We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Plough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Plough Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed two nights for a family wedding, and was very impressed. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff from the moment we arrived. Very friendly at reception, lovely room with great views. The wedding organisation was excellent as was the food. Would highly recommend a stay at this popular hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stumpy1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you found my reception staff friendly. My staff work hard to give each individual guest a warm welcome.

We are glad you enjoyed the wedding, my are committed to giving all guests a fantastic day as well as the bride and groom. My chefs also work tirelessly to provide a fantastic personalized wedding meal.

We hope to welcome you back to The Plough, Rhosmaen soon.

Regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    132
    30
    16
    5
See reviews for
158
378
16
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
207 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here overnight in the Towy Room. It was enormous with a huge bed and very well decorated. The bathroom was simply amazing with a roll top bath and huge shower.
All the staff were friendly and helpful.
Food was great. Well cooked, plenty of choice, generous portions and reasonable.
The views from the room and from the terrace are fantastic. I thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Towy room was amazing. It is also the bridal suite. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda58essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Plough.

I will pass your kind words on to all my staff, they will be very happy to know that you had a lovely time with us.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Towy Suite, we aim to give everyone a unique stay in our beautiful rooms. I am also pleased that you had a delicious meal. My team of chefs work hard to produce quality food, and it also helps that the produce is bought in from local suppliers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Plough, Rhosmaen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night with our 8 month old on our way to England.

The hotel is in a small town but we didn't need to leave it...everything was so well catered for. Check in was quick and efficient. Our room was very spacious and comfortable, and they had provided a comfortable travel cot and soft blankets for our little girl. We had a late lunch on arrival and they happily provided a bowl of mashed potatoes and veg for the baby.
Dinner that evening was really superb. We came down to find that they had set a place for the baby with a high chair already in situ, and heated her dinner for us. Our meal was amazing! I really can't fault it. Service was perfect, down to one of the kind waitresses standing guard at the door of the ladies while my husband changed the baby's nappy!

Breakfast next day was efficient and tasty...delicious butties with Welsh bacon. And again they happily provided eggs for the baby.

Check out was quick and easy. All in all, a fantastic stay. Every member of staff we dealt with was polite and friendly. A real gem. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you your lovely review, I am so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us.

We pride ourselves on our great food, excellent customer service and comfortable rooms. Your kind praise is greatly appreciated and shall be made known to all the staff.

We hope to welcome you back to The Plough, Rhosmaen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed overnight for a wedding .The room was beautiful and immaculate ..Lovely decor and a very modern bathroom..The staff were very helpful and nothing seemed to much trouble..It was late afternoon and the bar wasnt opened no problem the receptionist took the helm and pitched in and did a very good job..The food was of a very high standard and they catered exceptionally well for my friend who required a gluten free diet..Lovely buffet in the evening and a very good disco..I have been there at lunchtimes so its also a great place to pop in if your just passing..

Room Tip: No need its a very quiet location in the evenings..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Plough.

I worked hard on getting the rooms just right for our guests and I am glad that you were pleased with yours.

My team of chefs work hard to produce quality food and will be pleased to hear you enjoyed yours.

I will share your kind comments with my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Plough, Rhosmaen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a business trip, the hotel is ideal especially for a one night stay if you like quality rooms and a view to match. The staff are very friendly, there is plenty of parking and free wi fi which to me is important. The food is of a good standard, not cheap and portions not large but decent quality. I would stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank colin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our staff work very hard to make our guests experience great.
I worked very hard on getting the rooms just right for our guests and I am glad you were pleased with yours. My housekeepers also work hard to ensure everything is immaculate.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Plough, Rhosmaen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

I was travelling on my own to a job in West Wales and needed a one night stay at a local hotel. I can't quite remember how I found this hotel's details but I'm so glad I did.
I checked in at 8.30pm and then checked out at 7.30am the next morning so it was a very short stay but I totally enjoyed my time there and would recommend the hotel without hesitation. The room (204) was big, clean and decorated to a high standard and had nice views over the countryside. Shortly after I arrived I went down to the bar intending to just have a snack and a diet coke and then turn in for the night. The menu sounded so nice that my snack ended up being a three course meal, a pint of larger and a large glass of red wine! I went to bed feeling very satisfied as the food was delicious and I had a great nights sleep.
Unfortunately I didn't have time for the breakfast but I'm sure it would have been very good.
The staff at the hotel deserve special mention as they were really welcoming and friendly and I felt very relaxed.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Plough.

My restaurant staff and chefs all work very hard to provide excellent service, along with fantastic food.

I will pass on your comments to all my staff members, as they will be pleased to hear that your stay was very enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Plough, Rhosmaen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Plough Inn lived up to its high ratings. The room was a good size with an enormous bed and the very latest in bathroom design. The Plough has always been known for high quality food and we were not disappointed. It has lovely gardens and has good views. The staff were extremely helpful.


Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.

I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your kind praise about our restaurant. It is always good to know that our food was enjoyable as our Chef's work hard to attain the highest standard.

I worked very hard on getting the rooms just right for our guests and I am glad you were pleased with yours. My housekeepers also work hard to ensure everything is immaculate.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Plough, Rhosmaen.

Regards,

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandeilo
1.1 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
424 reviews
1.1 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
86 reviews
14.2 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
870 reviews
16.3 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
821 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#8 of 24 in Swansea
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Property: The Plough Inn
Address: Rhosmaen, Llandeilo SA19 6NP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandeilo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming four star boutique hotel and award winning restaurant set in the beautiful Towy Valley at the edge of the Brecon Beacons. Surrounded by castles and country houses with the National Botanical Garden of Wales and Aberglasney House only minutes away. Enjoy beautiful views from all 23 of our well appointed en suite rooms equipped with everything you would expect for your stay - queen sized beds, free wifi, sofas and disabled facilities - all impeccably serviced with our attention to detail. Why not take advantage of our gym and sauna to unwind and relax during your stay! At the Plough you will be greeted with a traditional Welsh welcome, good food from our varied menu in our award winning restaurant, including gluten free, with excellent wines that can be enjoyed in a warm and relaxed atmosphere served to you with that all important personal touch. Afternoon tea is also available, includes a selection of scones, cakes and sandwiches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Llandeilo
Plough Hotel Llandeilo
The Plough Inn Llandeilo, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing