We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good welsh food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cawdor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cawdor
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good welsh food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place to eat, special deal on a Wednesday is not to be missed -
Nice selection of wine.
Did mention when booking it was our anniversary and we had met here 4 years previously, and had got married the week begore in St lucia. The reception wasn't interested in that. Also a bit funny that we parked in the car park ?
Food wise great , resturant staff well attentive - reception need better customer service skills ! That was disappointing !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank samdill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    135
    33
    8
    4
See reviews for
53
238
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We just had an excellent lunch with 2 courses for £12.95: very nice cooking, helpful service, good choice on the menu. Took a little time to get organised, so not for someone in a rush, although there is a reasonable choice in the bar - we felt that the dining room was well worth waiting for. In our experience they can be closed at lunchtime for weddings, so perhaps check on-line first.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan_G_P-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARDIFF. WALES
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here with friends. We liked the rooms but the whole place seemed a little chaotic, Food was fine and all in all not a bad place but needed a little more organisation. Not sure I would stay here again but if in the area there are not to many options. It's ok. That's all I can say.

Room Tip: Rooms along the first floor corridor seem ok, good size for a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nofydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Having stayed at The Cawdor's sister hotel 'Morgans' in Swansea, we receive regular emails tellling us their special offers. Usually we cannot consider mid week deals, however one came along at just the right time (complimentary dinner with a double room and breakfast booking) so we booked.

The resident's car park has a gate and you have to announce yourself to be permitted entry, great - you know you can be sure of getting a space. Having announced our arrival, then negotiated a lot of very steep steps (we couldn't unload outside the front door due to very busy traffic and road works) with our overnight bag, we didn't expect to be standing for quite a while, waiting for a member of staff at reception.

When we came down to dinner, we asked if we could have a drink in the bar, but were shown straight into the restaurant and our table was pointed out to us, it would have been nice to be taken there. The waitress came and gave us menus, and almost questioned whether we wanted the wine list (!!!!!!??????). We began to look at the menu, then a different waitress came and asked if we wanted to order any wine (!!!!!!???????). We hadn't even ordered our meal! I said that we didn't want to order wine yet as we hadn't decided what we were going to eat, but PLEASE may I have a gin & tonic!

I could go on and on, but I won't. Suffice to say, the restaurant is lacking a Maitre d' (Morgans have an excellent one) the food was not as well cooked as we were expecting, and - our fault admittedly - I WISH restaurants would recommend food pairing for the wines on their wine list. As one of us was having fish and the other beef we ordered two half bottles, one was just not right with the dish, it would make such a difference as the wrong wine can totally spoil a meal.

The room we stayed in was very pleasant, it is nice to go on the website and chose your room from the description and floor plan, however, I wish housekeeping or maintenance would check things like - do the wardrobe doors open easily (or does the guest have to prize them open with her finger nails because the wood has swollen a bit!!!) and does the bathroom door stick so when somebody visits the bathroom in the middle of the night she wakes her companion when she closes and opens the door. Attention like that makes such a difference, especially in a small hotel like this.

Having said all that, all the staff were very pleasant and friendly, room maids greeting you very politely when you walked down to breakfast, the chef having a chat with us as we made our way back up to the car park. Some would say I am unnecessarily picky, I was trained in hotel and catering so maybe I do pick up on things that others wouldn't, but attention to small things, and good staff training are so important especially in this economic climate.

Thank you everyone at The Cawdor for an enjoyable evening/meal/night but I am not sure you will see us again :(

Room Tip: Go on the website and look at the floor plans and descriptions of the rooms. Some rooms have 6ft bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sagsSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
139 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We attended a wedding here and booked an overnight stay. the staff were friendly and helpful the wedding reception was lovely we had scones with jam and cream on arrival followed by a three course meal later in the evening which was mouthwatering.Our room was very nice we had Banc however a problem with the room was identified and after a quick chat with the manager we were moved effortlessly to Dryslwyn.All in all I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms all have there own character the rooms ourselves and our friends had booked were all equal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwanseaWiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ammanford, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

went here for lunch, paid 29 pound for 2 courses for 2 people and a pot of tea for two, staff were very friendly and food was fantastic ...
hubby had fish of the day and really enjoyed it, starters was mussels and they were great, i had shepherds pie which was wow ... and for starters melon and sorbet which was enjoyable and different .. loved the fact they brought a jug of iced water to table with out asking ..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was approx our forth stay at The Cawdor,this time with 6 friends joining us to celebrate my 40th Birthday. Our friends all agreed that our 'find' was well worth the visit. Good value, lovely rooms, fab food & great service. I'm sure we won't be the only ones making the recommendation.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SillyHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandeilo
1.1 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
13.4 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
18.4 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#9 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
17.1 mi away
Mansion House Llansteffan
Mansion House Llansteffan
#1 of 1 in Llansteffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cawdor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cawdor

Property: The Cawdor
Address: 72 Rhosmaen Street, Llandeilo SA19 6EN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandeilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cawdor 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Cawdor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cawdor Hotel Llandeilo
The Cawdor Llandeilo, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing