We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of modern luxury in the middle of glorious countryside”
Review of The Plough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Plough Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2010

We stayed for two nights at the Plough as part of our trip to The UK. When we booked we weren't sure what to expect but it was in the area we wanted so we went ahead - we were thrilled when we opened the door to our spacious room( only a basic room, I think) - WOW - huge bed, lounge area, beautiful bathroom - huge fluffy towels and really nice toiletries - and then added to this was a view to die for - straight out our window - gorgeous green pastures as far as the eye could see! The staff were lovely, also. Breakfast served in a nice little conservatory - cold first - then order anything from a menu - had full Welsh - including lavabread & cockels - good to try local food when you are travelling.
We also ate dinner at the restaurant which was very nice - especially the two course special on the Sunday night. The position is also good as it is set in such an idyllic surrounding and yet only a few minutes from the gorgeous village of Llandeilo.
Overall we loved our time at The Plough and would definitely go again if ever we are in that beautiful part or the UK .

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holiday-lover27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

807 - 813 of 843 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2010

Hadn't stayed at the Plough for 7 years and knew it had changed hands a few times. We were releived to find standard of service and rooms were of a very high standard. Woke up to a nice view of the Towy valley and then had a nice breakfast. The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otleylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

We loved our weekend break here, the staff were all so helpful and accommodating nothing was too much trouble for them. We took advantage of the gym, the hot tub and the sauna and had them all to ourselves both times we used the facilities. Evening meal was lovely and they brought the dessert up to the lounge for us, Sunday lunch also superb. Rooms modern and very comfortable and spotless. And great to see the red kites flying over. Would recommend highly we had a fabulous time, thanks to all the staff who made our trip really memorable, you are a credit to the place!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valleysviz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

What a great place to stay , we stayed in the downstairs disabled room and our neighbours stayed in another downstairs room. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were treated with care and courtesy. The rooms are beautiful with wonderful views and the food is to die for , I cant remember having better quality food anywhere else and we are all real foodies. The staff are so helpful and friendly and made our stay really special . will definately be coming back and recommending to all our friends .
Thank you all for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GogetterNewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was excellent. Accommodation modern and clean. Couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casper099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2010

My Wife and I visited the Plough Inn for an Evening Meal and overnight stay 0n 11th February 2010. We visit for meals on a regular basis but this was a anniversary celebration. The Plough just gets better and better it is an establishment that is consistantly good the Food and service is of an extremely high Standard and can best be described as excellent Andrew and his Team have worked hard to create the right ambience. The meals are as good as anywhere I have eaten in the world and I have travelled fairly extensivly.
The accomodation has now all been upgraded and is first class, decorated and kept by the hotel team in excellent condition. This is the place to stay when visiting this part of Wales and at a price that will surprise you.
We wish Andrew and his staff all the best for the future and thank them for a wonderful stay.

Best wishes Carole and Ian Turner

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerseyGirl17Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

I have stayed at the Plough on more than 20 occasions in the past 12 months. As part of my work delivering training across the UK, I'd say the Plough is my number 1 destination. The staff are extremely helpful, the food is terrific, the rooms are excellent, and the facilities are superb! It is great value for money, too. I've used the Plough as a conference venue and I have been so well looked after. I'd recommend the Plough unreservedly for leisure or business stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee123Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandeilo
1.1 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
480 reviews
1.1 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
95 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
887 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lampeter
736 reviews
22.4 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Address: Rhosmaen, Llandeilo SA19 6NP, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandeilo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Price Range: $108 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming four star boutique hotel and award winning restaurant set in the beautiful Towy Valley at the edge of the Brecon Beacons. Surrounded by castles and country houses with the National Botanical Garden of Wales and Aberglasney House only minutes away. Enjoy beautiful views from all 23 of our well appointed en suite rooms equipped with everything you would expect for your stay - queen sized beds, free wifi, sofas and disabled facilities - all impeccably serviced with our attention to detail. Why not take advantage of our gym and sauna to unwind and relax during your stay! At the Plough you will be greeted with a traditional Welsh welcome, good food from our varied menu in our award winning restaurant, including gluten free, with excellent wines that can be enjoyed in a warm and relaxed atmosphere served to you with that all important personal touch. Afternoon tea is also available, includes a selection of scones, cakes and sandwiches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Llandeilo
Plough Hotel Llandeilo
The Plough Inn Llandeilo, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing