We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in years”
Review of The Plough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Plough Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Certificate of Excellence
llanelli
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best stay in years”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is what a weekend stay should be all about. Customer service is second to none, and we have stayed a lot of places around the world.
Food outstanding and proper home cooking with real ingredients for a change.
Prices are very good for such quality.
Room very well appointed
We will be back very soon and a refreshing change to know that such hotels and service still exist.
Breakfast was fresh, natural ingredients and went down a treat,
Have stayed in hotels double the price and they are not a match for this one.
Their repeat and regular trade says it all.

Room Tip: 301 was outstanding good views, great bath, jacuzzi, shower, bed first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldieLlanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments; I'm so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I'm always grateful for feedback and I have passed on your kind comments to my staff. It is important to us that you had a great Restaurant experience. We pride ourselves on the quality of the produce that is sourced locally. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Plough in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    140
    31
    16
    5
See reviews for
167
406
16
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthenshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Haven't stayed in the Plough Inn but as a family we've dined there for various occasions birthdays,anniversaries, mothers day etc for many years. You cannot fault the food. It is absolutely superb and well presented. We have never had a bad meal. Service is good and staff very friendly. Food is pricey but you pay for what you get!! Couldn't afford to go there on a weekly basis but for special occasions it's a treat! Environment is of a high standard and is very clean. I would definately recommend this lovely hotel/ restaurant. If you go there you will not be disappointed! Enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AliJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind praise about our restaurant. It is always good to know that our food was enjoyable as our Chef's work hard to attain the highest standard. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Plough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Plough for a midweek break in October this year...
The Hotel is absolutely first-rate and if there were stars to award I would give it a 10-star rating!!
The facilities, service, food and location were first class. I cannot recommend this venue highly enough. We enjoyed verything about this hotel and will definitely be back. Thankyou! David, Kathy, Val and Barry from Southport.

Room Tip: Wall-to wall luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave-the-Rave-3354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comment, I am so pleased to hear that you had such a great time at my Hotel. Your kind praise is greatly appreciated and has been passed onto all of my staff. Please come back to visit us again - look out for special offers on our website. I look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had our wedding at the Plough on September 29th, the day was perfect. All our requests were met, we cannot fault it in any way. The venue is lovely with superb views of the Towy valley. The rooms have the wow factor, they are stylish, modern, well equipped and spacious. We can't wait to stay again. The food is sublime and there was plenty of it. Many of our guests are so impressed they have already booked for future visits. The staff exceeded all my expectations, nothing was too much for them. The plough is a beautiful place and we would recommend to anyone for meals, hotel breaks and celebrations. We will definitely be visiting soon.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMDHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Helen, thank you so much for your kind praise. I am so happy you decided to choose us for your venue and enjoyed your special day. I would like to wish you all the best and look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth TX
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our group of 20 stayed here for 3 nights while on a tour of southern Wales and it couldn't be a better location for doing so. The staff is very helpful and accommodating and made sure the people who needed ground floor rooms received ground floor rooms. The rooms are modern and comfortable, as well as roomy. The views out of the ground and first floor windows are out over the hills of the Heart of Wales - peaceful and wonderfully atmospheric in the early morning fog. We had dinner each night we stayed. We ordered from a long menu of delicious choices. For our group, we could have either starter or dessert with our entree, and everyone was happy with their choices. The bar and the dining room are popular with the local folks and busy each night. Breakfast is a well stocked cold buffet and hot entree orders taken individually and served promptly. The parking lot was roomy enough for our coach and for plenty of cars, yet this is not a typical group hotel. Llandeilo is on the Heart of Wales rail road line, and not far from Carmarthen. We visited St David's, Pembroke Castle, Tenby and Laugharne from our central location.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor if you have an issue with stairs - no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0124...barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind praise for the Restaurant will be passed on to our brigade of Chef's who work to achieve consistently high standards and quality. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

It's always a bit suspicious when a place has too many good and excellent reviews and, on the other hand, if you read all the terrible reviews you would never go anywhere so we went to the Plough preparing ourselves for something that just couldn't be as good as all the rave reviews. The Plough Inn exceeded all expectations. The rooms are stylish, we had the best room, the Towy Suite and we asked to see other rooms in case it was not available on a return visit and the other rooms are excellent too. From the first email contact to paying the bill everything was faultless and, from me, that's saying something. It is completely evident that there is a very happy team with a 'can do' attitude working under the direction of a meticulous leader in a beautifully styled hotel. The restaurant was excellent too. We had breakfast (oh the bacon was to die for) dinner and Sunday lunch and all the food was excellent. Sunday lunch is an event for the Plough they do 100 to 200 covers and it is seamless. It sounds incredible at this price bracket to have no criticisms, not even a picky detail, but it absolutely true. Thank you to everyone at the Plough for making our weekend so wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_atoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to submit your review. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for you kind praise about our restaurant. . It is always good to know that our food was enjoyable as our Chef's work hard to attain the highest standard. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Plough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel and I have to say I cannot rate it highly enough. On arrival, we were dealt with quickly and professionally - front of house is excellent here and a lot better than many similar starred hotels I have stayed in - and our room was lovely. The decor was modern, it was spotlessly clean and the bed was huge! We were on the first floor (given an executive dbl room) and had beautiful views over the Towy Valley. It was so peaceful, and we had a wonderful sleep in a very dark room. No cheap curtains here!
We dined in the restaurant to take advantage of the hotel's Sunday offer which gives a reduced rate room and money back towards the hotel bill. We had 3 courses each and the presentation was superb, not to mention the service. I cannot rate the service highly enough, it was really refreshing to see staff take so much pride in their work. And we felt so comfortable in the hotel.
The next morning we had an excellent breakfast with local produce and there was an excellent choice of cereal, fruit, jams and spread as well.
We left our phone charger in the room and the hotel kindly posted it back to me. When I rang they had been trying to contact me all day.
All in all superb value for money. This is a really well-run hotel that goes the extra mile to give good service. Go stay, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: As for a room on the first floor - the views are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments; I'm so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I'm always grateful for feedback and I have passed on your comments to my staff. It is always good to know that our food was enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Plough in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandeilo
1.1 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
452 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
904 reviews
1.1 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
718 reviews
8.3 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Cross Hands
22.4 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Property: The Plough Inn
Address: Rhosmaen, Llandeilo SA19 6NP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandeilo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming four star boutique hotel and award winning restaurant set in the beautiful Towy Valley at the edge of the Brecon Beacons. Surrounded by castles and country houses with the National Botanical Garden of Wales and Aberglasney House only minutes away. Enjoy beautiful views from all 23 of our well appointed en suite rooms equipped with everything you would expect for your stay - queen sized beds, free wifi, sofas and disabled facilities - all impeccably serviced with our attention to detail. Why not take advantage of our gym and sauna to unwind and relax during your stay! At the Plough you will be greeted with a traditional Welsh welcome, good food from our varied menu in our award winning restaurant, including gluten free, with excellent wines that can be enjoyed in a warm and relaxed atmosphere served to you with that all important personal touch. Afternoon tea is also available, includes a selection of scones, cakes and sandwiches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Llandeilo
Plough Hotel Llandeilo
The Plough Inn Llandeilo, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing