We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sue's Birthday Lunch”
Review of Y Polyn

Y Polyn
Ranked #2 of 133 Restaurants in Carmarthen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $44
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Award winning pub/restaurant featuring Carmarthenshire's finest produce.
Haverfordwest
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sue's Birthday Lunch”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Yet another fantastic experience at our favourite restaurant despite our dog Stella's best efforts to distract us but thank you to the lovely couple who came inside to find us and let us know the problem!! However the meal and service as usual was superb, my starter of mackerel and pembrokeshire new potatoes i found to be superb followed by duck confit and then pannacotta!! Paul enjoyed his meal so much he didnt talk to me throughout the meal - miracle in itself. Well done guys yet again you proved why we return again and again and look forward to seeing you on 8th September for a family meal xxx

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suziered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    655
    131
    46
    22
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Carmarthen by far !”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

First visit on a Saturday evening after recommendation, staff very friendly and attentive, excellent menu choice, meals very tasty and beautifully presented.
Will definitely be returning!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely local food”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We managed to get a late cancellation and were very lucky as I understand this place is usually booked well in advance. I can understand why. The place is relaxed and unpretentious, the service swift and attentive. The menu was varied and full of local produce with the meals well presented and beautifully cooked. I had the lamb while my wife had the pork belly. Both were impeccable and amongst the very best meals we had enjoyed. At £32 per head for three courses that represents outstanding value for money.

The only slight drawback was that we were sat at a tiny table in the bar area rather than in the restaurant itself but, given the ridiculous quality on offer for the money, if it's that or nothing I'll take it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food – bring your appetite!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were staying at a nearby B&B and they recommended this place – we’re glad they did!

The food was outstanding and the atmosphere relaxed. A perfect start to our stay in the area. Thank you!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellerdeb_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A special place”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Y Polyn is an oasis in a gastronomic desert. It serves great bistro style food simply and without pretension. The menu offers the best of local produce - such as Carmarthenshire hams, Saltmarsh lamb, Welsh black beef , local fish - usually a great disappointment also well represented. Many little touches impress - the bread brought with local salted butter is simply stunning in quality and mopped up a deliciously rich fish soup ( perhaps slightly too salty ). My fellow diners enjoyed a light beetroot salad and Carmarthenshire ham ( easily a match for Iberico or Serrano) served with grated celeriac. Mains of Welsh black ribeye with cubes of soft gelatinous oxtail , hake and local line caught bass continued the excellence. Desserts are unctuous - both grown up and comforting - chocolate torte with sour black cherries and chantilly cream , creme brûlée all polished off leaving us in need of a lie down. Cask beers , great wines served by the glass at reasonable prices , free bottle water all add to the impression of fantastic value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beerfeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Y Polyn also viewed

Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to Y Polyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing