We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and comfortable.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Falcon Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Carmarthen
Certificate of Excellence
Luton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

First impression is that the restaurant and lounge area are very inviting and comfortable.
The rooms I used (I have been on two occasions) have been very clean, with comfortable beds, although the decor and furnishings could do with a bit of updating. Additionally the windows in the rooms closely overlooked other walls, making the room rather gloomy.
The staff are very attentive and friendly and I was made to feel welcome. The breakfasts and evening meals are also good, but the menu doesn't seem to change.
However, the fact that I opted to return for a second visit is testimony to my overall satisfaction.

Room Tip: Ask for one with that looks out from the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paxton_warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    48
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
29
41
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Room was not as nice as I expected after seeing the pleasant ground floor lounge areas when I first came in. Had a small room in need of fresh paint on the walls. Not much daylight, due to the way the room was laid out. No door between the shower/toilet and bedroom. This made the room feel quite chilly. There was an electric heater, but could have done with a spare blanket as I was cold in the night. Also the smoke detector positioned just above the bed had two small flashing red lights on it, which disturbed me quite a bit once the room was in darkness.

Staff and breakfast both very good. Nice hot shower. Convenient location, 10 mins walk from train station, and handy for all shops etc in the town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

My reservation was booked by a friend following our visit for a funeral. In comparison I have stayed in much better for the price but am not familiar with the area so this could be the standard. Room was ok not overly spacious but clean although having lost my glasses and pulled back the bed back to find dust. We ate in the restaurant not a great choice of menu however the food was good and the waitress who was also the receptionist had a very pleasantt manner. I would stay again but would ensure that I could have a preference of rooms. No 12 was reasonably sized . My friend asked for a room change and the receptionist was very accommodating .

Room Tip: Ask what size the rooms are to suit your expectations
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryH87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here in July 2012 and chose a perfect week weather wise as it was boiling hot. The hotel was in a good location, clean enough and staff were friendly. The room was a little on the small size, but seeing as we were only using the room as a base it wasn't too uncomfortable. The rooms were cleaned and bed linen changed daily, however we did have to ask for some more of the essential items, as the room service staff hadn't noticed that these had run out. Just a minor thing really. The restaurant food was absolutely stunning. We couldn't understand why more people weren't eating in the hotel restaurant. Unfortunately whilst there the power went out twice in the same day, but this seemed to be across the whole town and not just limited to the hotel. We would have preferred the hotel to have a car park, rather than using the public car park nearby, again another minor detail. Overall we had a pleasant stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank huni_beeDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

After seeing the pics of rooms in the hotel we were looking forward to our stay. when we arrived we were shown a room no bigger than a prison cell, the window was shoulder high, lovely views of roof tops. We were then told that the hotel was closing for the afternoon and evening, no food or bar available. We told the waitress (who was very helpful) that we did not want to stay there and wanted our money back.
The rest of the hotel was homely and very nice, and the food was excelent!!! we were the last to be served a meal before the hotel closed (1450 hrs) we left with a full refund. BEWARE OF WHAT YOU THINK YOU ARE GETTING FOR YOUR MONEY!!!

Room Tip: Make sure of the type of room you are paying for before you close the deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank les p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

We were looking for something a little special and thought we might have found it in the Falcon Hotel's restaurant.

It's a cosy little restaurant where you can sit down in the lounge, order a drink and read the menu. After your order is taken the waitress calls you through to your table when the starters are ready. Perfect.

Sadly the food doesn't live up to these standards. My starter of ham hock terrine was bland and watery tasting. Perhaps it'd been frozen? No great shame but the under-seasoning is unforgivable for a dish that should struggle to stay under-seasoned normally. My partner's goat's cheese salad was good though.

When the main courses arrived my steak was that bizarre combination of over-cooked and tepid. I might have let either of these things go normally, but not both together. It was sent back and re-cooked perfectly the 2nd time although the chef had forgotten to exchange chips for mash which the waitress had said was 'no problem at all' when I ordered. I didn't bother to complain as my partner had already almost finished her main course by this point and the side dish of veg for 2 which had been brought originally was now cold.

We didn't have dessert as we were both pretty full and we decided a pint at our hotel was the best option.

Close to £60 for 2 courses is fine if the food matches up and you get what you order first time around. We didn't. That's why 'Value' gets a 2.

One other small gripe was the waitress asking how much tip I'd like to put on my card after I had asked if the staff would receive it all if I did so (I know some restaurateurs take a percentage of card tips). It would have been more polite to allow me key in the tip myself.

However she coped amicably as she was in the restaurant all by herself, doing everything from seating people in the lounge, running the bar, taking orders and serving food. One other member of staff would probably have helped out tremendously while the restaurant was two-thirds full.
Note to the owner: skimp on staffing levels, skimp on quality.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrLeakyBrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cymru
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

This is a great little hotel, in a great location.
The restaurant is a must visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PantBryn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmarthen
0.3 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
#3 of 7 in Carmarthen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rose and Crown Hotel
Rose and Crown Hotel
#4 of 7 in Carmarthen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boar's Head Hotel
Boar's Head Hotel
#6 of 7 in Carmarthen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Drovers Arms Hotel
The Drovers Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Carmarthen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Lammas Street | Carmarthen, Carmarthen SA31 3AP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Carmarthen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Falcon Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Carmarthen, the historical Falcon Hotel has been the hotel of choice for visitors to this bustling market town for generations. For the past 50 years the hotel has been run by the Exton family. With 16 beautiful en-suite bedrooms, a talented team of chefs creating delicious dining, and impressive customer service, it is easy to see to why guests keep coming back time and again to this proud independent hotel. Here you can relax and take advantage of that good old fashioned hospitality that is so difficult to find these days. From the moment you enter you are made to feel at home and nothing is too much trouble for the friendly and attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Falcon Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon Hotel And Restaurant Wales/Carmarthen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing