We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly ok valentines dinner” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angel Inn and Capel Bach Bistro

Angel Inn and Capel Bach Bistro
Ranked #6 of 25 Restaurants in Llandeilo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Angel is a pub and restaurant situated in the picturesque Carmarthenshire town of Llandeilo. Enjoy the ambience in our cosy bar or sample the culinary delights in The Capel Bach Bistro restaurant. Upstairs is our lavishly decorated Yr Eglwys function room. Open for lunch and dinner, Monday - Saturday.On our website you'll find details about us, all our latest menus and any special events we have planned for the near future.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
545 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Perfectly ok valentines dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We went for dinner, good selection on menu with plenty of interesting options, service good and cosy atmosphere, the food though could have been better cooked but perfectly ok dinner. We went for valentines night and thought the heavenly ( very nice chocolate shop next door ) chocolate hearts were a nice touch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony and Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    94
    32
    20
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Where do I start? Our party of five arrived with high expectations. Unfortunatley these were soon dashed once the food started to arrive. The starters were cold (garlic mushrooms). The mains were terrible - the rump steak was inedible as it was composed of mainly gristle and fat. The chicken in garlic sauce was sitting in a pool of watery, oily liquid, as were the undercooked chips. The scampi was overcooked to the point of being burnt. The side orders of vegetables were tasteless, watery and unappealing. Nobody bothered to ask us how our meal was. We didn't bother with desert! We were glad to be leaving. All in all a really poor performance. Nice surroundings though.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MadJack2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere and fab chips!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

A welcoming local hostelry and very good food. The chips are wonderful. Sadly can't say the same about the whitebait which was tasteless and could have been 'breaded anything'. The good selection of beers and ciders made up for this though!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SarahB1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bancffosfelen
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Been here on a number of ocassions for lunch, always found a warm welcome. Staff friendly and helpful. Menu always varied, and food is of a good standard. Sweet choice is also very good always have a problem trying to decide. Will always go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Billgorwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Impromptu meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

On the day of the first proper winter snow, we decided to go out for an end of week glass. Town and the Angel was very quiet just a few hardy souls out. We decided to have a meal. The menu offered plenty of choice and value. 3 rump steaks and some slow cooked beef later, our sons went for pudding. Meal was very good freshly cooked and delicious. Good value and an easy casual dinning experience. Definitely worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank osianrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angel Inn and Capel Bach Bistro also viewed

Llandeilo, Carmarthenshire
Llandeilo, Carmarthenshire
 
Llandeilo, Carmarthenshire
Llandeilo, Carmarthenshire
 
Llandeilo, Carmarthenshire
Llandeilo, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to Angel Inn and Capel Bach Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing