and more, and a great local pub who does good homemade food.
In fact there's no point me telling you how wonderful it is... just go and find out for yourselves!

p.s. wish I was there now!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruffyapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

we went Back here a second time which is something we dont normally do !! but the location, views, welcome , cottage and the hot tub are like Magnets to us we just cannot find anywhere as nice as this Little Wonderland tucked away in Camarthan It really is a must for Everybody ...With a beautiful little log burner inside and a perfect hot tub outside
There really is no where as perfect as this place ..I wish I could bottle it up and take it home with me!! the Peacocks and Pea hens wandering around at your feel and waiting at the door for perhaps some bread and the little ducks wandering around the back yard , and of course our newly adopted little Cat Casper is always there to give you a great welcome,, I could go on and on about the positives of holidaying here, but time is limited at the moment..But I Highly recommend this place to the world.. Thank you once again guys for sharing your wonderful Gem with us ..we will be back xxxx

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livi196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

This place is highly recommended, its a hidden little Gem tucked away in the middle of no where with fantastic views, beautiful location and a real old country cottage with a lovely log burning fire the cottage is fully equipped with everything from a spoon to a hair dryer, lovely clean comfortable bed BEAUTIFUL HOT TUB so no matter what the weather is like you will always enjoy tour stay here, we were in the hot tub while it was snowing what a lovely experience we were lovely and warm and the beautiful views arouns us made it better than perfect, we were made to feel very welcome by our host Jeremy who made sure we had a constant supply of nice chopped logs for the fire and the wonderful peacock that floated around us was just magical,they were out side the cottage door every morning waiting for some Bread,this cottage is located about 6 mile away from Camarthen where there is loads of shops to but your food from its a great shopping town,i cant praise this location enough we will be back again without a shadow of a doubt for another week and are so looking forward to it, i wont forget to bring my Wellies this time. 100% perfect we feel refreshed and ready to get back to our jobs and lives again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livi196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmarthen hotels
0.0 mi away
Glangwili Mansion
Glangwili Mansion
#1 of 1 in Llanllawddog
174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hollybrook Country Inn
Hollybrook Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Bronwydd
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Dairy B&B
The Old Dairy B&B
#1 of 2 in Llandyfaelog
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
#3 of 7 in Carmarthen
433 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Drovers Arms Hotel
The Drovers Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Carmarthen
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Cottage Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Cottage Holidays

Address: Whitemill, Carmarthen, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Carmarthen
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningviewfarmhouse located in rural idyll just 8 miles from the charming market town of Carmarthen in West Wales.. 5 bedrooms, can accommodate up to 14 in comfort.. features include unrivalled far reaching unspoilt countryside views, private hot tub, super kingside beds, Logburner, free wifi .. to name but a few. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rainbow Cottage Holidays Wales/Carmarthen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing