We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Plough Rhosmaen
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Cawdor(Llandeilo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Hart Inn(Llandeilo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Castle Hotel(Carmarthen)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spilman Hotel(Carmarthen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waun Wyllt B&B(Llanelli)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boar's Head Hotel(Carmarthen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (893)
Filter reviews
893 results
Traveler rating
683
153
36
16
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
683
153
36
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscockleswelsh breakfasttowy valleyhigh standardmain coursewedding receptionfood was fantasticroom was largestaff were attentivelovely hotelevening mealsunday nightfish and chipsbe visiting againexcellent stayone night staywest wales
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
672 - 677 of 893 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2013

As previous reviewers have states the decor bar the stone walls and beams could do with a revamp, particularly the curtains. Staff quite friendly but not warm and slow to serve (even when the room was mainly empty as we arrived at 12pm). I was a bit disappointed as this was my dad's 70th birthday lunch which we mentioned to the waitress that no small gesture was made such as a free glass of champers for him or some such as we paid £115 for 2x3 course meals and 2x2 course meals and small gestures mean a lot to entice customers back in a competitve market. We ordered 3 ginger beers and a pint of bitter shandy- close to £11! So beware if they charge that much for soft drinks, how much for hard liquor? There has to be a mark up but charging that much for fizzy pop is a bit rich. The pate for starters was very generous and tasty but not keen on the weird sweet yet hard ginger cake that came with the pate - thankfully there was toast too. My husband enjoyed the pork belly starter and we all enjoyed our sirloins with excellent sauted potatoes. Dessert was good especially the icecream and overall we enjoyed our meal. We didn't stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eirwen73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Rhosmaen, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on you visit to the plough.

We are constantly upgrading our décor to keep in with modern times - we are at the 1st stages of designing the bar and dining areas.

We are taking on board your comments regarding a gesture to a guest celebrating an occasion with us. As regards to your comment about our beverages, we pride ourselves on buying quality drinks, and the fentimans ginger beer is a premium beverage. We are glad that you enjoyed your dining with us and I will pass on your thanks to our team of chefs. With regards to the front of house team I have spoken with them to be more welcoming.

Please be assured that we take on board any constructive comments and my team and I have improved our standards for all our present and future customers.

We look forward to seeing you soon in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Quality of food, cleanliness of rooms and all of the hotel superb, some of the best we have stayed in. Room large and spacious with ample storage, bathroom good quality and shower very powerful. We would like to thank Andrew and all his staff we had contact with and also the staff you do not see who work behind the scenes e.g. chefs, housekeepers etc. It is a hotel with a great all round team spirit working together to make your stay great. We will be back to stay in the future.
Many Thanks......Carole and Mick.

Room Tip: room 203 great size and good views
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolemickstevenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Rhosmaen, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will pass on your thanks to all the staff, and let them know that you enjoyed the food and hospitality.

Also have a look on our website for some fantastic deals that we have going at the moment.

We look forward to you coming back to see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I don't often write reviews but I just had to this time. We stayed here for our 5th anniversary and it was great. From the massive box of chocs in the room and wine glasses ready for us, to the sauna and great food. Breakfast in the room was no problem nor was chilling a bottle of champers we brought either.

The service was freindly and very on the ball with various staff asking if you were being sorted and getting attention of others if your weren't. We had room 301 in the corner and it was fab, comfy bed, big spa bath and powerful shower. Made it a very memorable stay and will be recommending well into the future and probably return as well. Might even take the kids next time...

Thank you Plough!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Rhosmaen, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed what was a very special stay. I will be sure to pass on your heart warming comments to all of my staff - they will be happy to hear them.

I hope you can find another reason to come and stay with us again - we would be happy to have you back!

Please visit our website for offers and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Plough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed at the Plough Inn on Saturday with my husband, 13year old and 1 year old. What a welcoming and lovely place to stay. Rooms are spacious and well equipped (beds are huge) with excellent views of the countryside, staff are pleasant and can't do enough for you praticularly the two ladies on reception. Breakfast plentiful and service excellent. Dinner menus are great also. We booked for Sunday lunch however didn't get there as the car developed a fault during a morning excursion and we had to head back sooner than atnicipated!!

Talley Abbey and Dinfewr Park are well worth a trip particularly for the children.

Will be visiting again soon - thanks very much. S family

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fleurdelys379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Rhosmaen, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to express your experience of staying at The Plough.

I will pass on your lovely comments to my staff and hope that you do have reason at sometime in the future to stay with us again.

Visit our website to see our special offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We booked the hotel as a last minute deal they had, just wanted to get away to relax. Staff are really friendly and helpful, the rooms were absolutely fab! Superb views looking out on the beautiful west Wales countryside, rooms were very clean. Shower was great, nice & powerful and the bed was lush! Queen size that you can sink into. The rooms are also very spacious and modern!! We ate in the restaurant in the evening which was al la carte, it was very good and staff were always at hand if we needed anything. We also used the gym and sauna which was ok. Small but has some up to date equipment and was nice & quiet. Overall we had a lovely time!! Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph_Gill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Rhosmaen, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay. Your kind praise is greatly appreciated and has been passed onto all of my staff. It is always good to know that our food was enjoyable as our Chef's work hard to attain the highest standard.

We pride ourselves on great customer service and hope to welcome you back to The Plough in the near future.

Please visit our website to see our special offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews