We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No lift”
Review of The Cawdor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cawdor
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Had a good overnight stay in Cawder. Arms. Food and service excellent. It was a present for my husband's birthday. However our room was up four flights of stairs- no lift as listed buildings. In addition the room was too hot,to be fair,there was a fan. The car park is located behind the building and again, there were steps from the courtyard to the car park. Good hotel,but be mindful if you have walking difficulty to book a room on lower floor.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DodoSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
There are newer reviews for The Cawdor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 464 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

booked this hotel on a last minute deal with booking.com. We decided that we just wanted a night away which wouldn't take us to long to drive- some where not too busy.The deal was excellent £65 room/breakfast.We arrived at 6.15pm and were promptly checked in and shown to our room, the receptionist informed us that we had been upgraded as it was the only room left.We were shown to room 10 which was a suite at the front of the hotel with large bay window- four poster bed, two leather sofas in the bay to relax and a lovely large bathroom. The room was tastefully decorated in rich colours and exceptionally clean.We proceeded down to the bar for a drink which we took out and sat at the front of the hotel as it was such a lovely warm evening.There is a nice lounge to relax in and you can either eat in the bar or restaurant. We only ate breakfast here which was lovely. There is ample parking at the rear of the hotel.The staff are very warm and friendly-we wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flossyPembrokeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is an old 18th century hotel, which to be frank does not look (to me anyway) that attractive from the outside. But don`t let looks deceive you because inside it is very nice. I have stayed twice and the rooms I have been allocated have been very spacious, as were the en suites, with some excellent showers as well as a bath. There are in- room safes - but they did not work and I was told that are to be replaced. The staff are very pleasant and breakfast top - notch. The meeting room was just what we were after. There is a spacious car park at the rear - with no problems finding a space. The hotel offers a la carte and bar meals - all very reasonably priced and delicious. All - in- all a very good stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FairGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we have never enjoyed a stay in a hotel so much. Through no fault of theirs we were not expected but reception made us feel welcome and found a fantastic room for us - gorgeously decorated and the hugest shower I have ever seen. Molton Brown toiletries finished it all off nicely. Parking is not obvious but we had no problem finding it once directions were received and my hubby felt relieved to think that it was secure (it is gated and you have to enter a number on a pad to open the gate).

We decided to have dinner at the hotel that night and were glad we did. The food and the service was excellent. We had a cooked breakfast the following morning which arrived promptly and was delicious and the plate groaning.

We can't fault the Cawdor (and I'm a fussy so and so) and would return again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back, which was quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaitingforEurostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place to eat, special deal on a Wednesday is not to be missed -
Nice selection of wine.
Did mention when booking it was our anniversary and we had met here 4 years previously, and had got married the week begore in St lucia. The reception wasn't interested in that. Also a bit funny that we parked in the car park ?
Food wise great , resturant staff well attentive - reception need better customer service skills ! That was disappointing !

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank samdill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We just had an excellent lunch with 2 courses for £12.95: very nice cooking, helpful service, good choice on the menu. Took a little time to get organised, so not for someone in a rush, although there is a reasonable choice in the bar - we felt that the dining room was well worth waiting for. In our experience they can be closed at lunchtime for weddings, so perhaps check on-line first.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Allan_G_P-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here with friends. We liked the rooms but the whole place seemed a little chaotic, Food was fine and all in all not a bad place but needed a little more organisation. Not sure I would stay here again but if in the area there are not to many options. It's ok. That's all I can say.

Room Tip: Rooms along the first floor corridor seem ok, good size for a good night's sleep.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nofydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandeilo
1.1 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
830 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
91 reviews
15.1 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
568 reviews
7.2 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Cross Hands
13.4 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cawdor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cawdor

Address: 72 Rhosmaen Street, Llandeilo SA19 6EN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandeilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Price Range: $110 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cawdor 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Cawdor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cawdor Hotel Llandeilo
The Cawdor Llandeilo, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing