We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wonderful wedding day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Plough Rhosmaen
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Three months ago, John my partner and I decided we would like to get married in Wales where we were setting up our new home. We searched around for a venue, after visiting many places we opted for the Plough Inn at Rhosmaen. From the first moment we stepped foot into the Plough we felt so very comfortable. It soon became apparent that the confidence and commitment from the staff was not a selling ploy but very very genuine. We visited and stayed for a weekend, wow, it proved that it was truely an amazing place. The location, the room, the food and the staff were all absolutely brilliant. We confirmed our wedding details with Andrew, Fred and Georgina, I knew I had absolutely no worries, they planned, advised and supported us, ensuring less worry. Well Sunday the 16th September was our big day, I need to say that words are totally inadequate to describe and indeed to thank Georgina, Fred, Andrew and all the staff for our wonderful, reception. It was truely amazing, from the welcome to our guests at the hotel, ensuring they had everything they needed to the smallest details, ensuring we were all happy, comfortable and looked after. The food, well, what can I say, it was fantastic, everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals, the quality, quantity and presentation was perfect. I could go on and on. I won't all I can say is if anyone is thinking of visiting Wales please go out of your way if necessary and stop off at the Plough Inn, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 567Teresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Rhosmaen, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Teresa and John, thank you so much for your wonderful comment, I am so happy you decided to choose us for your venue and enjoyed your special day. I would like to say on behalf of Fred, Georgina and myself how wonderful it was to plan your wedding with you both, we enjoyed as much as you! I will be sure to pass on your thanks to the other members of staff. I look forward to seeing you both again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (862)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 862 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on a mountain bike trip to the area. The room was very large with comfortable beds & modern quality decor & fittings along with a very nice bathroom. Our room at the rear of the hotel had uninterrupted views across the valley so ask for a room at the back if you want that view as opposed to the council houses out the front. The food in the evening was excellent & came in good size portions. Breakfast was plentiful, the cooked option I had was good with a decent sausage. All the staff we spoke with we're friendly & efficient. A problem free stay in a very nice location.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back & not on the ground floor. Best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkh1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Rhosmaen, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for taking time to submit your review and for choosing to stay with us. It is always good to know that our food was enjoyable as our Chef's work hard to attain the highest standard (not least at breakfast time). We look forward to welcoming you back to The Plough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just returned from a overnight stay at the Plough Inn, Llandeilo and a visit to remember. We were looking for a night stay for a special occasion and we were not disappointed. Its set in beautiful countryside with stunning views from each bedroom. The hotel itself has staff to be proud of, from Georgina at the Reception desk to the staff in the bar and restaurant, nothing too much trouble for any of them, and genuinely interested in you and the comfort of your stay. We were taken aback by the bedrooms we were given very modern, very big, comfortable and tastefully decorated, with all the comforts for your stay, TV, iron and ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities. The menu in restaurant caters for everyone, and a fillet steak to die for. If we were really picky it would be that it is a very small seating area at the bar, and as there was a wedding there that day, we had no where to sit for a last drink, but after speaking to Georgina we were told that the had a seating area upstairs, but unfortunately was booked due to the wedding reception, so problem solved! Again thank you all for making us feel very welcome and we will certainly be returning

Room Tip: We had rooms on the ground floor near the reception area, perfect for those with walking difficultie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mozartSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Rhosmaen, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you were made to feel welcome. I will be sure to pass on your thanks to my staff. Your kind praise for the Restaurant will be passed on to our brigade of Chef's who work to achieve consistently high standards and quality. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Plough in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just returned from a one night stay at The Plough Inn Llandeilo - in two word first class. We found the special summer offer on the internet, and decided to give it a go as it was a special occasion and wanted a based to visit other places from. We were not disappointed, set in beautiful views and all bedrooms overlook them. When we opened the bedroom door, it took our breath away, no expenses spared, decorated tastefully, very modern and everything you would want for the stay including an iron and ironing board. The staff were absolutely fantastic, and thanks to Georgina and the rest of the hotel staff for making us very welcome. The restaurant was very nice, food to die for, only small point, there was not enough seating in the small bar area, and the place was quite full, but after chatting to Georgina at reception, she told us that there was a seating area upstairs, but due to a wedding that evening, it had been booked, so another time would not be a problem. This did not spoil it at all, but we are certainly looking to go back in the very near future, hopefully when weather breaks next year, so we can sit and enjoy the lovely garden area and views, many thanks to you all, a credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: No swimming pool, spa facilities and gym but never used Rooms on ground floor near reception ideal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dafydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Rhosmaen, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. It is important to us that you had a great Restaurant experience and our chef's will be heartened to hear that you find the food to be excellent. We pride ourselves on the quality of the produce that is sourced locally. I will be sure to pass on your Thanks to my staff - they would be pleased to hear it. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Plough in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

A fantastic place to dine, and beautiful place to stay in the Town Valley. Have only stayed at The Plough once, have eaten at The Plough many a time, breakfast, lunch and evening meal, great place for a special occasion/treat, and faultless place to dine for Sunday lunch, would definitely recommend whether its a lunch time snack or an evening celebration you are looking for

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CARYS T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Rhosmaen, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for your kind words and wonderful feedback, I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed every visit to The Plough, we pride ourselves on the standard our restaurant meals. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel now 4 times in 3 years! the food just keeps getting better, the staff are also extreamely helpful.
The locality is balso excellent especially to get up on the brecon or black mountains to see the wild ponies.
The owners have worked so very hard to get this hotel up to this standard, we stayed in the new extension this time, which, is fantastic.
I used to stay in ffairfach as a young boy during school holidays as my uncle lived there, and I can honestly say the place has hardly changed in 50 years great place to visit & great place to stay! Keep it up Andrew! Dave & Carole Rimmer

Room Tip: try theb new extension rooms they are fantastic! If none available the others are just great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stewarddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Rhosmaen, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. It was very good to welcome you back to the Plough and a compliment that you have chosen to stay with us on so many occasions.
I am heartened to know that you have found the standard to continually improve and our excellent service to be as good as always.
Since your last visit our new rooms have become available and I am pleased to hear that you found them to be so impressive and comfortable.
I look forward to meeting you both on your next visit when we will do our utmost to provide you with the quality and service you have come to expect from the Plough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed at this hotel after my daughters wedding at the same venue, with many other guests also staying. No adverse comments from any of the guests, accommodation is ecxcellent, food and service above what is normally expected, cannot recommend too highly. Well above the norm and nothing is too much trouble for managment and staff. Assistance prior to the wedding was excellent, Fred, Andrew and Georgina guided us through the process and this showed on the day when everything went without a hitch. The serving staff were excellent, food hot and on time, food of this type can be bland, not in this case, very tasty and well presented. Highly recommended as a Hotel and a Wedding venue.

Room Tip: A very quiet location, all rooms are excellent, the Hotel is on the A40 which is a busymain road bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Rhosmaen, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review. It is good to know that all the careful planning and discussion of your preferences and requirements resulted in a day where all went smoothly for your daughter's Wedding Reception. We pride ourselves on the standard our Restaurant and I am pleased that you found the quality of the food and service to be superior.
It is pleasing to know that our guests are enjoying the quality and comfort of our rooms which are furnished to a high standard offering Queen size beds and high quality en-suite facilities.
Our website always gives details of our latest offers. We look forward to welcoming you on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandeilo
1.1 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
496 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
936 reviews
1.1 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Llanelli
896 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lampeter
746 reviews
15.8 mi away
Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Rhosmaen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Rhosmaen

Address: | Rhosmaen, Llandeilo SA19 6NP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandeilo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Price Range: $132 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Rhosmaen 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming four star boutique hotel and award winning restaurant set in the beautiful Towy Valley at the edge of the Brecon Beacons. Surrounded by castles and country houses with the National Botanical Garden of Wales and Aberglasney House only minutes away. Enjoy beautiful views from all 23 of our well appointed en suite rooms equipped with everything you would expect for your stay - queen sized beds, free wifi, sofas and disabled facilities - all impeccably serviced with our attention to detail. Why not take advantage of our gym and sauna to unwind and relax during your stay! At the Plough you will be greeted with a traditional Welsh welcome, good food from our varied menu in our award winning restaurant, including gluten free, with excellent wines that can be enjoyed in a warm and relaxed atmosphere served to you with that all important personal touch. Afternoon tea is also available, includes a selection of scones, cakes and sandwiches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Plough Rhosmaen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Llandeilo
Plough Hotel Llandeilo
The Plough Rhosmaen Llandeilo, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing