We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cawdor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cawdor
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Cosy and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Enjoyed a short stay, just a couple of nights, but the staff were very nice the from more than comfortable and the scrambled egg was lovely. I would certainly stay here again when on business in the area and if staying here for recreation.
Very nice bathrooms, good wifi and well priced bar - too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatterD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    138
    35
    8
    5
See reviews for
55
247
14
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We went to the Cawdor for a family meal last Friday.
Even before we got there questions were asked to ensure our visit went smoothly.
On the day, the staff ensured that two of the less mobile of our party were made as comfortable as possible.
The meal itself was worthy of the highest praise but it was the attention of the waiting staff that made the trip most memorable.
The head waiter was professional and courtious whilst at the same time retaining a cheeky sense of humour, he impressed throughout the evening.
The waitresses were worthy of mention too, cheerfull and pleasant.
A thoroughly memorable meal, thankyou!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a one night's stay at the Cawdor. Perfect relaxing weekend. Stayed in the lovely large Egremont room. Top class service by all the hotel team. Enjoyed a great set 2 course Dinner. The welsh steak was wonderful! Excellent service too! Breakfast was also extremely good, with a large selection to suit all tastes. Can't wait to return. Top class.
Allan & Margaret - Mumbles

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes Town, Greece
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in Llandeilo near Carmarthen. Very clean, great customer service.
We liked the room decoration quite rustic, very warm and comfortable.
The breakfast was really good and the dinner exceptional! We have been dining there every evening.
Highly recommended!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank PrincessAndri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

I stayed at the Cawdor on two occasions over the last month due to working in the area. From the warm welcome, the large comfortable room, the impressive bathroom and the food, everything was excellent. I will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamboGoddessCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We used the hotel recently for Sunday lunch, we were seated in the bistro restaurant and had the fixed lunch menu.
The meal was excellent and reasonably priced, the service was very good, the staff very friendly and we enjoyed the whole experience - would definitely recommend this hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here as a special Birthday treat & what a treat it was! The room was beautiful and luxurious, the food was faultless and the service just lovely. The décor of the whole building is gorgeous and the use of Melin Tregwynt fabric & furnishings through out adds a well thought out & much appreciated touch.

We enjoyed our stay immensely & revisited for Sunday lunch a few months after our stay.

Highly recommended by two quite picky people!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elsievonchow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandeilo
1.1 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
13.4 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
17.1 mi away
Mansion House Llansteffan
Mansion House Llansteffan
#1 of 1 in Llansteffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
18.4 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#9 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cawdor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cawdor

Property: The Cawdor
Address: 72 Rhosmaen Street, Llandeilo SA19 6EN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandeilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cawdor 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Cawdor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cawdor Hotel Llandeilo
The Cawdor Llandeilo, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing