We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compares well with French Hotels”
Review of The Cawdor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cawdor
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Certificate of Excellence
Ammanford
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Compares well with French Hotels”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Although the rugby result went against France the enjoyment our friends received at the Cawdor Hotel, Llandeilo was unsurpassable. Both the service and quality was praised by our French friends. We felt so pleased when they described the food and service as second to none. They compared the evening as one of the best six nations food they had experienced for a very long time. Nothing was too much for the well trained Cawdor staff. They did as much as was needed without taking over the evening - they were there to support us as hosts to which every Welsh person present commented. If ever we have foreign guests in the future we will not hesitate in providing them with the same pleasure as our friends from France experienced last weekend. We cannot wait to take other guests to enjoy what we experienced last weekend. Thank you the staff of the Cawdor a Hotel, Llandeilo for a truly excellent night.

Room Tip: We only had a meal in the hotel restaurant which we would recommend to everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coleg72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    143
    36
    8
    5
See reviews for
56
253
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I have stayed at the Cawdor many time over the years & have never been disappointed. The rooms are spacious, clean & comfortable. We have usually eaten in the restaurant whenever we've stayed & again, have always been pleased with out meal - never had a bad one yet! The only negative thing I would say, is that the room we had didn't have air conditioning, so when we stayed in August, it was like a sauna. However, it didn't de-tract us - we kept all the windows open, and luckily for us, we don't get heatwaves very often!

Room Tip: The Cawrdor have townhouse apartments too, so if you're a larger party/family then you can have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stunning hotel decor and the room was fantastic. The bathroom was amazing - full wet room & huge bath.
The service was friendly and excellent. Great evening restaurant menu and the breakfast was hearty and tasty.
Definitley a candidate for repeat visits.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

A hotel not to be missed! The rooms are decorated and appointed to a high standard. The staff are pleasant; the bar is well stocked; there's a comfortable lounge; and the food at dinner or breakfast is good. Portions at the latter can be large (big appetites around here!) so be aware when you order!
This is a very relaxing hotel and Llandeilo is an interesting small town with plenty of attractions historically and for its small shops.
The only drawbacks at The Cawdor are that it has no lift and that the parking is way up the back but that's what happens if you come to a small town never designed for cars (or lorries) and you stay in a historic building.
Go there....it's very nice.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back if you don't want vehicle noise on the main street right outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wales25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My wife and I attended a family lunch here and stayed for 2 nights. We booked directly with the hotel and received a good deal from the very professional receptionist. The hotel is on the town Main Street but we were able to park at the front to check in and then move the car to their huge secure car park at the rear of the hotel. This might prove difficult for anyone with a disability since from the car park there are numerous steps down to the hotel entrance. We had an excellent dinner the first night with an amazing menu choice of some very interesting meals excellently cooked and presented---top class food and the service was outstanding with one of the staff describing the options before we ordered . We stayed in a very comfortable room which although at the front was not noisy at all, and the bathroom was excellent with a superb bath and a powerful shower and Molton Brown products too. The breakfast choice was extensive with everything from a light continental to a full breakfast or even fish or whatever combination you required!
All the staff were excellent. A delightful hotel very well situated in a pleasant little town convenient for visiting that area of Wales

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Comfortable and chic rooms, designed and decorated to a high standard though now showing a little bit of wear and tear, we stayed in Dryslwyn which has a slightly cracked sink, small chip in the enamel bath and a little mould in the shower area, these are admittedly only minor issues, with what is a very nice room.
Sharon the receptionist could maybe be a little friendlier, but she did appear busy and maybe just a little bit overstretched, thankfully the hotel wasn’t full.
The food (we had the D,B&B option) was sadly disappointing as we were expecting somewhat better, as previous reviews had promised, though maybe because it was a Wednesday (special price) night, that had something to do with it.
Their chance to redeem at breakfast was another miss, due to both my wife’s and my cooked breakfast, being served only luke warm, bordering on cold. Admittedly nobody else seemed to have a problem with theirs, though the waiter apologised profusely and offered replacements in an instant.
Still an enjoyable stay but, we believe, could have delivered so much more.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdkwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We included the Cawdor on a tour through Wales, and were very pleasantly surprised to find this kind of standard in a small town which nobody who hasn't been there would ever have heard of!
We wondered a little about it beforehand, as like so many others we booked on a special offer rate - sometimes that isn't such a good sign. But from the welcome in the rather imposing stone-floored reception area, to the comfortable and quite luxurious room - no disappointments. Be warned that the hotel car-park is a case-lugging five minutes up and down steps, but at least there is a private car park in this higgeldy-piggeldy town.
Some tiny gripes in the room - a few loose fittings in the bathroom, and not so much room for people larger than us, but these are nothing to worry about.
We ate one night in the hotel restaurant, which offers an interesting menu at fairly steep prices (they have to make up for those room rate discounts somehow) - and the food was very good, although the service was quite amusingly stilted and overdone. If you don't fancy that, there is a reasonable choice elsewhere in the town. Breakfast in the same room was far less formal, very generous, and delicious.
Llandeilo is in a much-underrated location, with lots to see nearby (Carreg Cennen and Dinefwr castles to start) and close by (the Gower is half an hour away, and the amazing National Botanic Gardens of Wales are only about 20 minutes down the road).
All in all a very pleasant surprise, welcoming, comfortable and well-placed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithM7799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandeilo
1.1 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
13.4 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
17.1 mi away
Mansion House Llansteffan
Mansion House Llansteffan
#1 of 1 in Llansteffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
18.4 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cawdor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cawdor

Property: The Cawdor
Address: 72 Rhosmaen Street, Llandeilo SA19 6EN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandeilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cawdor 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Cawdor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cawdor Hotel Llandeilo
The Cawdor Llandeilo, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing