We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place _ you have to go there!”
Review of The Plough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Plough Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Certificate of Excellence
Renwick, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic place _ you have to go there!”
Reviewed December 20, 2009

The Plough at Rhosmaen is a wonderful find. We came across it one day whilst on our way to Pembrokeshire and we popped in for a spot of lunch and we were so impressed we vowed to go back but this time stay the night. Boy are we glad we did. The hotel overall is very tasteful, clean and welcoming. All of the staff, (and I do mean all) were incredibly friendly and welcoming. Particular mention to Pat the receptionist (I think her name is Pat - apologies if I have got it wrong!) who was a joy - it is so important to have a friendly greeting when you first set foot inside a hotel and she had it all but in a totally relaxed and unassuming way and also to the lady who was in charge at breakfast -whose name escapes me - she too was a dream and so friendly. Our room was decorated to the highest standard with the most comfortable bed and the decor (chosen by the owner) was daring but simply modern and classy. Bathroom was beautifully spacious with super spa bath and a separate walk in shower. Attention to detail was excellent and I am VERY fussy!! The next thing to impress us was the food - it was excellent. The quality and the presentation was superb despite the fact that there was a private Christmas party going on at the same time in the larger room. the choices were good and not too expensive - joy of joys, vegetables were not an expensive extra which happens in many places. The waitresses, waiters and bar staff were cheerful and discharged their duties very professionally despite being very busy.
We spoke at length to Andrew Roberts who is the owner and is responsible for the way The Plough looks, behaves and delivers. By his own admission he runs a tight ship and had very high standards - Andrew -as far as we are concerned, you have succeeded - you have a first class place at the Plough and your staff do you proud. It was an absolute delight and privelege to stay with you. Many thanks. We will be back!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pammy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    135
    30
    16
    5
See reviews for
158
387
16
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Have stayed @ The Plough many times over the past 3 years, have always found the staff to be very friendly & helpful & they do remember you (they almost make you feel part part of their "family"). Many improvements in furnishing, decor & layout over this period which is still ongoing. They do seem to believe in investing in their clients. Food excellent, service excellent, all in all a very pleasant experience. Can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustMeinKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Had a wonderful stay. Staff were very attentive. Room very spacious and well equiped. Meals much enjoyed and good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monteDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

We stayed here for two nights 17/18th November whilst attending a family wedding. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble. The receptionist happily arranged a taxi to take us to the wedding the following day. The room was spoltless and so so comfortable the bed was very large and the room was decorated to a very high standard as was the whole hotel. On the first evening we ate off the bar menu and the food was extremely good and I think its was £12.50 for 2 courses, the selection was varied. On our first morning we used the sauna and hot tub. Again the gym/sauna ect was very clean and there were plenty of towels available. On both mornings the breakfast was good. The selection offered for breakfast was also very varied. The lady that worked on reception (I really wished I had made a note of her name) was so helpful and professional I really hope her employer know what an asset they have in her. Some roads that we were going to travel home on were closed due to flooding. She kindly searched the internet to find updated information about which roads would be shut and she really seemed to care. We would not hesitate to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

From our arrival all staff were proffessional, helpful and friendly and these characteristics were maintained throughout our stay at The Plough. Our room was beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and with amenities above and beyond expectations - also a beautiful view from our room at the rear of the hotel. The bed was SO comfortable that upon checkout we asked for the manufacturer - we will purchase one! For both the evening meal and breakfast the menu choice was varied - nice to also see availability of local Welsh cuisine. We will have to return to sample more of the menu - the food was delicious, presentation inspired and the service from all waiting staff was faultless, despite the restaurant being full.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gairnamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wem
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Having made many leisure trips over the years with our friends we have to say that the Plough is the best Inn we have visited, congratulations to all concerned with the running of the Plough. Food and accommodation were execellent and the staff exceedingly approachable. My wife has MS and found the Inn fine for accessability so no problems for the disabled guest. All in all a fine place to stay. Gerry Bradbury. Wem

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerrybwem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2009

An oasis in this part of Wales providing excellent food and accommodation well worth travelling that extra mile to get to.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armadillo53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandeilo
1.1 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
439 reviews
1.1 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
87 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
698 reviews
16.3 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
852 reviews
14.2 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Property: The Plough Inn
Address: Rhosmaen, Llandeilo SA19 6NP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandeilo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming four star boutique hotel and award winning restaurant set in the beautiful Towy Valley at the edge of the Brecon Beacons. Surrounded by castles and country houses with the National Botanical Garden of Wales and Aberglasney House only minutes away. Enjoy beautiful views from all 23 of our well appointed en suite rooms equipped with everything you would expect for your stay - queen sized beds, free wifi, sofas and disabled facilities - all impeccably serviced with our attention to detail. Why not take advantage of our gym and sauna to unwind and relax during your stay! At the Plough you will be greeted with a traditional Welsh welcome, good food from our varied menu in our award winning restaurant, including gluten free, with excellent wines that can be enjoyed in a warm and relaxed atmosphere served to you with that all important personal touch. Afternoon tea is also available, includes a selection of scones, cakes and sandwiches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Llandeilo
Plough Hotel Llandeilo
The Plough Inn Llandeilo, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing