We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem - What a surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Plough Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem - What a surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2009

Stayed at the Plough for 1 night , the service from checking in - to leaving was first class - the hotel has had a refurshment - the quality of the fixures and fittings put many 4 star hotels to shame.
Dinner could be a la carte or menu of the day and the whole group ( there were 6 of us) thoroughly enjoyed the meal .
Rooms were a joy to stay in - with a whirlpool bath and seperate shower - the views from the bedroom were breathtaking.
Service at breakfast was also first class - and could cater for everyones need .
Can't fault the hotel - a gem on the outskirts of the Brecon Beacons

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roslyn138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    131
    30
    15
    5
See reviews for
154
376
16
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2009

would put 3/4 star london hotels to shame--jacuzzi/wet room /veranda--great food, good bar big rooms everything for a great stay

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harborneBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Herts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

I first stayed at the Plough prior to its refurb...there was no comparison. The staff are absolutely lovely...nothing was too much trouble. We had a gorgeous ground floor room overlooking the Welsh hills with the most heavenly beds. The food in the restaurant was delicious....worth waiting for. Try the Supermario's Ice Cream...it's scrumptious.
My Mum and I will definitely return...we didn't want to leave!
Thank you everyone at the Plough for a glorious stay!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BreezygirlNorthHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

Arrived late Sunday evening without reservation (trouble with car). We were both very stressed, but this soon vanished thanks to the outstanding manager. We were given a most excellant room and made to feel we were important guests.
The food looked wonderful in the restaurant, but we opted for a bar snack and a nightcap, which was first class.
Breakfast time was just as good as would be expected and as was the staff
We only live one and a half hours from this hotel, and we are now looking for a reason to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rileyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILTON KEYNES, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

Stay here and eat - or just eat, because it's modern and fresh and welcomes vegetarians. A mile from Llandeilo, you have the natural beauty of the Brecon Beacons literally on your doorstep!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank REF007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

for a special occasion or a get - away treat this is the ideal place,as its location is close to many interesting places to visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tessneath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

My husband and I ate here at the end of July (we were not residents) On arrival there is a cosy bar area. We were taken straight through to the restaurant to the left (i think the one on the right was for the better dressed maybe?) The room is a partitioned function room with the tables set out like a school canteen. Our table was against the far wall with a curtain next to us splitting the room. The veg was tasteless and the meals appeared to have been re-heated rather than freshly cooked, but tasted ok. But very bad tummy on arrival back at hotel. I believe you can eat in the bar area so ask for this if you do decide to book if you want a bit of atmosphere! Drinks were removed from our bill when I complained about food.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HonestlyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandeilo
1.1 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
1.2 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
14.2 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
23.1 mi away
Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel
Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#8 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Property: The Plough Inn
Address: Rhosmaen, Llandeilo SA19 6NP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandeilo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming four star boutique hotel and award winning restaurant set in the beautiful Towy Valley at the edge of the Brecon Beacons. Surrounded by castles and country houses with the National Botanical Garden of Wales and Aberglasney House only minutes away. Enjoy beautiful views from all 23 of our well appointed en suite rooms equipped with everything you would expect for your stay - queen sized beds, free wifi, sofas and disabled facilities - all impeccably serviced with our attention to detail. Why not take advantage of our gym and sauna to unwind and relax during your stay! At the Plough you will be greeted with a traditional Welsh welcome, good food from our varied menu in our award winning restaurant, including gluten free, with excellent wines that can be enjoyed in a warm and relaxed atmosphere served to you with that all important personal touch. Afternoon tea is also available, includes a selection of scones, cakes and sandwiches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Llandeilo
Plough Hotel Llandeilo
The Plough Inn Llandeilo, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing