We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a Visit”
Review of The Cawdor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cawdor
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Certificate of Excellence
SWANSEA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had an overnight stay at the Cawdor as a Christmas present. It was most pleasant - a lovely, quiet room, excellent service and good food. Llandeilo is a pleasant little town which we know well but it's the first time that we have stayed there. A walk in the grounds of Dinefwr Castle is a 'must' as is a visit to Newton House which is full of interest while the National Botanical Gardens are not too far away. We recommend this hotel unreservedly and will certainly visit it again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A.HOWELLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    143
    36
    8
    5
See reviews for
56
253
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We've just come back from a 4 night stay at The Cawdor, not the best time of year to go but it was our wedding anniversary! It's a very pleasant hotel and we had a free room upgrade, which was very nice. The room was tastefully decorated and the bed large and comfortable. The lighting was very subdued - too much so actually - so when I wanted to read my book in bed I had to remove the light shade!! The bathroom was excellent - huge bath and double shower with lots of hot water. One of my main bugbears came to the fore in here though and that, again, was lighting. There was no light over the mirror for make up etc. This really annoys me in hotels, it should be a basic for all rooms. There were also a couple of others missing - we had no 'Do not disturb' sign and no case rack to put the suitcase on ( we had to balance it on a chair for the duration of our stay). The staff were good though, friendly, chatty and accommodating and a real asset to the hotel. We arrived on a Sunday evening though and I was not surprised to find the restaurant was closed that night but what did surprise me was it was closed on the monday and tuesday nights also! We had booked this break a few weeks before and there was no mention of this either on the hotel website or our confirmation and I think we should have been informed beforehand. The hotel bar provides food in the evening and this was very good but it was bar food and we had planned on a couple of nice restaurant meals during our stay. We did get one on the Wednesday night (our last night) and it was good and excellent value for money.
Overall we enjoyed our stay but the little touches that are missing should be addressed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed, as before, on a special promotion (incredible value) and enjoyed an overnight visit. We have been in a different room every time and none has disappointed. We especially appreciate the lighting which is so well placed for reading in bed, and the very effective and easy to manage shower.
This high-ceilinged former coaching inn could perhaps be a little gloomy when empty but as it seems to be a social hub for the locals and because well-thought-out offers attract hotel guests throughout the year the place generally has quite a buzz about it.
The dinner menu, though promising, sometimes misses in the execution (deep fried fish cake didn't go down too well) but meals are always generous and often very tasty. Bar lunches and tea with Welshcakes are especially good - as is breakfast.
Staff have always been, in our experience, welcoming, helpful and efficient.
Car parking is secure and spacious.
Llandeilo is a pleasant little place with enough interest for an hour or so but don't miss a visit to Dinefwr Castle and Park (National Trust and Cadw) just outside the town.

Room Tip: All rooms we have stayed in have been comfortable, well-appointed and stylish, though we haven't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peony42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We knew the area and about the hotel before we travelled and had spent a good while deciding on what accommodation to pick for our two night break. We were so glad we chose The Cawdor. We originally settlled for a rear room because of the fact that the front rooms are on the main road, that said there were roadworks when we stayed and the main road through was closed to traffic. We didn't have any issues with car park access because of the road closure. The room, Tomensaba at the rear on the 2nd floor was really lovely with excellent bathroom and shower facilities. Breakfast on both mornings was very good and the evening meal was excellent on the 2nd evening (we ate out locally on the first evening). There was really nothing we could find fault with, the service and staff were without exception were verky good.

Room Tip: I would recommend a 2nd floor room particularly if you are at the front which is a busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriella23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

What a treat. A very cosmopolitan hotel in a rural town. Beautifully appointed rooms, with top notch bathroom facilities. I was upgraded to a 4 poster room so extremely good value for money. Road works meant I was unable to access car park and limited street parking not ideal, however, this was temporary so don't let that put you off. A very nice wine bar downstairs well stocked with nice glassware.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed at the Cawdor for one night with my wife. Roadworks being carried out so took a little bit of headwork trying to find the hotel carpark. There was nobody at reception for us to check in or check out which meant a bit of a wait but was the only gripe we had. The hotel was quite busy as it has a good reputation for fine dining and bar meals. The dinner we had was excellent as was the service. The room rate included breakfast with full english, kippers etc on offer. The hotel decor was top class with seperate bar, lounge and dining room areas. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a romantic night away in a very picturesque part of west Wales.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casino62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.Wales
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed in the 'Dinefwr' room and we were very impressed. The room was huge with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was well appointed with a fantastic shower. We were woken up just before first light by the nosiest crows I have ever heard so you might consider taking ear plugs if you fancy a lie in!
The bar and lounge area was very nice with comfy sofas and interesting old photos. We were looking forward to our meal!
We were disappointed. The dinning room had a 'refectory' feel to it and the food matched the atmosphere. All four of us ordered the roast pork loin with spinach and when it arrived there was no spinach. We asked where it was and were told that it was under the pork! It wasn't. When we pointed this out we were told that they had run out of spinach and were offered some mixed veg instead. All very odd. Overall it was rather perfunctory and not what you would expect from a 4* hotel. The breakfast was a similar experience. Plentiful but not particularly impressive. I'd recommend the rooms but not the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddiefatpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandeilo
1.1 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
13.4 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
17.1 mi away
Mansion House Llansteffan
Mansion House Llansteffan
#1 of 1 in Llansteffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
18.4 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#8 of 22 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cawdor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cawdor

Property: The Cawdor
Address: 72 Rhosmaen Street, Llandeilo SA19 6EN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandeilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cawdor 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Cawdor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cawdor Hotel Llandeilo
The Cawdor Llandeilo, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing