We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Stay”
Review of The Plough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Plough Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

From 27.2.14 to 1.3.14 we spent our time at the Plough Inn, Rhosmaen, Llandeilo. We enjoyed a first class stay, the cost was extremely reasonable and the room was excellent. The staff were all warm and friendly with everyone helping to make our stay special. The food was to a very high standard and the service tremendous. The Inn is modern and bright, spotlessly clean.We are already planning another visit.

Room Tip: Our room had a magnificent view over some lovely countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that my staff members made your stay very welcoming and pleasant.

I will pass on your kind words to all of my hardworking team, they will take great pride in knowing you had a great stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Plough, Rhosmaen in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 836 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

My feelings about this hotel are a bit mixed. The standard of housekeeping and cleanliness are excellent. A lot of money has obviously been invested on fittings and soft furnishings which are bold and modern with a touch of glitz. The raw material of the building itself is quite a challenge. I guess there must be an original core which has been greatly extended over the years, and is now a diffiluct layout to work with. It must be said that it's not a very attractive building from the outside and overall the hotel has a corporate feel - the dining room is cavernous. It would be absolutley fine for business or perhaps family gatherings but doesn't really have the character or atmosphere to suit a romantic break (however the jacuzzi bath is an obvious asset!). Apart from the bar area, which has tables and upright hard chairs, there is no lounge or place to sprawl and relax, which is disappointing. The food was OK, a bit overpriced. I had a very small piece of cod for main course, I would estimate it to be around 3oz maybe 4oz tops of fish. I complained to two of the waiting staff about this, but nothing was done. However, staff overall were pretty friendly. Breakfast was fine, I enjoyed the cockles and lavabread and the bacon was nice and thick, but we could have done with more variety on the buffet table (pastries perhaps?)Because the general standards are good I would be happy to return, but for business etc purposes.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear Dr G,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review of your recent stay,

I am pleased that you found your room clean and comfortable, I will pass on your positive feedback to my housekeeping team.

I am happy to inform you that we have started building progress to provide a lounge area for guests to be able to relax in an informal area. We feel that this will greatly improve the environment for guests and diners.
I am sorry to hear that your meal was not sufficient enough for your appetite, I will be talking to my head chef regarding this issue to ensure it does not occur again. Pastries are available to order from our breakfast menu and my breakfast staff would have been more then happy to provide these should you have inquired.

We hope you return to The Plough in the future, where I am sure you will have a more positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I stayed at the plough on business and for three months it was my home.
Having to work away a lot and staying in all the usual large chains i could not get enough of this breath of fresh air.
The Hotel and it's staff made my stay in wales a pleasure and they ALL should be very proud of their commitment to detail.
Nothing was too much trouble and everybody was always cheerful and chatty.

STAFF
ROOMS
FOOD

All five star!

A REAL GEM

I WILL return on pleasure and find time to see the localities

Thankyou for everything

Dave Taylor

Room Tip: ALL rooms are exellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for a lovely review Mr Taylor!

I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to all of my staff members who will be delighted to hear that their hard work does not go unnoticed.

I am very pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Plough, Rhosmaen in the near future, hopefully for pleasure rather than business this time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We received a warm welcome and the room was very pleasant- clean, modern and spacious with a very comfortable bed. What really made the trip special was the quality of service, both in the restaurant and the hotel itself. All the staff we encountered went out of their way to help us and make us feel at home. At dinner in the restaurant, we had a bit of an accident with a dish of vegetables and broke both our wine glasses, which had very little in them but smashed all over our food. The staff immediately came to our rescue, moving us to a new table, re-cooking all of our food and providing us with full glasses of wine at no extra cost. They even apologised to us when it was our fault! I would highly recommend the Plough and would love to stay again. It's just unfortunate it's such a long way away from where we live.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirstenx2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for a wonderful review!

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that my staff members made your stay very welcoming and pleasant.

I will pass on your kind comments to all of my hardworking team, they will take great pride in knowing you had a great stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Plough, Rhosmaen in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is a superb venue, where the staff are friendly and go out of their way to please everyone. Nothing was too much to ask on our wedding day. The food is outstanding and the accomodation beautiful. The views are stunning and our photos look amazing. All our guests enjoyed their time at the Plough. We look forward to returning for food and a break. Thanks to all at the Plough for everything. I would highly recommend this venue for a break, food and as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review Amy and Martyn!

We are so pleased that you chose to hold your wedding at The Plough, Rhosmaen.
We work very hard to make every bride and grooms day memorable, and we are thrilled that yourselves and your guests enjoyed your special day.

We hope to welcome you back to The Plough soon, and wish you well in your new marriage.

Regards

Andrew and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I recently stayed for one night at The Plough Inn. This was a business trip and something I do at least twice a week in various hotels all around the UK. My main criteria for picking a hotel is FREE ON SITE PARKING, FREE WI-FI in all areas and breakfast included into the price. As this met all of my criteria I was happy and wasn't expecting a great deal more.

What a surprise!....They were busy in the bar and restaurant with both residents and locals so straightaway after a hard day it had a lovely atmosphere. The food was delicious and very good value for the quality.
My room was wonderful, spotlessly clean with tasteful decor. Lovely white bed linen, high spec throughout with Welsh beverages on offer. The staff were very accommodating and efficient.

All in all this hotel is a little gem. After speaking with the owner my understanding is that they regularly re-furbish the hotel keeping it immaculate throughout.

I would definitely recommend The Plough Inn.

Room Tip: I haven't rated the Pool or Spa as I did not get the chance to use them or look at them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharonc090962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review!

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and experience with us.I am glad that you liked the comfort of the bedroom. My housekeepers will be happy to hear that their work is well appreciated.

My team of chefs will be glad to hear that you enjoyed your dinner. They work very hard to produce quality food from which all ingredients are sourced from local suppliers.

I will pass on your thanks to all my team, as they will be very glad to hear your kind feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Plough, Rhosmaen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

After staying at various hotels in recent months, this hotel was found by 'sticking a pin in a hotels website' as it was reasonably close to where I had a meeting, but needed an overnight as it was a 5+ hour drive each way.

Having read previous reviews and looked at ratings we were sceptical.

We're sceptical no more!

We arrived tired after a very long journey and after an efficient check in went to the room which was large, well appointed, nicely designed and spotlessly clean. Ditto the bathroom.

The bar and restaurant had recently been refurbished to a high standard and were comfortable and contemporary with many well executed design elements, furnishings and finishes.

Food was imaginative, well prepared and delicious. Service was friendly, efficient and it was clear that the staff genuinely cared about what they were doing.

Having designed many hotels and restaurant interiors ourselves we are often critical, but on this occasion we cannot praise highly enough.

We just wish that the place was closer so we could visit more easily.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sfwproperty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review.

I am pleased that you found my staff attentive, they do work extremely hard to make all of our guests feel welcome and I will be sure to pass on your positive feedback.

My chefs also work tirelessly to provide quality dishes and will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals, we are also proud to use fresh local produce where possible.

I am also very happy to hear that you were pleased with the refurbishment. We greatly appreciate all feedback regarding our new refurbishment and are pleased to have such positive feedback from our guests.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back to The Plough, Rhosmaen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandeilo
1.1 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
472 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
918 reviews
1.1 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
877 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lampeter
732 reviews
8.3 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Cross Hands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Address: Rhosmaen, Llandeilo SA19 6NP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandeilo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Price Range: $109 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming four star boutique hotel and award winning restaurant set in the beautiful Towy Valley at the edge of the Brecon Beacons. Surrounded by castles and country houses with the National Botanical Garden of Wales and Aberglasney House only minutes away. Enjoy beautiful views from all 23 of our well appointed en suite rooms equipped with everything you would expect for your stay - queen sized beds, free wifi, sofas and disabled facilities - all impeccably serviced with our attention to detail. Why not take advantage of our gym and sauna to unwind and relax during your stay! At the Plough you will be greeted with a traditional Welsh welcome, good food from our varied menu in our award winning restaurant, including gluten free, with excellent wines that can be enjoyed in a warm and relaxed atmosphere served to you with that all important personal touch. Afternoon tea is also available, includes a selection of scones, cakes and sandwiches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Llandeilo
Plough Hotel Llandeilo
The Plough Inn Llandeilo, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing